Digital Camera Canon Eos 400D ??

Submitted: Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 20:36
ThreadID: 46836 Views:3356 Replies:12 FollowUps:22
Gday again,

Currently own a Canon S70 Digital Camera which has performed reasonably well on our travels however I am not 100% happy with a lot of the shots (my old Canon S40 took better shots for some peculiar reason).

Anyway, as we are about to head off around Oz I have decided I need a new toy and have been looking into purchasing a Canon Eos 400D to play with whilst away.

Do those of you who may own one recommend them ? Any comments to aid my purchase greatly appreciated

Cheers and may see you on the road....only 5 and a bit weeks till we go and cant wait

Hooroo

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 20:50

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 20:50
We bought one in November and it is an awesome camera, the wife loves her photography and its hard to get it off her.

She also says it makes my photography look good.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 247753

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 20:52

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 20:52
Birdy, My wife has a 10D (had it for about 3 years, so paid a heap for it). Son has a 400D. Both great cameras. The 400D is senstional for the money. You can buy the body for about $900 these days.
400D has a few less feature than the 10D, but you will NEVER even use all the capability of the 400D. The 400D is also a lot lighter, so if lugging around on long walks, it might make a difference.

My wife bought Sigma lenses and says to make sure you get lenses designed for a digital camera. SIgma make great lenses and are cheaper than Canon. For the first year or so, she used her old lenses off her film camera (paid thousands for them, now worth bugger all). She got some good advice from a pro photographer and bought new lenses a year or so back. We thought the previous pics were great, but specialist lenses make a big difference.

You won't go wrong with the 400D I reckon. Make sure you have lots of memory and take a laptop or similar to download regularly. We took about 3,000 pics on our 16 week trip last year. How many could your take in a trip around Oz???
AnswerID: 247754

Follow Up By: Sarg - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:41

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:41
" For the first year or so, she used her old lenses off her film camera "
So is it possible for me to use the lenses from my AE1 on a D400 ? A recent phone call to a "reputable" camera shop said it wasn't. I haven't bothered to go & try it for myself, as I can't justify not using the couple grand of lenses that I have for the film camera.
FollowupID: 508581

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:44

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:44
They do have to be lenses that are for an EOS camera.

FollowupID: 508583

Follow Up By: Sarg - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 22:20

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 22:20
OK - thanks
FollowupID: 508591

Follow Up By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 17:35

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 17:35
Birdy, Kathryn's old film camera was a Canon EOS 300V. So the lenses fitted and worked fine. It's just that the 'made for digital' lenses are better.

Since your film camera is not an EOS, I suspect Steve is right. But it costs nothing to try, even if failure is likely.

Chances of failure rarely come into my thinking when looking for solutions.
FollowupID: 508717

Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 20:07

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 20:07
My info is tried and tested the wife has a Canon SLR non EOS and the lenses were smaller.

Steve.
FollowupID: 508755

Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 20:56

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 20:56
For what my 2 cents is worth I have a Cannon 300D (love it) and was looking at upgrading a while back (wife says its hers lol) ........ I was looking at either the 400D or the 30D and from a lot advise I got I could simple get some better lenses and use with my 300D and this would help a lot in the end result. This has nothing to do with my ability in taking the shot which needs a lot of help lol.

So a 400D is 2 models up from mine and not sure of the main difference other than the mine is a 6.3 Megs and the 400D is 10 megs. I think there is now a 450D???

Personally I say yes to the 400D and if the $$$ spread get a good lense.

I may be shot down but thats my 2 cents. I'm still looking at 400D and the 30D but more urgent thing are in front at this stage:).

Have a great trip.

AnswerID: 247755

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:06

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:06
Run the Russian hack (or one of the others) on your 300D updates it to a 10D... Did it to mine, and never looked back... Much cheaper than buying a 10D when both new :) :) :)

some smart arse russian figured the 300D was a Detuned 10D...

There is a hack for the 350D too, and probably one for the 400D now...

I also think theres one for the 20D :)
FollowupID: 508572

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:36

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:36
As a computer person I'm a great builder what the hell is a Russian Hack a hairy mule lol ........... obiviouly not as it would not fit in camera. How do I get a Russian Hack, I guess its a site you can down load stuff, wife talks about that stuff and it goes straight to the keeper on my part.

But does sound a great Idea. Can you PM please where I find it and I will pass to the shady lady :) for that tech stuff.

FollowupID: 508579

Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:49

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:49
Hi Truckster,
Any chance of you telling a little more on this "Russian Hack" caper?

FollowupID: 508585

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 22:40

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 22:40
Site Link
dpreview forums also has info.
plenty of sites, theres also the wasia hack.

Site Link to show the changes

"Instructions for Installing the Firmware

I seem to have forgotten one important part of this website. How to actually install the firmware!

Download the firmware you wish to install. All versions are based on the OEM Canon 1.1.1 version. The instructions for upgrading the 300D firmware are identical to those required to install a modified firmware.

Instead of the .fir file you download from Canon, use the .fir file from the mod site. All steps are the same.

Be sure that you do not attempt to write a compressed version of the firmware, such as .rar or .zip, You will need to uncompress and extract the .fir file first!"

Basically its a firmware update. you download to an CF Card, put in your camera, boot it up, and it says "UPDATE FIRMWARE" Yes / No... you update it and keep playing.
if your unhappy, you can roll it back

PS. "30D Firmware Hacked to Run on 20D!"
FollowupID: 508595

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:09

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:09
I dont know if the 400D is same as 300D, but the "AUTO", the focusing goes out of wack, and needs to be reset every once in a while.. couldnt understand why all my shots on Auto were filthy out of focus.. I dont use auto much, but when want mates to get shots of me, I set it to auto for them, for ease of use.

Went to few camera stores, they all said "ahh a 300D, the focusing needs resetting"...
Went to Canon, the bloke knew instantly what it was, $80 later it's fixed.
AnswerID: 247758

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:38

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:38
LOL great timing I thought is was me .... looks like a quick run to Cannon this week.

FollowupID: 508580

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 10:01

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 10:01
Bit of a ripoff, having to pay $80 to fix what shouldn't have been broken?
FollowupID: 508640

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 22:15

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 22:15
$80 is standard service fee. they clean inside, and adjust everything while at it... cheap insurance I say.
FollowupID: 508814

Reply By: CraigB - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:09

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:09
G'day Birdy,
I'm really impressed with my 400D. One of the main reasons I bought one was you can interchange with numerous lenses unlike most of it's competitors.
CraigB
AnswerID: 247759

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:35

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:35
And the 400D has an "Up to $200 cashback" Until 31st July.
It's not often I browse the Canon site. I'm a nikon kinda guy
AnswerID: 247769

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:39

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:39
Great camera. Suggest you look at the package deals available that also include the 70 to 300mm zoom lens. Can't go wrong then.

AnswerID: 247771

Reply By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:43

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:43
First will say Canon & Nikon are like Holden v Ford & Nissan v Toyota
I personally have a Nikon D50 & D80 & the bride would say you got enough lenses yet lol
have always been a canon man when had film bodies looked @ both the 350D & 400D but found even with my small hands they didn't feel comfortable ,they are small bodies
What ever you do go feel the bodies in your hands before you make a decision
And get the best possible lenses you can. As you will get a new body of a camera before you get new lenses
Having said that once lens lust sets in u are never satisfied
look @ www.dpreview.com or join a Australian forum like www.Dslrusers.net
they both have Canon & Nikon forum pages but you will get mainly honest replies of the equipment photogs use
If you require any further info please mm me
warren aka aussichef
AnswerID: 247774

Follow Up By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:59

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 21:59
Also the first accessories you get, should be a battery grip & an external flash
warren aka aussichef
FollowupID: 508589

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 22:43

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 22:43
Had mine 2 yrs, dont have a battery grip... why would that be first, i would think quality lens' instead of the garbage they come with would be first.
FollowupID: 508597

Follow Up By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 00:53

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 00:53
Truckster
if you read my first post said "get body & get the best possible lenses you can " then in a follow up said first 2 accessories are battery grip & flash
lenses aren't accessories as u cant really use the DSLR to its best without them lol
have 4 top quality lenses Nikon 70-200mm f2.8 VR , Nikon 50mmf1.8,
Sigma 18-50mm f2.8. Tamron 90mm f2.8 macro the list goes on
And the 2 kit lenses( that I never use now) first got with the D50
And after the lenses the grip & SB-600 flash where the next to purchases
that's why I said body only put the money towards good quality lenses
& if you don't have a battery grip you don't know what your missing
battery grip isn't only for extra battery life, but also for balance with longer ,heavier lenses also great for you using your camera in portrait mode
Are you going to Warraweena ??? haven't seen you since Murray Sunset & your alternator problems if i remember correctly
warren aka aussichef

FollowupID: 508612

Reply By: marq - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 23:06

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 23:06
Pentax k10D is about the same price and is easier to hold in the hand.

I found my hand cramps up after a while when handling the 400D.

Only problem with the k10D is the limited number of good lenses (ie there are about 3-5 lenses in the range 10-300mm worth purchasing).

If purchasing Sigma - make sure it's an APO lense (regardless of mount)
AnswerID: 247795

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 23:30

Monday, Jun 18, 2007 at 23:30
With the K10D you get a Weather-sealed body and In-body Image Stabilisation that will work with EVERY lens you put on the camera - even my 30 year old 50/1.4.

You can develop RAW in the camera and there is a single button to turn RAW on/off.

K10D has won -
- from Europe, the TIPA award for "best expert dslr 2007"
- from Japan the CJPC award for "the camera grand prix 2007"
- from American Photo, the "Advanced D-SLR camera of the year award"
FollowupID: 508602

Reply By: The Birds (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 09:22

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 09:22
Thanks for the replies.

It appears most people are happy with their Eos wether it is a 300D or 400D and a lot of other people I have spoken with have recommended them. Im hoping for the outlay It will be noticeably better to my old Canon S70 !?

The Eos 400D has a pack that comes with an extra lense at the moment. Is it worth the extra couple of hundred dollars for the extra lense (not sure of size or type at the moment until I go back to the shop) or would I be better buying the base pack and buying my own lense ??

Any recommendations for a middle of the range lens ?

Thanks heaps and looking forward to purchasing my new toy !!!!

AnswerID: 247836

Follow Up By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 10:03

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 10:03
Birdy
get body only & buy lenses your self
if your going to spend that sort of money on a DSRL i would spend the similar and get a f2.8 lens (sharp)
It depends on what sort of photography you want to do
for landscapes & portrait ( family shots ) i'd go for a 17-55mm f2.8 or a little cheaper is the 17-85 f 4.5-5.6
the 17-85 is only about 100 dollars more than u will pay for the kit lenses with the eos but much much better in quality & build
any further help i can be just ask
warren aka aussichef
FollowupID: 508642

Follow Up By: The Birds (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 11:12

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 11:12
Thanks Aussiechef.

As we will be touring around Oz most of our photography will be landscapes, wildlife and portraits etc. I just spoke to a canon distributor regarding the twin kit and the lenses supplied are the 18mm-55mm and the 75mm-300mm.

The reviews on the supplied lenses seem 'mediocre' !

As I have only really played around with my S70 on my travels I am not very knowledgable on lenses, aperture settings etc but plan on self teaching myself whilst away. One could say it will be a hobby when there are no fish around !!!

Anyway, my plan is basically to get a good quality camera body and 2 x lenses to cover all bases !. The hard part is choosing the 2 lenses due to my current limited knowledge. I really dont want to purchase the lenses and then in a few months down the track say "shi&^%... I wish I had of bought different lenses".

Appreciate your help. Will also be looking into some good 'Digital Photography' books top read on my travels.

Appreciate your help to date.............................

FollowupID: 508653

Follow Up By: long haired nomad - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 19:53

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 19:53
Hey aussichef,
Do you know how much a 17-55mm f2.8 lens is worth? You could buy 3, 17-85mm for the price of 1, 17-55 f2.8.. Have a look on the canon web site. You might get a shock. Most lens that come as a package are very how ya going. Better to buy fixed focus lens in my opinion. Not as versitile as zoom lens but the image quality is far superior.
FollowupID: 508750

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 22:18

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 22:18
I have a Sigma 17-70 which I rarely take off for most shooting, which was under a grand. bought a 20mm Prime the other day off Ebay, and have been playing with it a bit, very nice.. Only got 8 lens now :(
FollowupID: 508816

Follow Up By: Member - aussichef (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 00:56

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 00:56
yes long haired nomad i know how much the 2.8 cost otherwise i wouldn't have mentioned it but i didnt say a Conon brand .I would probably get a Sigma
I couldn't afford a Nikon 17-55 2.8 as they are nearly 1600 dollars so i got a Sigma 1/3 of the price but not 1/3 of the quality
if you are going to spend very good money on a Dslr body why put a crap lens on it you may as well stay with a digicam instead of a DSLR
Ask most people who are seriouse about photography & they will pay more for a lens than a body in most cases
truckster 17-70 is a great lens & one i should have mentioned
i have found very quickly as with most things including the 2 passions in my life besides the bride , cooking & photography u cut corners u cut quality
warren aka aussichef
FollowupID: 508839

Follow Up By: long haired nomad - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 19:39

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 19:39
Point taken aussichef. I , like yourself am serious about my photography. In the "places" section of this site, if you look at some of the panorama photos in the "gorges" section their mine taken with a medium format panorama camera. Also im right into motorsport photography with" L series" lens.
FollowupID: 508951

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 10:10

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 10:10
If you want to avoid changing lenses in dusty wet environments then look at getting an 18-200 zoom.

The snobs will say you can't possibly get good quality from that length zoom but they're living in the past.

I have the Sigma, but Canon and Nikon make their own also.
AnswerID: 247847

Reply By: Outa Bounds - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 15:03

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 15:03
We were in the market for a camera recently and I read plenty of great reviews of the Cannons particularly the 400D seemed to have plenty of reviews and info around on the web.
However for our use ended up with the Powershot A710IS, point and shoot with potential to learn some of the manual functions.
AnswerID: 247885