Spotties.... What's the best??

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 01:11
ThreadID: 46843 Views:6574 Replies:12 FollowUps:25

I recently picked up a new set of Cibie Oscars and have to say they're not too bad.
My last set of cheap arse Hella Comet 500's had an encounter with a roo and came off 2nd best.
I was just wondering what you people think are a good set of spotties for the money?
I know 4wd monthly said that the Narva 175's are good for the dosh, but what does everyone else reckon??

Cheers, Will.

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 02:04

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 02:04
170m Lighforce is what I use, they bwill light up reflectors at 3.2 klm on the right section of road

AnswerID: 247804

Follow Up By: gilghana - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 05:39

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 05:39
I am with Doug on that one! Not only does he want us non-subscribers to stay, but he uses the same lights as me ;) - super! Bright, light and vibration free. No Roos where I am, but adjustable beams, clip on very tough covers etc etc - brilliant bit of Ozzy kit :-)
Gil
FollowupID: 508617

Follow Up By: Member - Graeme (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 07:37

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 07:37
I use the big 250 Lightforce and they are brilliant in every respect. I am on my second set after some lowlife needed them more than I did.
Graeme
FollowupID: 508624

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 15:05

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 15:05
So how did you measure that Doug, seeing as it was a fairly precise measurment.

FollowupID: 508683

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 19:26

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 19:26
Redback
Easy, your on a long stretch of road , you see a reflector in the distance, soon as you see it you zero the GPS ,

Doug

FollowupID: 508742

Follow Up By: Sarg - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 21:38

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 21:38
But Garmins are not accurate as they are made in China
FollowupID: 508794

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 07:41

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 07:41
Still have my cibie super oscars I bought in 1976.
Still good enough for me.

Must be something about spot lights at the moment!
Been a few posts in the last couple of months.

All you southerners finding it dark at the moment in the depths of winter :o))
AnswerID: 247811

Follow Up By: Member - shane (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 20:42

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 20:42
i have had my super ascars for twenty years and there still great.
FollowupID: 508774

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 08:43

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 08:43
Chrome rings or black painted rings?

Don't like the new ones with the black painted rings.
FollowupID: 508866

Reply By: traveller2 - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 08:42

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 08:42
The cheapest and best I found were aircraft landing lights, fitted the same set to about 1/2 a dozen successive vehicles, occasionally one would blow the sealed beam every couple of years. Worked well in off road conditions and being sealed never get water in them.
AnswerID: 247825

Reply By: Redback - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 09:20

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 09:20
I just recently bought some IPF 800s they work well, better than my old Super Oscers, they have a good spread and the spot beam shines far enough down the road, i'm not into turning night into day or seeing 3ks down the road, so these suit me fine.

Good value for what you get, i did want the Ralley 4000 but couldn't justify the price.

AnswerID: 247835

Follow Up By: Macca_GU - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 12:01

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 12:01
Each to their own. I'm pretty sure it was my IPF 800's that almost lit up to the end of my drive way. But they do make good reversing lights......lol. CAN'T have to much light IMO. It's a bit like NOT using high beam on a quiet road, be it highway or suburbs. or even Wiper blades that clean the windscreen and ALMOST clean the windscreen. If you can increase your vision, then why not ?? I use my highbeam any time no cars are approaching.
FollowupID: 508658

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 15:03

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 15:03
I don't understand what your trying to prove buy your comment, but if laughing about the lights i chose gets you off then who am i to argue.

I think 300 to 500mtr down the road is far enough, if you can't see something within that range then i'd suggest glasses would be a better purchase, distance is not the most important thing when considering driving lights, spread would be, along with distance and how bright they are and your budget.

Seeing 3k down the road is pointless if you can't see a good distance to the side of the road.

These lights are plenty bright enough and as i said they suit ME!!!

I do alot of outback touring as well as forests and National parks, high country and so on, so having good quality bright lights is essential for what i do and these work very well and i have no problems seeing things in time when driving at night.

But that's my opinion only.

FollowupID: 508681

Follow Up By: Macca_GU - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 18:19

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 18:19
G'day Baz,

not trying to prove Nadda. Was JUST my opinion !!! if your happy with 'em that's great, your probably saving yourself a buck or two as well. Most drivers are happy with standard headlights in their sedan. You can drive with your parkers on wearing sunglasses at night and still SEE THE ROAD. But I prefer to have any advantage I can.....call me crazy.

Anyway I recall the question was "Spotties.... What's the best??" not "What is just ordinary"

The Hella 4000 output good light, but heard about and seen to many fall apart.
Go the Lightforce XGT's. Ozwasp.
FollowupID: 508723

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 10:12

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 10:12
The Lightforce are good but in my opinion not the best, i have a mate with the 170s and my IPFs seem much brighter, he also has mounting problems, as in he can't get them to stop moving on rough roads, this is not a uncommon thing with Lightforce so i've been told and also not waterproof either.

As you say though the Hellas are a bloody good light apart from their strength.

Oh he was just after peoples opinion of the best light, he already has Cibie Oscers that he bought, and they are a good spottie, my Super Oscers were good but a tad large for the bullbar.

FollowupID: 508873

Follow Up By: Macca_GU - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 11:04

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 11:04
I wouldn't go as far as to say they are THE ABSOLUTE BEST, but they are certainly up there. I have had no problems whatsoever. I have the larger 240's and they have no vibration. They have not moved, even after I fitted a 3" lift and put a set of 33" muddies on about 6 weeks ago I had to re-aim the headlights and the spotties, even after backing them off realigning, they are still where I pointed them. We were in the high country for the Queens b'/day weekend for 4 days and crossed dozens of rivers, some were up quite high, not a drop of water entered. So I'll go into bat for them everytime. More than happy with them.

Macca
FollowupID: 508888

Follow Up By: Markymark - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 22:42

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 22:42
I believe the old Blitz 240's (that I have) aren't waterproof but the newew XGT's are, if anyone can confirm this.

What's best depends on who you're talking too. Someone living outback desert country may prefer distance, people in the bush maybe prefer spread, for some people it may be looks/how long they last/globe wattage/brand loyalty/price/their mates mate says so......

Mark.
FollowupID: 509002

Reply By: The Birds (WA) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 09:30

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 09:30
I am running IPF's at the moment (front and rear) and are very happy with them. Not sure of exact model numbers though. They certainly werent the cheapest spotties however the salesman highly recommended them and told me that many mine sites up north are using them due to their strength and reliability. May be a load of bulldust however they have never let me down ..... touch wood !!

later
AnswerID: 247838

Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 10:01

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 10:01
I have the Roo Lites which are a knock off copy of the Lightforce 170's.
AnswerID: 247846

Reply By: Matt(WA) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 10:41

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 10:41
Will,
I use Nitestalker spot and spread 200's(I think). They were cheap, but work well and have had pretty good reviews in one particular mag. I went for a light that is a bit cheaper so if someone nicks it, it dosent hurt as much and also I dont use the covers as I have found before with covers sometimes its cold and I can be a tad lazy at times and dont get out to take them off. So if one gets smashed I can replace it relativly cheaply and they get used every day.
Matt

AnswerID: 247851

Reply By: Member - lyndon K (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 10:59

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 10:59
I run two sets of IPF Extereme 900's i think is the model, 2 spread 2 pencil. Brilliant performance,submersable, low current draw. Also have locking nuts under them so they can't be flogged!
Cheers Lyndon
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

AnswerID: 247855

Follow Up By: Muzzgit [WA] - Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 00:43

Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 00:43
Yeah me too.

IPF 900XS. great lights. Also, the IPF "fatboy" globe upgrade for the headlights is also worth a mention.
FollowupID: 509015

Reply By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 13:30

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 13:30
Stick with the Oscars. Put 100w H1 globes in. (Actually I got some 125w globes a while back).
AnswerID: 247873

Follow Up By: ozwasp - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 14:30

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 14:30
Hi Signman,

The Oscars are pretty good... much better than the comet 500's

Just wondering if I up the globes from 100W to 130W, what I'll have to do??
Would I have to put in a new relay, change the fuse or a combination of the 2?

Cheers, Will.
FollowupID: 508678

Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 14:42

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 14:42
G'day mate
I wouldn't bother going over 100w. ( I only use the 125 coz I was given them). Anything over that (say 130 or 150w) may be a bit hot for the reflector size. OK in the Super Oscar- much bigger reflector. If you wished to upgrade to 100w- the relay should be fine, with say a 20A fuse for the 2 lights.
FollowupID: 508679

Reply By: blown4by - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 14:27

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 14:27
I have a set of Blitz 240 Lightforce on one vehicle and Rally 4000"s on another plus another family member at Onslow has a set of Rally 4000's (so they are not there just for show) and we would go the Rally 4000's every time. Too many problems with the Lightforce & if you can get the Hella's at the right price they are cheaper and will last you a lifetime and all parts are serviced. If money was not an issue I would get Predators. The fact they leak under water is not really an issue for me.
AnswerID: 247880

Follow Up By: Dave from P7OFFROAD Accredited Driver Training - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 15:06

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 15:06
I'm with you!

We have Lightforce XGT on the company car and Hella 4000 on the family car.

The Hellas win, hands down!
FollowupID: 508684

Follow Up By: Drew - Karratha - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 15:34

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 15:34
What's been the prolem with the Lightforce spotties??
FollowupID: 508690

Follow Up By: mattie - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 20:06

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 20:06
i agree with the above 2 a mate of mine had the 240 were great for a while then the reflectors became quite tarnished, another 4wd with smaller ones had troble with them cracking through i would assume not being uv stable enough, i have had appollo terinies or something like that terriffic lights but after a while could not keep 100w bulbs up to them, also ralley 2000 and 4000 and also ipf's which i have currently and the ralley 4000 pencil beams (both of them no need at all for a spread) are by far the best light of the lot i wish i had not sold the vehicle to a mate as i could not remove them and not feel guilty.

MATTIE
FollowupID: 508754

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 22:02

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 22:02
Then again, rolys 4000's fell apart somewhere on the way to Cape york.. Dont think he found them either.

any issues with LF lights, they will replace them no questions asked...
FollowupID: 508805

Follow Up By: blown4by - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 23:09

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 23:09
Drew the main problem is the quality of the globes. I have replaced them many times (in well under the 2000 operating hours they guarantee them for) due to them becoming darkened inside the glass with a grey to black smokey deposit that looks like the marks left by a candle if you pass the flame over a clear bottle. This darkened area affects the pattern of the beam and hence the light output. I would say the lamps are pretty good when everything is brand new but every time you change a globe you have to shag about "centering" it if the beam pattern is not perfect when you fit the globe and push the two pins all the way home to the base. I have checked the voltage to see if over voltage is the cause of the blackening but it is not. I really can't be bothered having to replace the globes all the time when compared to the Hella's firstly I have never replaced a globe and secondly with the "keyed" metal base and spring clip to hold it in place it is perfectly and correctly positioned in seconds every time. The Hella's seem to me to hold their adjustment for longer as well and I don't think I have seen a better adjustment set up than the Hella lamps have. Mattie mine are two pencils as well and I agree the spread of them is sufficient to light up the road a long way ahead and the verge as well if you adjust them correctlty. Most of the time I use them up in the North of WA but if you were doing a lot of winding road driving where you don't need to and can't see a long way ahead one spread might be an advantage. As far as the other comments go like "How far up the road do you want to see" well I want to see as far up the road as I can because any sign of movement up there could mean a roo, bull, horse, emu, goat or a sheep so the earliest warning I can get of that possibility gives me more time to take whatever action I need to until I get close enough to determine what was the cause of the movement. Also I don't mind admitting my eyes are not as good as when they were younger, that is why I wear glasses, and a good set of additional lights apart from just being much safer means much less eye strain, less tiredness, less stress and more alertness as well as arriving at the destination more refreshed. The better they are the more responsible and responsive with regard to dipping them you have to be thats all.
FollowupID: 508828

Follow Up By: mattie - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 20:33

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 20:33
that is great response u must be a fast typer what u said about the pencil beam is very true, all of my driving is done as a whole on open sought of roads not windy!! i don't bother crossing the light or spreading then just have them parralell straight up the road and have great vision distance and width and as u have stated have never replaced a bulb in the hella's or ipf only to upgrade to a 100w bulb.

Mattie
FollowupID: 508968

Reply By: Derek from Affordable Batteries & Radiators - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 20:12

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 20:12
Hi Oz

I removed my old Hella lights and fitted the new HID 220mm and they are great.

Derek.
AnswerID: 247943

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 21:27

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 21:27
Hope the picture worked? first time to do it like this.

The lights on the bullbar are ipf 900's spot beams with 130 watt globes. They are ok
The centre ones on the roof are Hella 1000's spread beams. They are better than the 900's.
The outside ones on the roof are Hella 4000 compacts spot beams........ They are by far the best.
I have them set up for different distances they can light up.
I can see very well for quite some distance. Not keen on hitting anymore roos.

AnswerID: 247967

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 21:28

Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 21:28
YYYYAAAAAAHHHHH, took me half an hour but it worked..... :)
FollowupID: 508793

Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 12:10

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 12:10
WOW that 3rd vehicle on the right has great spotties, what are they!!!;-))

FollowupID: 508897

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 12:13

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 12:13
scruby's arse?
FollowupID: 508900