Front Towbar Nissan GU
Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 16:44
Steve Ellis
GDay All. Just thought I would ask if anyone has built and fitted a Towbar to the front of a Nissan Patrol GU, and do they have any drawings, photos etc. It probably beats making it up as you go along. I was thinkig about a centre position and also offset so I can see down the side of the Caravan. I had one on a old Valiant years ago and it was great for manouvering boats, vans are another matter. Maybe with a rear view camera on the back of the van all would be OK.
Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 21:52
Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 21:52
Hows it going Steve,
My neighbour had a Hayman type reciever in his front bullbar , will ask him next time I see him.
Glenn.
Follow Up By: Steve Ellis - Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 22:53
Tuesday, Jun 19, 2007 at 22:53
Thanks Glenn. I have a Nissan alloy type bullbar which when I ran over a Honda last year bent up so badly the insurance threw it away and supplied a new one. Just an ornament really. Good to hang the towels on at
the beach. I really dont wish to hit a Bull with it. Ouch!
Follow Up By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 00:12
Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 00:12
Dont de-rate your bar .
Patrol aluminium bar = 1, Holden Commodore = 0.
Felt quite bad , after night shift hit another guy from work , his car was almost a write off , I cracked the number plate cover.
We have quite a steep driveway , shared with the neighbours , my neighbour some how had a tow bar reciever welded into his front bullbar to push his CT into place easily.
Glenn.
Follow Up By: Slapnut - Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 22:35
Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 22:35
I ploughed into the back of a Nissan X-Trail this morning in my Gu patrol with a TJM bullbar, back of the X-trail was caved in about 2 feet, my spoties were tilted back about 2mil. god i love big 4wd's with a tough bullbar.
Reply By: mick - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 18:49
Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 18:49
hi steve,ive just made one to fit arb steel winch bull bar,if yous is same i can photo and try to post to forum1
Follow Up By: Steve Ellis - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 19:24
Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 19:24
Thaks Mick. Yes please photograph it and post. I feel sure that there are other Toyota recovery Vehicle owners out there who are busting to build their own based on your experience. That should wind them up!
Follow Up By: Steve Ellis - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 19:30
Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 19:30
Thaks Mick. Yes please photograph it and post. I feel sure that there are other Toyota recovery Vehicle owners out there who are busting to build their own based on your experience. That should wind them up! and to Desf same to you. All Information will be gratefully received. This
forum is great for that and we owe a debt of gratitude to the and administrators for that.
Reply By: DesF - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 19:22
Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 19:22
Hi, Steve , I have made one that fits to a ARB steel bar, for putting the van in the shed, it slips onthe blade on the left hand side and is held on with a pin with a clip, there is a tail on it which hooks under the chassis,
It does not have to be rock solid as it only does about 15 metre's at the most, takes about 1 minute to fit when needed. I found mounted to the side lets me see whre the wheel actually is, can
park it on a 6' square,
RegardsDes.
ps I have plans that I could PM if you were interested. "D:
Reply By: Steve Ellis - Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 10:01
Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 10:01
Thank you DesF. That would be great. It sounds like just what I need as I also only have to move the van a short distance. Ifyou wish you could post it to this
forum or email it to me directly steveeli@tpg.com.au
Reply By: 62woollybugger - Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 15:06
Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 15:06
If your GU has an airbag fitted, don't fit a front towbar. A mate went to a towbar manufacturer to get one fitted to his Prado & they told him they wont fit them to airbag equipped vehicles, as the load when pushing can trigger the airbags. Remember that a winch is pulling the bar away from the vehicle but the towbar is pushing it towards the vehicle.
Reply By: Steve Ellis - Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 20:35
Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 20:35
Thanks woolybugger. The points you make are quite valid. I had not thought of the airbag issue. It probably demonstrates that I am living in the past,after ar all I did own not one but two valiants and could be buying a third! a ute. I also owned and smashed a Vanguard ute back in the early sixties. It belonged to my father and he was not happy. 17 yrs
young with no brains and no fear. What has changed?