Wet Dry season

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 07:30
ThreadID: 46878 Views:2277 Replies:5 FollowUps:20
Its wet up north (WA)....about 45 ml of rain in KNX (from the elders web site). predicted to continue for about a week! Usually dry warm camping is almost guaranteed up here, but this is a bit of a curve ball. It pretty well rained all day at the pit of misery yesterday, and continues.....

May make some of the tracks interesting for those travelling up here at the moment, but as a posititive some of the waterfalls and swimming holes will be a different to what dry season travellers usually get to experience. Probably hasn't been enough to soak the blacksoil to major bog status, but makes for an interesting drive with 2 - 6" of slome on a hard base!

Hope everyone is having fun out there, but I haven't been this cold for 7 years!

Cheers Andrew

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 07:45

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 07:45
Andrew, I know exactly how you feel, it's the same over this side. (Mission Beach FNQ)

Everything not bitumen has turned to runny brown soup. I got the 4wd ATV bogged on one of our normally good tracks yesterday. (it takes an awful lot to bog one of those things) Cane harvesting will be lucky to start in two weeks.

In many ways it's worse that the wet, because it's so cold, even if it stops raining for a bit, nothing dries out.

Tourists are turning up and then spending their days sitting in cafés, there's bugger all else to do.

I blame it on global warming.....mind you, any minute they'll be telling us it's now turned to global cooling and to start burning carbon to warm the place up!!!

(wearing long trousers and a windcheater brrrrrrrr)
AnswerID: 248023

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 07:59

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 07:59
mmmm, I have to order a jacket this morning. It won't affect the cane harvest up here, the mill may never fire a shot in anger again over here, but thats another story.....
Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 508850

Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 08:09

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 08:09
I had heard they were thinking of shutting it. Be hard on the cane farmers.
Have they still got crops standing?
FollowupID: 508855

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 08:28

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 08:28
If the globe is warming how come it's so bloody cold!!!
Dave....
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 508860

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 08:44

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 08:44
Yep, crops still standing, the Korean owners want to dismantle it and take it to Indonesia, mainly for the cheaper labour and they have a need for its electricity generation over there. They have offered it for sale to the farmers co-op and I think marybourough sugar as partners, but aparently they want a bit much for it. Its a bit of a chicken and egg thing, some say they need a lot more land for sugar production to make the mill profitable, and worth upgrading etc, the state gov is reluctant to kick stage 2 off, there is more reliable money in sandlewood at the moment etc etc.

On top of that, the sugarcane can be harder to get rid of than it is to grow!

Hopefully it will all work out, but a mate who is a cane farmer isn't in the best of positions at the moment, but he is better than some in the area as he has other crops as well, and he is of course in a better position than many who have no water in other regions.

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 508867

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 09:42

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 09:42
Hi Andrew, What happened to the idea of using the sugar cane waste material for electricity generation ?
FollowupID: 508870

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 09:49

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 09:49
Gday Kiwi

They have been doing that a bit in the past, but it seems the korean owners can make more money our out of doing this in indonesia. Argyle is looking like increasing its generator capacity to power the underground development, as the co generation from sugar may not be available, the hydro hasn't got the capacity, and other posibilities like extra hydro and tidal seem headed for the too hard basket.

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 508871

Follow Up By: Sarg - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 22:06

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 22:06
I hope that doesn't mean the end of Canefire Rum as well !!!!!
FollowupID: 508985

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 07:46

Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 07:46
Gday Sarg

I think Canefire Rum is a swan valley company now, and I's say will have no trouble continuing without Ord Valley sugar. I'm not even sure if they use it anyway, but will gladly be corrected. The Hoochery up here may be a different story though, but they may even be able to process their own sugar??

FollowupID: 509023

Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 08:32

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 08:32

It rained like this up north in 1986. When we went to Mitchell Falls that year I had water over the bonnet of the Zook going through King Edward River. Little Mertens, Big Nertens and Mitchell Falls were all running in July.

It also rained in July 1977 around Darwin and we got flooded out while camping along the banks of a shallow creek along the Batchelor Escsarpment. Water through the tent and all that....lol

Here in the the deep south it is cold. You know when its cold in Peterborough when you go to the frdige to get a drink and it has a warm feel to it...lol

AnswerID: 248027

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 11:57

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 11:57
Gday Willem

If the Peterborough you are talking about is the one in SW victoria, I have experienced the cold down there (A few trips down along the coast in a previous life 20 years ago........)

Cheers ANdrew
FollowupID: 508891

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 13:50

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 13:50
No mate. Peterborough between Port Augusta and Broken Hill

FollowupID: 508909

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 17:20

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 17:20
mmmmm, totally different type of cold I suspect, I may even have my wires crossed a little on the name, a few brain cells gone missing since I was a Mexican.

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 508924

Reply By: fredd - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 10:51

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 10:51
the weather site shows no rain falling in the kimberleys in june
fred
AnswerID: 248050

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 11:51

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 11:51
This weather site tells all...
:// Site Link
FollowupID: 508889

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 11:58

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 11:58
Which weather site? - last night the ExplorOz rain radars were showing serious rain all over the top area of the Kimberley. Today Damian is coordinating the heaps of road closed reports that arrived first thing.

Even the rain radars now are showing it is still raining a little.

Live Radar image from the Weather pages on ExplorOz.

David (DM) & Michelle (MM)
---------------------------------
Currently Mapping in the Field Across Australia Fulltime in 2023 - 2025

FollowupID: 508892

Follow Up By: PeteS - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 12:00

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 12:00
Hi Andrew
Have been using the Elders weather map since you introduced me to it a few weeks ago in another post. A nice site which is well laid out.

Still heading up your way early August and will contact you as I have promised re some finer details.
I'm starting to stress out as not enough time to do all the things before we head off on 20th July.
PeteS
FollowupID: 508894

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 12:03

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 12:03
Fredd,

I think you have looked at the Averages information - the averages are not current to the minute as they are averages over the time period shown on the report Kununurra is average from 1986 - 2006 showing 1mm average - looks like currently way over average. Enjoy.

FollowupID: 508895

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 12:06

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 12:06
Andrew,

Thanks for the link - I have access to all the data shown on that report and will work our reports to show some more of the information that is available on that page.

Please always let us know what you would like to see on the pages on ExplorOz we are always extenting the information and trying to provide a total service so if we are missing stuff that you like then let us know - we build the site based mainly on feedback.

FollowupID: 508896

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 12:13

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 12:13
No worries David

My wife must take the credit for the elders weather site, I used to just use the BOM site, but the Elders site seems to have all I want linked to the one page..

Gday PeteS, Looking forward to catching up....spoke to Bilbo the other day, I hope he isn't stuck somewhere up here, Although I don't think there has been enough rain for that, but enough for people to have the moral conflict between fun and wrecking tracks!

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 508899

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 10:55

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 10:55
Gday Andrew, pls stop posting about Kununurra, I miss it so much.Even the misses said she wouldnt mind to go back for six months each year(will see what I can do).
Cold up there, we had -5 deg frost thismorning and now the day has turned cloudy.Yesterday was -4 and day before -4 also.Pls send coat down here too.
Would be a bummer if the sugar mill moved out of KNX, hope all pans out well for all the farmers.Sandlewood, mmm.Not sure on that one.
Cheers Nick
AnswerID: 248052

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 11:54

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 11:54
Gday Nick, I suppose you don't want to hear about the 3 days camping at Cape Dommett with 3 mates and the boat, or the 16 pound jewie, or the oysters, or the painted cray caught in a crab pot......

Got down to 13 degrees overnight, cold for here.

Cheers Andrew

FollowupID: 508890

Reply By: Member - Greydemon (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 11:44

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 11:44
Anyone know what is happening with the weather a bit further south? I am off to the Pilbara in 15 sleeps, should I pack my Wellies?
AnswerID: 248058

Follow Up By: ExplorOz Team - David - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 12:00

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 12:00
Check it out on the Weather pages on ExplorOz see Kununurra here Site Link and navigate the the stations that suit where you are going.

FollowupID: 508893

Follow Up By: Member - Greydemon (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 16:18

Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 16:18
Thanks, I'll keep an eye on it over the next couple of weeks. It doesn't however tell me how things have been over the last couple of weeks so if anyone can tell me if streams levels are high or not it would be appreciated .
FollowupID: 508921