turbo swap
Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 18:07
earwig65
Gday folks, pick yez brains again if i can,,,, is a later model turbo for a 84 pajero 4cyl diesel , interchangable with a 85 or 86 model of the similar configaration engine?
Mine is leaking oil & im searching for a replacement or easy fix solution for the problem, Cheers. Earwig.
Reply By: earwig65 - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 18:09
Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 18:09
i should re-word that,, the engine is a 84, are later model turbos interchangable,,,there, that looks better
Reply By: Stu050 - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 20:08
Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 20:08
Might be more economical to replace the whole car?
You would probably have to do the gearbox and T/f case as
well.
Reply By: ooze - Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 18:12
Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 18:12
Hi, I'm doing exactly the same thing.
Mine's a Superwagon and i'm in the process of getting it up and running. The motor has been replaced with one from an early triton, 4D56 motor and the turbo has since developed the same probs as yours. I just got hold of another turbo, still a TD04, but off a newer triton. All the dimensions(fittings,hose and exhaust positions. wastegate actuator position) are the same. The mate of a mate who i bought it off has replaced this one with a Nissan turbo, not sure what off. He's had no probs, and i reckon it should be ok, and just how much extra output can it have?? Not like it will be THAT different and blow everything up?? I got some advice from turbo mechanic and he advised i replace the oil supply line to the turbo every so often because it can coke up and restrict the flow. Seemed to make sense. Should be in tomorrow and a budget blower at only $17.80! BUT it has a banjo fitting at the turbo end and the ridgey one had brake line type fitting -nut on the end of the pipe type-. My mate said that's what his had on his triton, so I'm pretty confident it'll be sweet. You'll need a banjo bolt though, and the price for this is $25!!!!!!! WTF!! these prices are from Mitsi and for genuine bits. I have the right bolt luckily, but you might be able to source one elsewhere. Good luck and hope all goes
well. i'm gettin excited, have been doing bits and pieces to the old girl for nearly 18 months and looks like we might be on the road in a few weeks!!!! All the best, Paul.
Reply By: earwig65 - Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 22:01
Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 22:01
Excellent Paul, thanks for taking the time to share your news, sounds like yours will be a fair bit nicer than
mine,,i got this one really cheap to use as a bush hack to get the family down the river &
camping in the nearby surrounding area, we live in the middle of the
Pilbara, so lots of great spots a stones throw away. i'd be interested to hear more from you, should you care to write again, as to other problems & how you got over them, Cheers & thanks again. Earwig.
Follow Up By: ooze - Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 12:20
Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 12:20
No worries mate. no probs with the info, hope it helps. I've searched everywhere for info and I'm pickin up bits here and there, but i think everyone's forgotten about these vehicles! If you find out any tricks give us a yell too. Mines going to be aour second car for me to get to work and out and about in, and hopefully it's full potential comes out and I'll be hoonin everywhere!!! Catch ya!