The Red Book
Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 19:39
Brew34.5(SA)
Is it still an accurate guide for buying and selling?
Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 19:41
Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 19:41
Yes...what are you up to then??? New 3 litre Patrol???...lol
Follow Up By: Brew34.5(SA) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 19:45
Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 19:45
No I'll be a GQ man still lol. Just started sniffing around. I'll be in old faithful for Warraweena.
Reply By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 19:43
Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 19:43
In my opinion only, Buying no!, selling Yes.
Axle.
Follow Up By: Brew34.5(SA) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 19:48
Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 19:48
Yeah i must admit looking today thats how it seems.
Reply By: Member - Poppy (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 21:12
Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 21:12
Hi Brew
About to downsize from '02 GU wagon to new Xtrail for the missus and one dealer quoted $21k from red book and next dealer quoted $24.5k (trade in)... go figure Cheers Ray
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 21:19
Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 21:19
I reckon most private sale prices in redbook underestimate the likely sale price by about 10%.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 22:18
Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 22:18
Dont buy and sell that much but from both sides of the ledger it seems the only way to get rid of a vehickle is to virtually give it away. Genuine buyers are like hens teeth
Follow Up By: madfisher - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 22:33
Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 22:33
I think we have reached satuation point in 4wds, and prices reflect and oversupply situation. finally sold my old 4runner yesterday for what I believe was a fair price, for both of us. At the moment vehicles are depreciating roughly 50% every three years
Cheers pete
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 22:55
Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 22:55
Redbook says my 2002 HDJ79R is worth 20,400-22,800 as a trade or 24,400 to 28,600 private sale. The cheapest one I've ever seen advertised in
adelaide was $33k, and the 2004 ones at Govt auction go for $38-45k
Old 4wds are hard to sell - lots of them around and too expensive to fix.
Follow Up By: Member - David L (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 09:36
Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 09:36
A mate of
mine who is a used car salesman reckons the high fuel prices over the last few years have had a negative impact on the 2nd hand 4x4 market. A lot of people are downsizing and some who don't ever use 4 wheel drive are selling to save running cost's.
Reply By: Alan H - Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 13:31
Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 13:31
I've just sold a Defender Td5 Xtreme (MY02) in excellent condition with 66000K on the clock for 38 grand.
Red Book say trade-in $16,200 - 18,500 and private sale $20,000 - 24,700!
They'd just love to buy them in at their deflated prices, probably with much shaking of their heads and mutters of "No market for these things, mate" and then they'd double the price and sell it immediately.
No wonder they're just a place or two above pollies and real estate salesmen in the listing of who people think are the most untrustworthy types!
AlanH.
Reply By: whyallacookie - Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 16:31
Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 16:31
Not really,
Keep in mind they are "average" prices and the data comes from rego transfer information....... NOT that I am saying everyone isn't entirely honest about what they paid.....
Also depends on your location. Try selling a Suzuki X90 (I think that is what they were.. little 2 door AWD) at
Roxby Downs as opposed to
Brighton (Country versus city beach side)
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 16:54
Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 16:54
No, it isnt accurate by any means!