SIMPSON DESERT TRIP

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 20, 2007 at 22:24
ThreadID: 46902 Views:2166 Replies:5 FollowUps:2
Hi there,
We are heading for the Simpson in 3 weeks, Yahoo. Has anyone been there recently. Any info would be welcome. Peter

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 04:46

Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 04:46
Heaps of info in your Desert Pass, and you will love it,,,
Just take your time, and don't flog your vehicle ,,

AnswerID: 248193

Reply By: Trevor W(Brisbane) - Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 07:19

Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 07:19
Have a look at post no 46883 reply from Member Ruth D half way down the post.They are in Birdsville now.Good luck with your trip.We leave 1st July and will be a couple of weeks ahead of you.
AnswerID: 248197

Follow Up By: Members - Chris/Lindsay (VIC) - Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 21:18

Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 21:18
We're heading into the desert approx. July4th from the West. Do you have an explore oz sticker. Look out for ours and maybe we can all say hello.Chris.
FollowupID: 509427

Reply By: Mick - Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 08:37

Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 08:37
Just remember that conditions in the Simpson (and for that matter in all outback areas) can change daily (or hourly). By way of example, on the way back from the Simpson we entered Tibooburra on hard dry roads and woke the next morning to find all roads closed because of rain overnight. We spent the next 2 days in Tibooburra! Be ready for all conditions particularly with enough food and water for an extended enforced stay away from supplies. Same applies to fuel of course.
AnswerID: 248207

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 11:18

Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 11:18
PEBE

In the Forum Page of this site, go to Search Options. In Search For box , type in Simpson Desert. That'll keep you busy.

AnswerID: 248231

Follow Up By: Member - Nutter (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 11:56

Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 11:56
But Willem, Pebe is leaving in 3 weeks !!!!! Also really enjoy you website , haven't read all YET, hope to meet up with yourself & Judith in our travels one day. And your mate with his old troopy was a classic! ! !, who said regular servicing was necessary.

Nutter
FollowupID: 509061

Reply By: PEBE - Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 19:38

Thursday, Jun 21, 2007 at 19:38
Thanks for the replies everyone. All taken on board. Regards Peter
AnswerID: 248327