The TENT COT

Submitted: Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 15:49
ThreadID: 46970 Views:9942 Replies:6 FollowUps:5
Has anyone purched one of these.

Had a squizz at a couple in Melbourne last week and they look good.

I'd like to know if they are up to the claims of strong and comfortable.

Any comments folks?

Grrr!!!

Reply By: KiwiAngler - Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 16:41

Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 16:41
Hi CD

Havent purchased one but have clambered in/out/over one that was set up in a shop and at 6'3" and a few kgs more than I should be - I was very impressed.

I could fully stretch out, had plenty of elbow room, didnt feel claustraphobic, gave it a fairly serious workout actually.

If I hadnt already created a good setup (rooftop tent etc) for my Patrol I would certainly be buying one

I think they would be an excellent option

Hope this helps :-)
AnswerID: 248499

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 18:20

Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 18:20
Yeah i have to agree Kiwi,Aussie Disposals sell them too..They certainly look the goods,i think the original bloke was on the channel 7 show Dragons something (four people could buy into a good idea)..They bought into it to get it onto the market..
FollowupID: 509394

Follow Up By: barra man - Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 18:29

Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 18:29
Hi CD,
I haven't slept in one but we are getting some after running in to 4 guys in the NT sleeping in them. Apart from the conveneince of going away from the caravan , in hard 4wd territory, 2of these guys were BIG & said they were so comfortable. Also made the comment of not feeling too enclosed. They did reccomend however that we buy the middle size which is "the oversize". Gives beter support(4 legs not 2) & a better situp height.
Regards Barraman
FollowupID: 509395

Reply By: George - Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 19:42

Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 19:42
There are two different designs:
tent cote: " target="EOF" class="lbg">Site Link
and anywhere tent: uniquecreations.com.au/anywheretent.htm
AnswerID: 248525

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 21:10

Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 21:10
Big difference in price but!

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 509423

Reply By: Trevor M (SA) - Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 20:56

Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 20:56
Haven't tried one but doesn't look like they would be terribly warm on a freezing night (when the swag comes into it's own!)

Trev
AnswerID: 248542

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 21:11

Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 21:11
Good point but a good sleeping bag would overcome that prob and that I DO have..

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 509424

Reply By: PK Eildon (VIC) - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 08:50

Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 08:50
I went for a 3 week trip in and around the Simpson last Aug with a mate. We got about the 1st two into the country (7 footers). Performed very well. We took swags and just threw them inside. Plenty of room for yourself and gear, and you can sit up without touching roof (I'm 6'). They do not insulate very well against the cold by themselves, however make for a soft bed and keep you off the ground, secure, and dry. Easy to set up and pull down, takes all of 2 mins. Just roll swag up whilst still inside (keeps it clean & dry) then just fold and throw it in the back. Certainly suited us.

PK
AnswerID: 248591

Reply By: briggzee (WA) - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 16:08

Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 16:08
Crazy Dog, I borrowed one from my brother ( a cheaper version model with 2 legs. "kookaburra"brand I think) for a weeks campiing in Steep Point. It was great, roomy enough, flyscreens all around, good to sleep in. The problem I had was the flapping noise when the winds got strong +25knts. We had 2 overnight stops in carparks, The people in swags got a lot of red dust on their gear where as I was clean. They stopped teasing me after that!
P.S. I'm 100+kgs and had no worries.

Craig.
AnswerID: 248635

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 16:40

Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 16:40
Ok thanx people. You have convinced me that it would be a reasonable purchase.

Thanx for your feedback...

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 509522

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 12:14

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 12:14
Hi Mate

Got one, got alot of chit the first time i pulled it out, but 2secs to put up and 5 to put away, stopped the talking. Very comphy. I am tall enough to think I wouldn't fit but heaps of room and a great sleep. Off the ground is also a plus in pooring rain, as it was at this years OBC.

Ads
AnswerID: 248922