Mobile Rocks

Submitted: Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 18:16
ThreadID: 46975 Views:2072 Replies:3 FollowUps:3
Going too and from my property earlier this week i thought i was the only wombat on the road,But at the moment, their are absolutley heaps on the roads,alive and dead..Had to avoid two just coming home (in the wet and with a tandem trailer,theres arms and legs going everywhere but managed not hit one)..Anyone know what the story is ????? population high,mating season,visiting neighbours etc etc.. Spoke to a local quickly and he's done two radiators lately..

I see the ocassional kangaroo or even Koala which i hate, but the wombat seems to far outweigh the rest..

Heah Robin even got my Where the FARCK is YARCK sticker !

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 18:33

Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 18:33
Now Wayne - we are supposed to be mature adults

AnswerID: 248508

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 18:45

Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 18:45
You need to lighten up Robin ~(*--)

The lady in the milk bar (age about 50 as a very quick guess,hope i'm being kind) thought they were a great sticker and told me where to get it...

I first saw it on another 4wd and thought it quite a clever bit of marketing.I did not know where it was to tell you the truth ,was in Alexandra at the time at xmas time...

Anything that steers people to a very small town,or makes people aware has to be good for it and in my opinion is not crude at all..Heard 10 year olds say worse...

I know where it is now !

FollowupID: 509539

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 08:07

Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 08:07
Gees mate, they are supposed to be a protected animal. Better teach the locals to drive around them.
Know what one did to my Capri a long time ago
AnswerID: 248581

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 19:17

Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 19:17
Hiya John

I'm talking about an area of about 250km's,Not just a local issue

FollowupID: 509544

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 14:03

Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 14:03
I nearly hit one on a dark and gloomy mountain pass one night. Never saw them on a main highway before, gave me quite a fright as your description as "mobile rocks" is quite accurate.
The emu is the worst I rekkon, as they seem to have an affinity for vehicles in their vicinity. It's when they come up to the window and say g'day that I get nervous, you know they are going to veer into the bullbar.
AnswerID: 248619

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 18:36

Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 18:36
Hiya Footloose

Yeah everyone i saw had all their body parts too,so they must be bloody tough buggers..

FollowupID: 509538