100 series cruiser...maunual or auto?
Submitted: Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 22:04
Andrew(WA)
Your experiences please...I am looking at at a 2005 manual cruiser but if we disregard $$$$ as a factor in the purchase price, is there a clear winner between a manual and the auto box?
Eg...economy, towing and overall performance etc.
Thanks, all first hand knowledge appreciated...
Reply By: Footloose - Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 22:13
Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 22:13
Petrol or diesel ?
Follow Up By: Andrew(WA) - Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 22:15
Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 22:15
Good question...
Diesel...Turbo
Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 22:20
Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 22:20
The auto box and diesel are a match made in heaven.
Less hassles in city traffic
Box does all the work for you in the bush.
Never miss another gear change in sand etc
Slightly higher fuel consumption.
More expensive to repair.
I've driven manuals all my Toyota life, but my next one will be an auto if the $$ allow it.
Follow Up By: Member - DOZER- Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 23:27
Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 23:27
In the 100 series, the std diesel 5 speed is questionable strength, but the 4 speed autos last forever if serviced every 2 years/20k...its a bit early to speculate on the 5 speed autos, they dont seem to be as bulletproof as the older 4 speeds... the petrol and t/d both have stronger 5 speed boxes, that dont have issues. In general, the auto is much better in 4wd situations aswell as towing. The engine revs less at highway speed and the auto locks keeping fuel usage down...and climbing ability is heaps better, as the
wheels dont seem to break loose as often as does with manuals....so end result is more traction.
Reply By: Member - 120scruiser (NSW) - Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 22:16
Friday, Jun 22, 2007 at 22:16
I have had both and favour the auto.
Pros
Much better in the scrub and around town.
You get better torque mulitplication in the torque converter which you don't get in the manual.
Easy gear changing when on steep climbs and in sand.
Better on take offs when its quite delicate.
Cons
More expensive for rebuilds.
Higher fuel consumption. Up to 1litre per 100km.
Some say not as good on engine braking but I beg to differ as I find my prado quite acceptable.
Just my opinions. I'm sure others will have more to say.
I couldn't go back to a manual.
120scruiser
Follow Up By: TD100 - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 15:18
Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 15:18
i agre 100% down
hill engine braking is superb for an auto,have had manuals in past but no comparison to the 5speed auto. Paul
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 01:04
Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 01:04
I dont get it you hear autos are better coz yo dont have to change up gears up steep hills or in sand
????
In a manual you would be in low 2nd anything else and it is either not a steep
hill or the sand isnt soft so it doesnt matter anyway
Follow Up By: Rossco td105 - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 20:28
Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 20:28
Hey Davoe,
I have a manual, and my last 100 series was a manual as
well. In honesty I have never owned an auto vehicle, so I am probably in no position to make any comment. I like to feel like I'm driving the car so I guess I am biased towards manuals.
A friend of
mine has an auto petrol 100 series and I hate to admit that in technical soft sand conditions, or steep sandy climbs he has the advantage. He just puts it in drive and can keep the optimum rev range and keep momentum. If I fluff the change from third low to second low I stop. Mechanical sympathy dictates that flat shifting in these conditions is not conducive to the long life of my gearbox!
Low range first gear in my standard model is pretty capable (slow) in rocky off-road conditions and I can't see much of an advantage here. Downhill I have a huge advantage over him (don't know anyone with an auto diesel so this might be closer to
mine).
Sometimes I think an auto would have been a better option (not in a standard unfortunately, and not getting into the durability debate-Toyota auto boxes are stronger).
Ross.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 00:17
Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 00:17
thats my point - why start in 3d low? 20 m runup with proper tyre pressures in 2nd low is all you need - if it doesnt make it it never will. They are governed to 4500 so just put your foot flat and way you go. anyone can sit behind the wheel of an auto - a manuel will do exactly the same but you have to give it some input
Reply By: fisho64 - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 03:05
Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 03:05
Ive got the auto, but I think it comes down to personal preference.
Havent heard of probs with manuals, but word is that the auto is extremely reliable and tough. Cant say i have heard of anyone who has had trouble with one? A mate has a 4WD workshop, and it is what he drives and he has never had to lay a spanner on a 5 speed auto (A750 I think is the designation?) yet. They are sealed and you need only check for leaks, it doesnt need fluid changing unless it is overheated, it doesnt even have a dipstick or fill point.
But I still prefer manual in the sand, though maybe Im just not used to auto off-road?
Follow Up By: TD100 - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 15:23
Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 15:23
are you talking about the prado or 100 series as
mine(03 td auto)has a dipstick for the auto?Paul
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 03:19
Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 03:19
is yours 5 speed auto? If so there isnt a dipstick on it. Have a look in the handbook. Talking about 100 series auto. post Sept 02 (manufacture date not rego date)
Follow Up By: TD100 - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 15:34
Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 15:34
jan 03 built 5speed auto 1hd-fte 100 series and it does have a trans dipstick 2 inches directly behind engine oil dipstick
orange T handle marked ATF!agree that manual doesnt show it but its wrong!!!cheers Paul
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 21:11
Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 21:11
well Ill be stuffed? I have been out with the torch and there is DEFINITELY not an
orange dipstick of any sort there? There is 2 breathers there, nothing else. Out of curiousity, can you tell me what is on your VIN plate, not the vehicle numbers but for engine trans/axle, and date and where it was built?
Follow Up By: TD100 - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:25
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:25
trans/axle A750F/A02B plant/built A11/JAN 03 are straight off the plate.
mine doesnt have any breathers in that area.what r they for?Paul
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:21
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:21
exactly the same for
mine except Jan04. Have you had it from new? and have there been any probs with the tranny? As they are supposed to never need fluid changing unless over heated and so I am wondering if they fit one in place of breather after that has happened?
Follow Up By: TD100 - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:17
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:17
yep had it from new,few outback trips etc,towed a few heavy loads on tandems etc and no problems.cheers Paul
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:11
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:11
cars not here to check those breathers but Im guessing they are transfer and auto. 1/4" tube up to a little swan-neck on a factory bracket 2" behind engine dipstick.
Reply By: Bazz - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 15:05
Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 15:05
Andrew.
I have previously owned 5 diesel landcruisers 3 with turbos, all manauls.
I currently have a 2005 V8 petrol auto.
The last manual i had did 2 clutches in 75.000 klm. Not Good.
I would" Never "go back to a manual.
Regards Baz.
Reply By: V8Diesel - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 19:58
Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 19:58
I bought a manual. I regret it now.
Auto's are the go these days. It's 2007, not 1987 or 1977. They've come a helluva long way.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 00:35
Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 00:35
aint that the truth my main gripeagainst autos are my experiences with tri matics and B/W 35s or god forbid powerglides they would change into 3rd at 20kph and would only change back if youput your foot flat - accelerating out of a corner at 15 kph in 3rd isnt good for economy or exilerating performance
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 03:21
Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 03:21
"god forbid powerglides they would change into 3rd at 20kph"
arent Powerglides a 2 speed auto?
Follow Up By: V8Diesel - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 08:07
Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 08:07
Ahhh....the GMH 'Traumatic'. Been there, done that, never want to do it again.
Just sold my Fordomatic 2 speed auto about a month ago. Surprisingly good box, but then again I'm a big fan of the mighty Windsor V8.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 14:05
Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 14:05
yes fisho64 they were - need more be said?
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 21:15
Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 21:15
was only curious how they would change into third-being a 2 speed! They were a very strong and versatlie box though, hence still modified for dragracing nowadays.
Reply By: Urshtnme - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 12:37
Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 12:37
I've got a 100 Series Landcruiser, petrol Auto and love it to death! On and off road she's a dream to drive.
I think the Auto's are a little more thirsty but hey, it's only money and you can't take it with you!