A possitive post for NISSAN

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 21:25
ThreadID: 47009 Views:3521 Replies:17 FollowUps:27
Folks,
Lately as all will be aware, there have, and i guess will continue to be, a lot of negative posts regarding NISSAN's, and more specifically their 3.0ltr TD.
It angers me that this seems to be a reoccuring issue and one without results or an outcome, and as a proud NISSAN owner, i am very dissapointed with their lack of compassion and willingness to help, or rectify the problem and believe that the engine is a ROGUE and should be scrapped.

I for one, on the contrary, have had a sensational expeience with my GU3, but it was only by a shadow of luck that i purchased the TD-6 and not the 3.0ltr. (obviously thankful for this now)

So the purpose of this post is to prevent onlookers thinking that all NISSAN's are ROGUEl, and altough their handling of the warranty claims has been far from humane, this does not mean that all NISSAN's are lemons, and in particular PATROLS.

To those who have, and are continually struggling with 3.0ltr warranty claims, good luck and best wishes. To those with tough as old boots MQ's, GQ's and 4.2 GU's, thumbs UP.

Cheers to ALL
Wayne-o

Reply By: Patrolman Pat - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 21:56

Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 21:56
I had a problem with the EGR on my 3.0. phoned the dealer, booked it in a few days later, they fixed it, I drove it home, No hassles whatsoever.
They hadn't seen my car for 12 months and 40000kms.
I'm sure plenty of people have had hassles, I'm sure plenty more have had great service, I know I have.
AnswerID: 248689

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 00:31

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 00:31
I expect that isnt in the same league as replacing a piston or entire engine though is it?
FollowupID: 509583

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 20:37

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 20:37
at 12 months and 40000km it would be fisho

FollowupID: 509720

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 21:00

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 21:00
dunno Bonz? It must be an expensive and complex EGR in oreder to be in the same league as replacing an entire engine?
FollowupID: 509737

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 21:03

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 21:03
I have had a bit of warranty work done by Nissan on mine and found that they would fix it in a trice, no argument at all, if the EGR was stuffed they'd fix it if the motor was stuffed same deal, especially at 40000kms and 12 mths old

FollowupID: 509738

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 21:17

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 21:17
what happened to the motor?
FollowupID: 509749

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 21:19

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 21:19
nothin happened but if it had they wouldve ante'd up without a whimper

FollowupID: 509751

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 22:21

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 22:21
OK
you win!
FollowupID: 509770

Reply By: Member - Axle - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 21:59

Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 21:59
Wayne -o!!!, If your 4.2 patrol played up as much as some 3.0Ls, your dealings with nissan would have been the same!!, This is what the Chit fight is about.

AnswerID: 248690

Reply By: Aandy(WA) - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 22:02

Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 22:02
Yes Wayne it is a recurring issue. I was using this forum back several years ago and it was happening then - common themes were "you get what you pay for" and "Can't afford a Toyota and go for the cheaper Nissan so what do you expect?" etc etc. I know a number of people who have had trouble but I didn't realise that Nissan's handling was like their vehicles - below standard. My only experience was when travelling in a friend's 4.2 Patrol, compared to mine it was very "truckish". Of course he paid much less for his than mine and is quite happy to put up with the poor comfort level. He has had no mechanical problems with it and regards it as a good "workhorse".
AnswerID: 248692

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 20:15

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 20:15
Aandy

I don't know what you drive but I presume it is a Toyota. You have said that your only experience was when travelling in a friends vehicle.

I own a Nissan Patrol GU 4.2 TD. I have five narrowed discs in my lower back and a dgenerative condition in my neck. I can drive for thousands of kms in my Patrol with little discomfort.

I drive a 100 series Landcruiser at work and driving 100 kms is an uncomfortable experience. I have also driven a Prado and it is worse.

What it comes down to is that we are all different and what might suit one person does not suit another.

Tjilpi

Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 509707

Reply By: Member - Captain (WA) - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 22:52

Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 22:52
Wayne, you say you are angry that people post negatively about Nissan while in the same breath you call the 3.0TD engine a rogue and that they all should be scrapped. Is that itself not a negative post about Nissan?

Or do you think all Nissans's, apart from the 3.0TD, have no problems? While the 4.2TD is arguably the most reliable engine built, it too is not without its problems. Nor is any other make or model 4WD on the market today. One could go on about overheating, weak diffs, poor gearboxes, easily dislodged lights, no sump protection, weak IFS A frames etc... and every single make and model of vehicle has one or more of these type of faults.

The point is, ALL vehicles will have a fault at some stage. Either through bad design (common model fault) or a one off bad part (isolated fault). Its how the maker chooses to deal with the fault that then counts. And this is where some makes are much better than others.

Perhaps you are not aware that the series II 3.0TD WAS scrapped in Europe (recalled and replaced) while Nissan Australia chose the cheap option of replacing the dipstick. Virtually every 3.0TD engine problem today is still the series II while the later series III+ are proving to be very reliable. Yet you want all 3.0TD's scrapped? Me thinks we are throwing the baby out with the bathwater!

I think you have missed the point Wayne, the problem with Nissan is not that the early series II had a fault, it was the way Nissan dealt with it. And to this day they have not learnt from their mistake.

I have owned many different makes and models and believe I can say without bias that Nissan cannot hold their heads high in the way they treat their customers. So for you to come and have yet another 3.0TD bashing post while at the same time trying to be a proud Nissan owner, well perhaps you are wearing rose coloured glasses in thinking its the 3.0TD that's causing Nissan all the negative publicity - its their own fault for how they dealt with what was known to be a faulty engine design in the first model - much the same way they dealt with the faulty 5th gear issue and...

Anyway, not trying to start a 3.0TD vs 4.2TD defense, just that Nissan Australia is the REAL problem.

AnswerID: 248697

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 00:29

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 00:29
"Wayne, you say you are angry that people post negatively about Nissan while in the same breath you call the 3.0TD engine a rogue and that they all should be scrapped. Is that itself not a negative post about Nissan? "

he didnt say he was angry about the negative posts, it was that it is a recurring problem (Nissans attitude)

FollowupID: 509582

Follow Up By: goingplatinumcomau - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 02:55

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 02:55
I have heard and i do not know how correct this is ?

There is a thing on the way called the Internet and when people get burnt by car dealers they will be abel to get on the net and tell the World what the dud models are and be abel to bring the Car Dealers to account.

However the problem i see is when people have brought the Dud car in Question they will not be happy as it is then a threat to the resale value of said Dud Car or 4wd as the case may be.

On the other hand should one ring the Vehicle Auctions and ask them what the dud cars or 4 wd may be they can then be rest assured of what not to buy as they would not want to buy a dud in the first place Perhaps.

Unless of course the Salesman said that problem has been fixed and the earth is in fact flat.

Regards John
FollowupID: 510069

Reply By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 23:18

Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 23:18
As an owner of a GU3-0 that went 'bang' the issue for me is not the vehicle, not the dealer, it is the Nissan Motor Company or at least their Head Office in Australia.
There have been many problems with these engines/gearboxes/clutches/fuel pumps/air flow sensors etc etc etc. There is a claim that all these problems are behind us with the newer models and thats great but along the way Nissan have lost the faith of many of their customers who unknowingly were their true test pilots. These customers were the ones who found out about the problems/shortcomings of these vehicles and Nissan Australia did not deal with this well or even consistantly. I personally was told by a Nissan customer relations officer "Well you bought the thing" as if I deserved a major engine malfunction. Perhaps I Did!!!!

OK so its only a vehicle and there are much more important things in life. I still have the thing, still enjoy it, probably trust it more now but it is the 3rd vehicle of choice in the parking lot outside. Since the major engine rebuild (2006) that I paid for fully, I have 2 new vehicles outside. How many do you think are Nissans? How many more Nissans do you think I will own? Sheer a sheep all its life but you can only skin it once. I will keep the GU and one day it'll be rusting away under a tree in the paddock. I hope that is a few years away but who knows. Good luck to you and all owners of vehicles. Good luck to Nissan motor company as they will need it more than all of us.
AnswerID: 248700

Follow Up By: Aandy(WA) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 08:28

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 08:28
The major issue has to be the vehicle failure surely. Don't understand why people keep buying them though - it's a very well known problem and it's been going for years. Guess it's penny pinching combined with "won't happen to me". As I always say - you get what you pay for.
FollowupID: 509594

Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 08:48

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 08:48
Aandy
Every manufacturer has had problems with vehicles from time to time. Its how they handle these problems with their customers that is important especially when it is a common failure. The problem is well known on these type of forums but not so well known amoungst the general public.

Now I have been critical of Nissan on the handling of my engine failure but I will give credit where credit is due. They did repair the 5th gear under warranty, they did replace the air flow sensor twice under warranty, the did replace the ECU under warranty, and they finally replaced the cracked intercooler free of charge, except for fitting, after discussing it with Val Davis, the only compassionate one at Nissan HQ.

Anyway I gave the Nissan GU a go and it didn't work out quite as I planned! I looked at them when they came out and thought "OK Nissan toughness (presuming that they would have improved on the almost unbreakable GQ) but with an 80 series body. Perfect. I should have thought a bit harder! In a perverse sort of a way the whole saga has been good for me, but thats another story.
FollowupID: 509599

Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 02:12

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 02:12
If people post negative posts about Nissan time and time again then something must be wrong. Toyota wouldn't keep selling an engine that had such bad reliability issues. Word gets around and it affects sales and reputations.

Having said that my 4.2 diesel GQ is tough as anything and wouldn't swap it for an 80 series. I like the stronger Nissan drivetrains. The 3.0 GQ misses out on the stronger g'box and diffs which further makes it an undesirable car. The only car I would trade mine in for is a GU 4.2 diesel with it's bigger interior.

Barnesy
AnswerID: 248708

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 04:38

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 04:38
The response I got from Nissan Australia due to a Warranty problem was tell someone who cares.......... Did not get the warranty prob repaired properly + they wanted me to pay $25 to properly fix it.
What a cheek...... As a consequence I have talked 8 people out of getting a Nissan so far..... 3 Navs 2 paths and 3 Pats. By the time am finished with my project there will be 1000 people not buying a Nissan Do to the experience I have encountered.
AnswerID: 248709

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:05

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:05
That NISSAN of your's seems to do ok judging by your pic.
FollowupID: 509880

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 06:47

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 06:47

We bought two second hand Nissans from a country dealer. The GQ hasn't been back for servicing but I did buy some spares from the dealer. The Xtrail was still under warranty and has been recalled three times for various small items that needed replacing.

Both vehicles have given good service so far and at all times we have had good service from the country dealer. We now have a local mechanic to look after the technical stuff of the vehicles.

I have not had any dealings with Nissan themselves. Many people will be unaware that Nissan Japan(it went broke) had to sell off a major stake in their company to Renault and this is where the new 3.0lt Nissan orginated from in Europe. Maybe Nissan could have handled warranty claims better but on the whole the vehicles that went 'bang' had done close to 100,000km, which is a fair whack of driving.

Now anything Nissan becomes an emotive issue and people have to blame someone when things go pear shaped and it is very easy to use the Internet to perpetrate these things without giving the full story and how approaches were made to solve problem. Most of the emotion comes along as people have borrowed money to pay for their vehicle and when things go wrong and they are drawing the short straw as they vehicle still has to be paid for and now it is costing more money and they must blame someone else. I can relate to that. Been there done that...lol

AnswerID: 248714

Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 08:26

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 08:26
100,000 kms a fair whack of driving!!!!!! Maybe if you live on a smaller island than this one!
FollowupID: 509593

Follow Up By: Willem - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 10:13

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 10:13
Most people drive around 20,000km a year = 5 years to do the 100K
Some people drive 30,000km a year = 3.3 years to do the 100K
Stock agents and commercial travellers may travel 50,000km a year =2 years

I get around a bit each year with some long distance treks of late and have managed to clock up 70,000 in three years = 23,000 plus per year

How long do you need a warranty to last?
FollowupID: 509608

Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 11:31

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 11:31
The warranty should be 100,000kms which it is. The vehicle should last longer. Minor things like clutch, brakes, etc can and sometimes do wear out around this time and that is fine especially as most people cant drive manuals properly, but the engine should last a lot longer than 100,000 kms, it is a diesel not a 2 stroke motocrosser!
Someone here once said that it should be in engine hours and that has some merit as city and rural driving are totally different in kms V time. In any case the warranty should not have a time limit of 3 years, rather a usage limit whether that be hours or kms.
FollowupID: 509615

Reply By: CLC50 - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 06:47

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 06:47
A message to Nissan,Fix your problem .
I love my old MQ.diesel for my beach truck & camping.
My 1992 Petrol Patrol, was a great Truck.
My Son has always had Nissan's .
Not now only Toyota's now one 2007 Landcruiser Safari will all bells & whistles, One 2006 Landcruiser,Plus 3 work trucks all Toyota's in his building Company.
Its all about service.
AnswerID: 248715

Reply By: Stu-k - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 11:02

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 11:02
Its one of the big reasons I brought a hilux not the navara, 2.5 lt nissan motor.....pass
AnswerID: 248739

Reply By: ev700 - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 13:50

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 13:50
If as someone said 100,000 kkms is a fair whack of driving for a Nissan Patrol they should plate EF and EL Falcons in gold because when we bought the last of the EL series as a house car, local cabbies were regularly getting 600,000 - 800,000 kms out of them without a spanner being raised.

If Ford can easily get 600,000 plus out of a petrol engine while being getting flogged by casual drivers in a city, what should be a reasonable expectation for a one-owner fourby diesel that gets a lot of highway cycle and gets its oil changed twice as often as the service manual?

EV700
AnswerID: 248745

Follow Up By: Member - AJB (VIC) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 14:26

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 14:26
Exactly
FollowupID: 509645

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 20:21

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 20:21
ev700

I would not use FORD as an example. Read up about the Ford Pinto. Ford was charged with manslaughter over that one.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 509710

Reply By: Dave Thomson - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 14:16

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 14:16
I think part of the problem is also a lack of solidarity amongst Nissan owners to stick together and make Nissan HQ aware that not addressing these issues are haveing a huge negative impact on potential buyers , when the problems started coming in on the early GU's they should have jumped on them and instilled a sense of confidence in the car and company, instead they chose to do the opposite, result, countless disgruntled owners who wont go back just for that reason lack of backup, especially when it's a known fault that was addressed in europe but not here, add to that Nissan owners {mainly 4.2} who openly tell you its your own fault for buying a 3Lt, {thats what I got right here} what chance have you got ???
remember united we stand divided we get shafted,
regards,
AnswerID: 248747

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 15:33

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 15:33
Thats all well and good if you read a forum or even go on the internet. A lot of people dont so they just wear it when nissan tell them they have the first 3lt to go bang.
FollowupID: 509653

Reply By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 16:47

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 16:47
Well gotta say this is an interesting debate...and from my perspective 90% hogwash. I know a number of people who had a problem with their 3.0ltr Nissans and there was never a problem in having them fixed under warranty. One of them was even out of the extended warranty period when a piston melted....nigh on 200000km..and Nissan provided all the parts for the job and my mate had to pay the labour..I suspect even the super sun shine out of bum Toyota would have baulked at providing that sort of response. I reckon if you do a search of this forum you will find that many other people have also had Nissan come to the party when the vehicle has be out of warranty.

God forbid, if you lot carry on like this ove the 3.0 ltr what sort of debate would arise if I started talking about my 2.8tdi Nissan......which now has 220000km on the clock and apart from normal servicing has cost me nothing in repairs etc....also never had a single claim while under warranty either.....bloody Nissan fancy making such a crap vehicle.

AnswerID: 248761

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 16:54

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 16:54
Toyo would never had the prob to start with
FollowupID: 509672

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 17:02

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 17:02
Can't comment on Toyota trucks but had a Corona once that I bought brand new....bloody thing kept chewing diffs out...first diff went at 1200km the next shade of 3500km and the third at 5000km before toyota thought they do an alignment check on the vehicle.....sure enough it was malaligned by 46mm which was way more than the universal could cope with....end result chew out the diff. I still bought other toyotas after this but I guess what I'm trying to say is that all R ALL manufacturers have a lemon from time to time. I'm guessing that we are going to see more problems as vehicle manufacturers continue to build vehicles for the soccer mums and Toorak Off Road Society with their nice light independent suspensions etc - IMHO these vehicle will all require significant modification before going the places my old nissan, and the live axel toyos, discos etc go.
FollowupID: 509673

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 18:01

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 18:01
Agreed all manufacturers will have a lemon here and there but Nissan seemed to have built one and then just kept building them.
FollowupID: 509682

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 19:42

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 19:42
Haven't heard of too much going wrong with the current crop of 3.0ltr Patrols....ie post 2002...have I missed something?
FollowupID: 509698

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 20:44

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 20:44
I meant the first few years of building them
FollowupID: 509727

Reply By: montana - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 21:41

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 21:41
stu k,let you in on a little secret,toyotas do fail,how do i know 27 years ago i started working on them ,an own a nissan.its all about personal prefference.

and a d40 is better than a hilux.
AnswerID: 248838

Reply By: Chaz - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 02:12

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 02:12
Yes this has been an ongoing, but interesting debate. Whether you’re referring to the dealer’s attitudes, the company or the car itself, it really isn’t good enough. Cars are one of those things that a lot of people will stick with if there happy and vehicle manufacturers should take that on board.
However, Nissan in their haste to introduce relatively new technology didn’t do their homework, well not in Australia anyway. I would argue, why they released a Euro3 compliant car here, when they didn’t need to. Unfortunately it’s because they had one and it was sold in every country they could infiltrate, so why not here.
The ZD30 is a very clean engine, much cleaner than it needs to be and many of its good points and bad are due to the high levels of boost and EGR that it runs. I don’t think it’s the engine as much as the engine management and emission control systems causing the problems. It runs ridiculously high boost at low rpm with huge amounts of EGR. Its crankcase ventilation system is a MAF destroyer with excess amounts of oil in the intake and along with a primitive ECU (Zexel from the RD28) it doesn’t map fuel and boost accurately enough. The new CRD version should overcome many of these issues, but owners of earlier models can do much to help reduce the risk of an engine failure. I think the reason that Nissan can’t do anything about the issue, or even admit to there being one, is that it’s the emission control system and its design that’s causing the problems. You don’t see these issues on CRD vehicles and even cars with similar emission systems like the Pajero don’t have problems.
If you have a 3.0Di patrol out of warranty you should fit a boost gauge and lower your boost. If you’re serious about getting decent service life out of your ZD30 start reading the patrol4x4 forum where owners are doing something about it, instead of waiting for Mr. Nissan to come up with some miracle fix. That won’t happen.
It will be interesting to see how some other vehicle manufacturers cope with using VNT turbos and increased EGR volumes in the future, because they too will have to comply with stricter emission outputs that will put greater stress on their motors.
Just my 2c
AnswerID: 248867

Follow Up By: DJS - Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 16:04

Sunday, Aug 12, 2007 at 16:04
Chaz, have been reading many of your posts on how to control the strange boost characteristics of the zd30, I am looking at doing the manual boost controller but was wondering what the pressure difference would be accross the intercooler and if it would make much difference, reason for asking is my boost guage is pluged in after the intercooler before maniford.
Thanks Dave
FollowupID: 518058

Follow Up By: Chaz - Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 05:55

Monday, Aug 13, 2007 at 05:55
Dave,
Read my reply to post 48639. I think it would be better after the cooler, but it shouldn’t make much difference because after fitting the dawes valve, your boost will increase with rpm and load, but not by the ECU controlling it to minimise emissions.

Chaz
FollowupID: 518141

Reply By: Redback - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 07:43

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 07:43
Bloody funny stuff, all this over a flamin car, you guys need to get a life and worry about the more important things in life.

Like getting out there and seeing the country, who cares what car you do it in, life too short ;-))

Or buy a Land Rover :-))
AnswerID: 248868

Follow Up By: Member - Borgy.. (SA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:03

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:03
Well said Baz , agree with you 100%

Cheers.......Dave
FollowupID: 509877

Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 01:48

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 01:48
You can search this story , but hasn't been typed in a while , So :

Glenn buys 2001 3.0 turbo manual as reliable touring vehicle for around OZ trip ( have had 4wd's before but nothing serious ), LOL.

Drive to Cairns , then drive to Broome via Darwin , off road, No worries

North of Perth , near the Pinnacles, drop back to 4th to overtake, halfway round change up to 5th and get 'grinding noise' but no forward movement. Know now I have 5th gear failure inherent in 2001 Patrols !

After discussion with 'associates' decide to go to Nissan cause they are 'Nation Wide' . After extensive talks with 'Service Manager' at Nth Scarborough Nissan ( Giant Nissan ) I am convinced that Nissan Australia will provide parts but not labour . I cough up approx $1200 .

After the repair , Glenn drives carefully ( very stupid ).

Later find changing into 2nd & 3rd & 4th at high revs makes a grinding sound.

Call ' Giant Nissan' and they tell me to go to a local dealer to get everything checked , when I complain about having to fork out the cash for the repair , they tell me they have done heaps , even with vehicles out of warranty at no cost to the owner, cause its a known fault.

I drive back to Perth and the dealership ends up refitting my own gearbox that has been rebuilt , in hind sight I could of ended up with an exchange gearbox with300k on it .

3 weeks later is the first off road experience I have , Unfortunately I break an engine mount , but officially its nothing to do with 2 gear box changes ! Spend a week in Esperance but that is very OK.

Drive to Sydney with various check engine lights coming on and engine surging , fault code in ECU says fuel pump requires replacement, when I replace the fuel filter all problems cease .

Get home , write 2 page letter to Nissan Aust , forget about it !.

Out of the blue get phone call from Nissan Australia , Lady apologises !! then tells me all labour and consumables are to be refunded , nearly $1000 !

Have also had a cracked head from no fault of my own ! , After flow testing couldnt be repaired , bare head from Nissan = $1600.

Been teased from workmates that I have nearly paid the price of a comparative 'cruiser' of the same year !

Welcome to ' Nissan Hell ' .

Glenn.

AnswerID: 249168