HJ47 fuel tank capacity

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 23, 2007 at 23:36
ThreadID: 47012 Views:9905 Replies:6 FollowUps:11
Hi, all,

Have just, done up a 1981 hj47 diesel tray. I'm not sure of the fuel tank capacity.
Can any one tell me how many litres the standard tank holds please. I've got an auxiliary tank of 110 litres and am trying to figure out how far I can get before I need to refuel. Cheers John.

Reply By: Sweeney - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 00:19

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 00:19
I think it's about around 90lt or so. Don't quote me on it though.
AnswerID: 248704

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy- Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 08:13

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 08:13
Hi mate,
My old hj45 troopie had a 90 lt tank but my old hj47 ute only had a 70 lt tank from the factory.
Tour Boy
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 248722

Reply By: Aandy(WA) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 08:20

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 08:20
Oh John, now listen carefully ... For the real figure run it till you go onto reserve then fill it up and look at the bowser guage you city blokes make me shake my head sometimes. You could even look at your speedo and that'll tell you how far you can go. Not rocket science!
AnswerID: 248725

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 10:11

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 10:11
Where does it say anywhere that he is from the city, I am sick and tired of the innuendo of where someone lives as to their knowledge.
Is my location as NSW indicate that I am a city bloke, although I spent over half my life in western QLD.

It is not rocket science that he asked a valid question that doesn't need a half ass reply like yours

Get a life

Kev

FollowupID: 509607

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 14:43

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 14:43
Actually Aandy, not so simple. My HJ47 shows around empty on the gauge at the 70 odd litre mark, however the owners manual states around 90 litres. I'm not game to run the bugger dry, as I'd hate to have to prime the old girl from scratch.

Most I ever ran it to was a 75 litre refill. Averaged around 6.6 km per ltr on the trip, so theoretically if you were willing to run it to the wall - you should get about 580 kms out of a tank. Mine's a full troopy, not a tray.

I'm getting a second 110 ltr tank fitted, so theoretically it should be good for 1200 kms conservatively....

John, if you want to message me, I can send you the spreadsheet of my last trip - should give you an idea.....

FollowupID: 509647

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 16:27

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 16:27
Aandy

>You could even look at your speedo and that'll tell you how far you can go. Not rocket science!

I always thought that speedos displayed your speed, you bloody country bumpkins aint got a clue have you... ;-)

Big Red
FollowupID: 509669

Follow Up By: Aandy(WA) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 22:54

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 22:54
Last time I looked at my speedo, I could plainly also see the odometer. Yours must be placed elsewhere or maybe your peripheral vision isn't too good. Kev, of course John's from the city. Country people are self sufficient, self reliant and have highly developed problem solving skills. City folk always look for others to solve their problems. I've even heard of some who pay good money to talk to a therapist to find solutions to their problems. Country folk just have a yarn to a good mate. Scott, grit your teeth and drain the bugger dry. Then you"ll have to learn how to prime the old girl from scratch. It will give you great satisfaction when you have achieved it.
FollowupID: 509781

Follow Up By: Aandy(WA) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 23:06

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 23:06
Another example of people needing help.
There is a post headed ..... "T-Vans-How do you sleep in it?" (Should be them but we'll let that one pass). I almost replied "sleep lying horizontal in a position of your choosing" but then thought better of it and will just leave them to work it out for themselves!! Gee whizz these city folk give me a great laugh. Wait till I tell the boys at the market that there's a bloke who can't work out how much fuel his tank holds and another who can't work out how to sleep in an off road camper.
FollowupID: 509782

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 23:07

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 23:07
so there we have it folks - country people: jack of all trades. It makes you wonder why they have problems finding doctors, lawyers, teachers and tradespeople to work in country towns... haha

Big Red
FollowupID: 509783

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 23:14

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 23:14
"Scott, grit your teeth and drain the bugger dry. Then you"ll have to learn how to prime the old girl from scratch. It will give you great satisfaction when you have achieved it."

Jeez, I seem to be missin' all the fun they have out there - never thought re-priming a 2H diesel could be a days entertainment... I'll try it tomorrow and pass on all the laughs I have to all the posters here... should beat the Friday funnies I reckon....
FollowupID: 509785

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 23:17

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 23:17
And, of course - looking at the ODOMETER running around town should give you a good indication of your fuel usage on the Tanami - should be about the same....
FollowupID: 509787

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 06:32

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 06:32
Aandy,

You have obviously lead a very sheltered life, It amazes me that some as big a hill billy as you can actually work a computer let alone log onto the internet.

People as questions to save themselves the time in having to run the vehicle dry and re prime it.

If you had noticed John would probably be able to teach you how to prime the motor frm scratch.

Enough said
Kev

FollowupID: 509793

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 14:41

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 14:41
Exactly, the whole point in having a forum such as this is to allow people to network with each other regarding their vehicles. Its the modern way of "having a yarn with ya mate" as u put it.
FollowupID: 509871

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 08:21

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 08:21
Have one I use but have changed all the tanks these days, but am sure it was 70L.
Mine was under the seat inside the cab, but the later ones had the floor pan changed and were in the same place but under the cab.
The old inside cab ones used to rust out and the fuel smell in the cab wasnt great, hence mine all under the tray these days.

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 248727

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 18:35

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 18:35
If the tank is behind the rear axle, its probably the same 85litre capacity tank as the HJ47 troopie. The gauges used to show empty at about 70litres.

If its under the cab, sounds like from above, it's going to be 70litres.
AnswerID: 248790

Reply By: zweepy - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 18:40

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 18:40
Thanks to you all. I'll work on the 70ltr and keep the other as a reserve. I'm no city slicker or country bumpkin, and I do know how to figure it out but I wanted to know the capacity of the tank not how much I put into it. Besides that its easier to ask than figure it out my self. Funny or is it coincidence, I'm an aeronautical engineer. zweepy
AnswerID: 248791

Follow Up By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 22:05

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 22:05
John,

If you want to message me with your email addy, I can send you the stats of my last trip - might help with some estimates,

Scott.
FollowupID: 509764