Question on thermostats.

Submitted: Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 09:43
ThreadID: 47020 Views:3024 Replies:5 FollowUps:14
I often see posts about fridges where the posters comment that they turn the thermostas on their fridges up in hot weather and down in colder wethae and at night.
I'm wondering why.
If you need to keep your food (and beers) at say 4C then the thermostat should be set a 4C regardless of outside temp IMO.
Sure the fridge will work differently depending on the outside temp but 4C in the fridge is the same regardless of outside factors isn't it?

Reply By: Member - Banjo (WA) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 10:58

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 10:58
Pat

The fridge will have to work for a longer time to keep the contents at whatever temperature, at say 40 degrees ambient temperature, than at 5 degrees ambient.

So at night the fridge gets turned down, doesn't use as much power, but still keeps the contents at the desired temperature.

If you were dialling in a temperature, rather than the cycling time, then you wouldn't alter the setting.

Banjo (WA)
AnswerID: 248737

Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 11:19

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 11:19
With my fridge I do dial in a temperature. I assumed all fridges would be similar.
FollowupID: 509612

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 12:56

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 12:56
"So at night the fridge gets turned down, doesn't use as much power, but still keeps the contents at the desired temperature"....????..if the thermostat is set for 4C (the DESIRED TEMP) and one alters it ie turning the thermostat up or down changes the set point...So You Therefore Have A NEW Desired Temperature...dont you!!!!
FollowupID: 509625

Follow Up By: BennyGU - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 14:19

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 14:19
Who had a big night ?
FollowupID: 509642

Follow Up By: Member No 1- Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 17:27

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 17:27
Banjo?
FollowupID: 509676

Follow Up By: Member - Banjo (WA) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 20:01

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 20:01
No 1

I guess I was thinking of the Engel. The thingy to adjust the temperature doesn't allow to dial up an actual temperature. You're right, if an actual temperature is dialled in then that'll hopefully be the result.

FollowupID: 509703

Reply By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 11:49

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 11:49
Gday Pat
The only adjustments I temd to make is turining it up.....err down....errr... setting a colder temperature if the car is running or another power source such as a gennie is available, so the fridge stuff is closer to 0 than 4, then turning it back to the desired temp (4 degrees or so) when on battery. I have found this technique saves on heaps of battery power, especially with the waeco as a fridge freezer. In this case, when the car is running etc, the freezer is set to -20 and on turbo. When in camp, the setting goes to about -12. The fridge temp goes as low as about 2, and as high as about 6, depending on where the sensor is. With the 80 litre waeco, we tend to defrost things in the dairy compartment for a day, or in the top of the fridge for 2 days. This uses all of the 'cold' energy, and allows us to get up to 50 hours from a single exide extreme on 30 degree days with about 18 degree nights. We don't expect this kind of performance all the time, but the cold sink of the freezer is a bit like having 20 litres of ice in an esky.

Cheers Andrew
AnswerID: 248741

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 15:14

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 15:14
Yep - I know what you mean. During the day when it is warmer and you have a chance to recharge the battery I run the fridge at a lower (colder) setting to get things colder than they really need to be so when the evening comes the colder than normal items have a lot longer to warm up to the real required temp (say 4 degrees) before the fridge needs to cut back in.

Why - buggared if I know really - guess I am assured of the fridge staying cold all night in case the battery dies or something...does that all make sense..

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 509651

Follow Up By: Muddy doe (SA) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 20:02

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 20:02
That is what I do Andrew,

When travelling and the fridge is on alternator power or if running generator I bump it up a bit (4 lights on Waeco) to get a bit cooler while there is pleny of reserve power.

When just on battery power I run the weaco on 3 lights. To me this means that I am making the battery last just a little longer by running at a temperature that is still good for the fridge contents while not drawing quite as much power.

Might be marginal really but works for me.

As for turning it to less power at night - I can't see the logic in that! Unless it is REALLY cold ambient temp then the stuff in the fridge will be a bit warmer by morning and when you turn it back up to colder setting in morning it has to work harder to start the day. Unless you are planning on driving that day you are wasting your time.

Depending on fridge, and how thermostat and settings work, I would just think it best to leave it the same all the time. As I mentioned above just give it a cold boost while plenty of power available when driving or on generator.

Muddy
FollowupID: 509704

Follow Up By: Member - andrew B (Kununurra) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 07:34

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 07:34
I'm with you on the turn it off at night thing too Muddy, if its cold enough to be turned off at night, it won't cycle and will use bugger all power, if its a bit warmer, it will cycle a bit. A fridgie may shed some light on older thermostats, but with the electronic ones we have now, the fridge does what it has too to keep the stuff inside at the required temperature. Maybe the old ones were dodgey and set a sort of 'degrees below ambient' type setting, so during the day at 30 degrees, it had to be set at 26 below ambient, but at night at 20 degrees, 16 below ambient would be required. Its a bit OT, but the only explanation I can come up with for the adjustments to be needed.

Cheers Andrew
FollowupID: 509797

Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 18:34

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 18:34
I am with you Pat and No.1 just dial in the required temp and leave it.
If you can't go overnight on your battery power then don't go remote.
AnswerID: 248789

Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 18:41

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 18:41
G'Day Dave,
the fridge is still going strong mate.
FollowupID: 509686

Reply By: Batboy - Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 20:34

Sunday, Jun 24, 2007 at 20:34
My Waeco which is about 3 years old doesn't have a thermostat as such, you can turn it up or down but all it does is adjust the cycle time. The newer models have a thermosat you can set to your desired temp as with a normal household fridge.
If I leave my fridge on 4 lights (of 8 ) on a coldish night things like milk and fruit end up frozen but 4 lights is spot on for a reasonably warm Gold Coast day.
Wish I had a thermosat :(
AnswerID: 248816

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 08:46

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 08:46
A fridge is a fridge is it not ? Does not matter 1 iota if a fridge is 12v or 240v , do all you advocates of saving 12v power by changing your fridge settings at nite to "save " power do the same at home to your 240v house fridge , course not , you "save" absolutely nothing by doing so , all fridges at nite simply cycle on and off less , by changing you thermostat settings for Nite all you are doing is a manual iterferance your inbuilt thermostat is designed to do automaticly , then come morning you turn it up again and you "waste" the so called saving by the fridge cycling on longer to get down to temp again ,bloody laughable.
AnswerID: 248877

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 12:55

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 12:55
Yo Axel,

I think you have missed the point. We are not on about SAVING POWER just ensuring that we have a battery that is more charged than if we let the fridge run all nite. In actual fact we are saving "COLD" if you like...

I have conducted tests and it does work.

By using the energy to cool the contents down further when the energy is available is a form of storage of "cold" if you like. During the nite the fridge is NOT being opened and is running exclusively from the battery NOT the solar panel, Not the car alternator and NOT the portable gen if one carries such a device and so therefore the battery use is minimised than if left the way you suggest.

Try it for yourself...

Is it still bloody laughable?
FollowupID: 509854

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:12

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:12
I bought a fridge to keep the contents at a set temperature (or more accurately between two set temperature numbers) yeah I expect it to operate just like the fridge at home, without any intervention at all by myself at any time for any reason.

If you need to worry about the lack of 12v power simply get more 12v power or if the fridge can't maintain a set -1° to +5° or similar numbers then get a fridge that can.

If you have to change the fridge temperature numbers once initially set, then you have either an underperforming fridge or inefficient 12v power system.

A fridge should run as easily in the high ambient temps of the far North just as it performs in Melbourne in winter, after all this is Australia and we generally do most of our traveling in the hotter temperatures – don’t we ?

I believe the idea of turning the temp down when driving and then off at night indicates there is something "different" happening as I'm sure the fridge manufacturer's advertising blurb recommends you can set the temp and leave it there indefinitely because they are inducing you to purchase their “quality” fridge. I bet they don't “recommend” turning it down during the day and off at night, however they may suggest you can do that in an effort to save 12v battery power.

If the internal fridge cabinet temperature goes above 7° which is the highest recommended temp by WHO for the safe storage of food for human consumption, why would you risk food poisoning for your family or friends?

As to saving battery Amps by turning the fridge off at night, I think you will find that the fridge has to work much longer when you turn it back on, because the fridge cabinet may have warmed up during the night.

However, if the fridge cabinet did not warm up at night, then the fridge would not have turned on anyway, so it could have been left on all night without battery problems.
FollowupID: 509937

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:27

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:27
Crazy Dog , Tis not I who have missed the point , pray tell us all how turning your thermostat to a higher temp setting or turning your fridge off at nite saves power , I have done "tests " with both my 80lt waeco and my 15lt engle , the Waeco set at -18c in the freezer = 3c in the fridge and 7c inthe dairy section , at those settings it uses 62amps in any 24hr period , testing shows that even switching 'OFF" at midnite and restarting at dawn it still uses ????? 62 amps , no bull no fairy dust ,fridge runs thru a Steca solar regulator which tells me how much power Im using for any given time frame of my choosing , as stated in the previous reply ' DO YOU TURN YOUR HOME FRIDGE DOWN OR OFF AT NITE , COURSE BLOODY NOT ,so why do it to your 12v ,the fridge will look after your foodstuffs and beer all by itself at the CORRECT temp better than fiddling.
FollowupID: 509940

Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:39

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:39
Hey guys guys keep ya shirts on..

I am not disputing anything you say about power etc but if you READ my post properly you will see that all I said was that we store cold by bringing the contents down lower than if just running on the stat all nite.

Less cycles during the night means less use of the battery during the nite and yes in the morning the stat will be adjusted again. THERE IS ABSOLUTLEY NO POWER SAVING WHATSOEVER.... Another way of saying is that if my 110lt WAECO cycles 10 times during the night to maintain 4 degrees does it not stand to reason that if I drive the contents down to say 1.5 degrees prior to the evening then it will take quite a while to get up to the stats cut-in point therefore reducing the number of starts during the night.

In any case you do it your way and we will do it our way.

I don't think the post was about who is right or who is wrong moreover why people do it...

Have a great day fella's

Grrr!!!
FollowupID: 509960

Follow Up By: Patrolman Pat - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:04

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:04
"I don't think the post was about who is right or who is wrong moreover why people do it.."

You're right crazy dog, I just wonder why people do it. I work in the heating and cooling game and wonder why people turn their heating system thermostats up when it gets colder outside. If you want 22C inside then you leave the stat set to 22 regardless but some of my customers can't/won't grasp that concept, similarly with fridges. I can understand people getting the contents down low whilst driving/using solar if battery capacity is an issue, although I find my food keeps better at a constant temp. I find some foods such as fruits and salads spoil quicker if they get close to freezing due to the high water content. As mainey said, if battery capacity is an issue look at addressing that problem first.
FollowupID: 509975