11 days to go to Warraweena EO National Gathering

Submitted: Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 09:32
ThreadID: 47052 Views:2049 Replies:5 FollowUps:8
I have 47 vehicles confirmed coming with 118 participants.

Some are arriving as early as Tuesday 3rd and as late as 7th. Most are staying for three nights with one or two just calling in for a day or so.

If you are passing by, or suddenly feel the urge to join us, please do so.
You may email me, willem@kempen.id.au or MM via ExplorOz.

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 10:44

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 10:44
I wish you would stop rubbing it in :)

I still can't make it

AnswerID: 248903

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 13:24

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 13:24
Sorry Kev. Will not do it again....lol

Maybe next year we can have a meet up in the East somewhere.

FollowupID: 509862

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 14:21

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 14:21
It is not the location, it is just I am not up to travelling that far at this stage.

Next year I will be itching to come to the National Gathering even if it was in West Aust.

Have fun and well done so far for the effort you have put in to organising such an event. I even tried to get 4WD TV to go so I could watch it

Here is his response:

"thanks for the invite but unfortunately we wouldn't be able to afford the trip or the time.

Each episode of 4wd TV costs us $10,000 to air and produce. We have spent around $1M in making the show so far...and are fairly pleased to say that we have the number one show nationally (just won the most popular show award again for the third year in a row). I work around 80 hours a week on 4wd TV and as we get no pay at all for it we run another business outside of the show to support ourselves (and 4wd TV). So for the next 7 weekends striaght my wife and I will be lecturing at unis and hospitals across Aus and NZ in an effort to make enough money for us to survive for the rest of the year.

Before 4wd TV we would go 4wheeling 3 times a week without fail...last year we went 6 times for the whole year and this year probably won't be much better.

We have given up so much to make 4wd TV and we really need the support of the community and industry to continue...so if you can get someone to do some filming of the gathering we may be able to use it."

Simon & Miranda Christie

Unquote.

Maybe next year.

FollowupID: 509869

Reply By: Member - Fourplayfull - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 11:15

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 11:15
Hi Willem ,

Add a couple more if there is room , Suz & I should arrive Friday together with Ian & Kylie Hunt ( they have already posted) . I have advised Stony also . See you there , hope it is warmer than here on the river !!

Cheers John
AnswerID: 248909

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 13:16

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 13:16
No worries John.

Can't guarantee the weather tho. Plurry cold here too. Better pack an extra pair of socks!!!

FollowupID: 509858

Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 14:01

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 14:01
Nah, keep it up willem, I will need a reminder next monday and thursday ok?
NickR
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 509866

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 11:44

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 11:44
Willie,
We may have a few extra bodies coming along too. Had a prospective club member at our meeting last thursday and he plus family and a mate of his (in separate vehicle) may be coming too.
As well as that, my good mate , Pud from Goulburn, NSW, wants to come along too. It will depend whether he can get his newly-fitted Chev 6.5 V8's clutch to work. He's just fitted the new motor (from Brunswick Diesel) by himself and it sings a sweet tune, but ain't got no clutch as yet!!!! He's trying to work out why over the next day or so, in between that inconvenient truth we all call "work".
AnswerID: 248916

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 12:51

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 12:51
G'day Roachie, I can only presume that things are not going well for you if you have to resort to bringing backup along. LOL
Cya there.
FollowupID: 509852

Follow Up By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 13:04

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 13:04
HEEEEYYYYY now thats cool Roachie's a mobile spare parts vehicle hope he's got plenty of OIL. If alls not well I guess you can make one out of two ???

cya
FollowupID: 509856

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 13:17

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 13:17
Oh come on you guys leave Roachie alone,
Fairs fair, the Roach Pus Bucket made it about 30k yesterday with a small box trailer in tow, WITHOUT assistance!
He did have 2 toyotas with him for backup, but credit where credits due!!!

Pesty
FollowupID: 509859

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 13:21

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 13:21
What do you need a clutch for? Drive it on revs alone...lol........ Geeeeez you young fellas know nothing......................

Yeah, No worries Bill

FollowupID: 509861

Reply By: Mark & Jo, S/side, Bris - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:58

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:58
Must you keep reminding me of that to which we now cannot attend?
So lowly I am......

Jo
AnswerID: 248993

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:27

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:27
I want to go...............
AnswerID: 249072