Submitted: Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 12:36
Member - Doug T (W.A)
Bugger
John Laws, pioneer of popular music and talk radio formats in Australia, announced his retirement at the start of his program this morning.
au.news.yahoo.com/070624/2/13tmd.html
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 12:41
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 12:41
John Who???
Follow Up By: Nick R (VIC) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 13:54
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 13:54
Dunno
Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 12:42
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 12:42
Ah yes, the guy who used to tell everyone to buy land on Russel Island...until there was a stink about half the blocks being underwateer at high tide LOL
Great voice, but....umm...rarely agreed with his opinions, unlike a lot of people.
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:51
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:51
He is the most self opinionated guy on the planet!, Has a large property not far from where we live, not one landowner in that valley has any real respect for him.
Axle.
Follow Up By: madfisher - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:54
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:54
Footie,
Lawys is not to popular arround the
oberon area, used to own land their. I was worned not to do any work for him, as rumor had it the peoples man was a bit slow paying his debts
Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:08
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:08
He was a jackeroo on a property next door to a guy I know in
Wellington . I could tell some stories about his youth...but I won't.
Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 13:20
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 13:20
Ahhh.... that would be that bloke who was morally and ethically bankrupt but had a lot of money in his account.
Reply By: Dave Thomson - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 14:19
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 14:19
Yeah the same guy who slagged the banks of and then praised them to the hilt
after a large deposit was put in his account,
what a star {I think NOT}..................
Follow Up By: OnYaBike (Cairns, QLD) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 14:27
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 14:27
That's the one. Him and Allan Jones. Cash for comment was a disgrace. And they still soldier on as if nothing was wrong with it.
Reply By: Dave Thomson - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 14:49
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 14:49
Amazing how people have short memories, I stopped listening and lost respect for him because of that, a real hypocrite he'd make a good replacement for Johnny boy
LOL..........
Reply By: Scoey (QLD) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:30
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:30
IMO the man was twit. My biggest beef is that most people know not to take him (and others like him) seriously, even he probaby he only says half of what he says to cause a stir and stay on the air but there is a section of the
population who think's he's great and that he tells the truth! :-S If there was ever an arguement against free speech, he would be it. hehe!
Good riddance to bad rubbish!
Scoey!
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:15
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:15
A twit eh. then how come he has more money than you , who's the twit . My Mum used to tell me Jealousy is a curse.
Doug
Reply By: Member - Brian H (QLD) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:47
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 15:47
Now now ............ sour grape .......... you all could call and make comment as long as you agreed with what he was saying you would get air time ....... if you put up a fight ahhhhhhhhhhhhhh theres that switch..... YOUR GONE .............. and then ridicule the person who could not comment back. YEP .............. great talk back host........ you talk back your gone lol ......... Mind you some of the people where a bit loopy lol and off starboard sometimes.
Not worth the air space now.
Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:09
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:09
If I make a comment do I get any cash ?
Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:42
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:42
Be buggered !!!! We'd never shut you up LOL
Follow Up By: Footloose - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:35
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:35
Gramps, you are SO right :))))
Reply By: disco driver - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:19
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:19
Thank God for that.
He was a total waste of (air)space, couldn't be called a talkback host under any circumstance.
If you disagreed with his opinions, and some of them were weird anyway, you would be cut off QAS (quick as Sh*t).
His capacity to promote any thing depended on how much money he was paid.
He wont be missed in this house.
Disco
Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:52
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:52
hehe....All positive comments here Doug :-) Obviously not everyone liked him. (not a fan myself).
Reply By: jomah - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:59
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:59
Ah; what a shame. The king of the airways for so many years is finally retiring. I think he was just great entertainment and now who are they going to find to replace him. I suppose all you critical, sarcastic and obviously muchy more honest; ethical and entertaining individuals who have been bagging him could do a much better job.Yair, just ask and you all are sure to tell me. Sounds like a special on FIGJAM at the moment. what a bunch of tug merchants!!!
Reply By: Member - Fizz (NSW) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:13
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:13
And when will the parrot go? The quicker the sooner. The more the most.
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:24
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:24
Amazing ....bloody amazing how Australians knock anyone and I mean anyone who makes a success in life and makes millions of dollars , Jealousy must be the reason, I couldn't give a crap if he made money fro cash for comment , if your clever enough and smart enough unlike all of us then good luck to him,
Kerry Packer copped it for excessive Gambling, it was his money , Greg Norman copped it because he made millions and lives in the USA , does it really matter where one lives , Bill Gates, Rupert Murdoch and the list goes on , but we have some grotty little Bast##ds go overseas and fight with terrorist groups and get caught and everyone feels sorry for them , be buggered not me ,
Doug
Follow Up By: Member - Fizz (NSW) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:49
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:49
Doug,
The issue isn't money-making. The issue is the power of one man (and his mates, of course) to subvert critical thinking and rational discourse. He promoted a shallow tunnel-vision view of reality and belittled anyone who wanted to discuss issues more deeply and with a healthy degree of scepticism. He constantly reinforced the attitude that there is just one right way of thinking - and of course that's his way. What a contrast to more enlightened radio people like Terry Lane or Sandy McCutcheon or (dare I say it) Phillip Adams.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:44
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:44
Glad you don't have that sort of Power
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:14
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:14
Philip Adams... You've got to be joking !!
What a red ragger.
Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:46
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:46
I guess we all have our shortcomings in one way or another.Sure he is sarcastic and very self opinionated & not at all interested in another persons point of view. If he has made millions & has'nt ripped anyone off then good luck to him.
Us Aussies like to knock the tall poppy, but at the end of the day we each have the opportunity to make our own luck. Slim Dusty reckoned the harder he worked the luckier he got!!
Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:54
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:54
Yes, but Slim Dusty didn't take bribes for singing favourably about something.
Slim Dusty is an icon.
John Laws is an example of eveything that is wrong with the absolute greed mentality
Reply By: garryk - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:53
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:53
Good , now at least when we travel in country NSW we can turn the radio on again , unless they get some clone to broadcast same s**t
Gary
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:47
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:47
You do have the option of another station or turning it off instead of bitchin'
Go listen to Mr Charles Wooley
Follow Up By: garryk - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:25
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:25
Doug
What other stations ?
We only had the option of turning it off !
Not unusual to try all available stations and guess what , all the same
We did update the old radio to a CD player though
However the fact he lasted so long indicates some people liked it , not us but
Garry
Follow Up By: Member - Fizz (NSW) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:17
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:17
Garryk,
Across
Australia, Radio National - Lawsless, Jonesless and always worth listening to.
Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 23:08
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 23:08
RN
Spot-on!
Fran Kelly has got to be the best start to the day, and in the arvo, on
Australia Talks, the callers have an IQ significantly higher than 50, which beats the rest of the commercials.
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:56
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 17:56
Maybe now we will see Nissan's sales figures rise above toyota. After all, it is only due to Mr Laws' never-ending flogging of the toyota brand that sooooo many of those useless bloody 4 wheel drives have ever been sold in the first place.
How many of the foregoing blokes who have (quite rightly) bagged the cr@p out of this glorified DJ, drive toyotas? I would
hazard a guess that most of you do. (only because it would make perfect sense, given that toyota sales exceed any other brand of vehicle in Oz).
So, I wonder how many of you toyota owners have either consciously or sub-consciously bought your vehicle because of Mr Laws' endorsement? (or maybe you bought it in spite of his comment??? hahaha).
Just remember, he is the bloke who used to say that there was no better fly spray than Mortein ( I think). He used the tag line: "when you're on a good thing, stick to it".
Then, the dudes at the Raid company, paid him a bleep -load of cash to promote THEIR product and he came up with the tag-line: "when you find a better thing, switch to it".
Gotta love a bloke with THAT much moral fibre.
I often wonder how many '000'000'000s Mr Nissan would have had to pay him to get him to do a similar job on Toyota......... hahahaha .......Good ridence ..... ROFLMAO
Follow Up By: Member - Axle - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:11
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:11
Strong words roachie!, but i reckon your on the money, in a sense its certainly been a great achievement from a individual who has concentrated on the one career for so long, But i think he has grabbed things with both arms, no matter what!. A bit like that Aussie home loans dude!!! hahaha, a absolute shocker.
Axle.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:40
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:40
G'day mate,
Don't get me started on THAT other moron....fat John Simonds!!! He started off by getting in our faces saying things like: "don't deal with those mongrel banks...they're a pack of b@astards etc"......
His more recent ad's say things like: "we can get you the best deal with any bank" etc etc (so all of a sudden the banks are paying him and he reckons they're okay now!!!!). However, next time you see his ad on the telly, at the end of it they show the logos of the banks who have relented and are paying HIM to push their barrow. As a 37 year-employed staffer of NAB, I'm proud to say my employer's logo does NOT appear on fatso's ad!!!!
Reply By: warthog - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:14
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:14
What a sad indictment on our collective I.Q that this man was popular enough to broadcast for 55 years.
Reply By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:22
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:22
Well, if you thought he was a twit on radio, check out your local video store and try to track down a copy of "Nickel Queen", made in the early 70's, starring Googie Withers and, you guessed it... John Laws!!
How he wasn't buried after that performance - real cringe material!!!
Guess we've been lucky over here in the West - no John Laws or Alan Jones on radio.
Get a few other dorks, tho.
Gerry
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:12
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:12
An FM station in
Geraldton has John Laws
Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:26
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:26
Dodn't he make some retched crooning record too?
Follow Up By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:27
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:27
Bugger that should read "Didn't"
Oh, my kingdom for an edit button.
Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 22:25
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 22:25
Hi Doug, Yeh, you're right.
Recall some years ago when I was working around the
Pilbara, he was on the radio then, but wasn't sure of the latest distribution of his venom. There was some deal with the country stations where they got his programme for zilch, he got to push his ads.
Hi GoneTroppo - yeh, wretched was the word - it was some B-grade record he released years ago, with a one-hit wonder "Tennesee Stud" (real Aussie stuff LOL!) and the rest was cr@p - it was all cr@p really.
Actually, it might have been back in the days of 78's!
Gerry
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 22:37
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 22:37
Gerry
.....78s Gee mate your showing your age now seeing though you mentioned 78s have a look at this website
78rpmrecord.com/allpics.htm
Lawsy would like this one
Follow Up By: Member - joc45 (WA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 23:23
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 23:23
Actually, Doug, I could talk about "80's" I have an Edison disc phonograph which runs at 80rpm, with "hill-and-dale" modulation and diamond reproducer. Now there's technology!
link 1
link2
Reply By: dazza0503 - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:23
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:23
I'm with you Doug.
Yes I do listen to him and talkback in general, but why are all these people so nasty and dare I say bitter. Yes he has changed flysprays, god forbid, he even changed bourbans and wine companies a few times. He has been on air for 55 years. Times change good luck to him. If you don't like him don't listen pretty simple really.
Follow Up By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:41
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:41
Just proves the small & narrow minds on this
forum, can only see up to his radio program.he is a bigger man than what a lot of you guys think.:)
Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 22:55
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 22:55
Did'nt realize I regularly shared the internet with so many saints. Have'nt you lot got something better to do than knock someone who was, and still is, a great deal more successful than the lot of you combined.
ps I'm no fan of his either but that's no reason for some of this crap.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 23:17
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 23:17
Hiya Al
Yeh mate it's unbelievable eh ,
Yeh and she's right
Follow Up By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 11:34
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 11:34
I agree Gramps and Doug.... no need for bitterness over something that doesn't affect non-listeners, myself included.
You would think they would be happy :-)
Obviously he has had an influence on many a listener and should be congratulated for being on air (?) for 55 or so years.... a great feat in any case.
Reply By: Muddy doe (SA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 23:55
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 23:55
Amazing to see how many people on here will lament his passing on into retirement.....not too many!!!!
I listened to him occasionally when I lived in
Sydney during the 1990's and must say that mostly it was self glorification of the highest order. It was funny to listen at times to how long some caller would last before the put-down came and if there was any hint of the caller getting the better of Lawsy with an opinion or a point then on would come some jingle or sound effect and with it the drop-out button would be pressed and the caller never heard from again.
It was amazing at the height of it all when he and The Parrot (I love that!) had the early and mid morning radio ratings all sewn up. The arrogance displayed both on and off air was amazing. It was almost with sense of occasion that one would tune in! What will they say next?!?!
After a while though it gets really boring listening to the both of them setting up callers to push their own view with "agenda setting radio". The pollies only frequented the shows as it was intensely populist and if you wanted to get a message out to a large audience that had been softened up by these guys then there was no more effective vehicle.
I have to admire anyone that lasted so long in their chosen industry but Lawsy by the late 90's when I listened was so full of his own importance that it became a joke and when cash-for-comments broke it was pathetically laughable how much money and commercialism were shaping the "public agenda" that this self proclaimed "hero of the battler" was pushing.
I don't think I will miss him too much. Time marches on.
Muddy
Reply By: G.T. - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 14:33
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 14:33
I didn`t think he could afford to retire !! Regards G.T.
Reply By: V8Diesel - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 20:35
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 20:35
You are all being a bit rough aren't ya!
I used to listen to him driving trucks in the
Pilbara and got a few laughs out of the show. Beat the heck out listen to the dry as chalk disabled black lesbian PC programs on ABC at the time.
I have a cassette tape of John Laws called "you aint been trucked like this before" or something similar which has him leaning against a truck with a few slappers sprawled over him including one on her knees. Noice!
His poetry is something special too. Good fire side recital material.