Tubeless Tyre repairs
Submitted: Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 16:21
GoneTroppo Member (FNQ)
Up to now I've travelled with tubed tyres on the Landie.
Had to repair a couple over the years and sweated, swore and struggled with the tyrepliers etc etc. But the tube was patched or replaced,the fix was done and we were on our way. (Refreshments tasted extra good that night!!!)
Now I'm on tubeless, and the wisdom seem to be "plugs and glue and you're on your way in 10 minutes" (without raising a sweat).
There are some good suggestions re technique etc in the archives, but I seem to recall a thread about 6months ago about the merits of various brands of plugs and glue and people's experiences with them.
Naturally I can't find this particular thread. Can someone help, of indeed suggest which goop works best and which plugs to use.
I still have an unused tubeless kit with my Tyrepliers stuff but it's about 10 years old and possibly not much good now?
Reply By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:04
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:04
I bought the $60 kit from ARB. Nice
tools and 50 strings.
It has plugged 6 tyres so far.
Pete
Reply By: gary - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:07
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:07
GoneTroppo, the easiest and effective tubeless repair is the string repair, it comes in a kit for around $25 and is a very good temporary repair for small & not so small holes. The bigger the hole the more string repair needed. It comes with tyre/tube solution which is not glue but an accelerator when put with patches etc. causes the bonding/vulcanising process to work, old solution probably won't work.
Also for big holes a patch on the tyre and then a tube will get you from A to B.
hope this helps
Regards Gary
Reply By: Tim Owen - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:35
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:35
I'm on the same quest. Have just ordered up a REMA tip top kit for $40 delivered. No idea about value, but had the contents I was after.
See ebay Item number: 260119113648
My tyre kit now includes
1. Safety Seal plug kit $100 (bushranger kit for $29 looks pretty solid too)
2. Beadbreaker rip-off made up at local steel fabricator combined with high lift jack www.beadbreaker.co.za/ $40
3. Rema Patches Kit as per ebay $40
4. Travelling with 1 spare, and 1 tyre only.
5. Bushranger Max Air
I hope I never use any of it (other than the practice runs in the driveway!)
Follow Up By: Tim Owen - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:39
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:39
Oh, and I have a couple of tubes too.
Reply By: Member - bushfix - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:38
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:38
G'day,
don't forget the sidewalls, you might want to carry some patches and a tube if you are gone for a while. Despite the risk of the tube rubbing on the patch and the rough interior of a tubeless, it might be enough to get you there if you're in strife.
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 19:58
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 19:58
Plugs will do the Sidewalls (obviosly size of punture depending but
yea I Had 3 r 4 in one sidewall for a while before I found a place that rpairs sidewalls
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:21
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:21
Plugs:
Generally speaking, the fatter the plug, the better - short fat ones are better than the long stringy ones.
I have a preference for Tech Brand. Each plug comes covered in its own plastic wrapper so they don't dry out. And they require the vulcanising glue as
well.
I've used the more common hairy plugs, like what you get with the safety seal kit. They use a lubricant, rather than glue - the glue is supposed to be inside the plug. They seem to work
well on small holes.
Theres a lot of other "similar" plugs out there, but I'd suggest that all plugs are better with vulcanising glue.
Tools: The metal handled ones are nice tools. Plastic ones can sometimes separate from the handle.
Technique: I'm inherently lazy, so always attempt to plug the tyre on the vehicle. Usually we'd put the pump on, to get some pressure back in the tyre, and if its not obvious, a 500ml spray bottle of
water with a few drops of detergent helps find the leak. Need to get some glue into the hole and find the direction of the hole - thats what the straight tool is for. Keep the air pumping, then load up a plug onto the tool with the split eye, heaps of glue on the plug, and insert it slowly into the tyre until only a centimetre of plug is still outside, then pull the tool out - the plug stays in. Keep the air pumping, and when the pressure is up, give it a spray to check for bubbles. If it needs a second plug, then slip that in. If it still is leaking, then you might want to give up and put a patch in from the inside instead of having a beer that night.
I reckon that with glue, its unlikely that you'll have further leaks later on.
And of course you are supposed to get the next tyre joint to slip a mushroom plug on from the inside. They are usually reluctant to do so on sidewall punctures, and want to sell you a new tyre.
I'm no expert - above is my experience from seeing and doing this over the past 8 years. The experts I've seen are the tour companies who do the really remote tours.
Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 07:33
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 07:33
Tech or Teck ( spelling ) are supposedly the best !
Not too sure where you get them from
I have a Tyre Plyers kit I got at a Show in
Melbourne,, brillliant and relatively easy to use,,
I just went to our local Tyre Bloke, ( who does all our work ) and asked him for payches and plugs , and believe it or not 3 tubes, which I got invoiced for, and got my money back, when I brought them back from our trip unopened ,,
Was all too easy !
Cheer s Mate
Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 07:47
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 07:47
Hmmmm..... these Tech plugs seem to be the go. I can't seem to find who stocks these, any clues?
Reply By: Rod W - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 09:50
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 09:50
In addition to whats been said above, when the repair requires a patch on the inside of the tyre, I have an air operated in-line drill 3/8" chuck and a cup shaped grinding buff which I use to grind off the ridges on the inside of the tyre cause using one of those hand operated pressed metal things is an absolute joke.
Also just a bit of useless info:- once you have buffed the area to be repaired don't re-clean it by applying any type of cleaning liquid as the cleaning liquid will just melt the rubber back smooth thus effecting the adhesion properties of the patch.
Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 12:35
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 12:35
Thanks everyone for your input.
This exercise has once again proven the value of the collective experience of the people on this
forum.
Here is what I'm putting together.
Have to get:
Safety Seal deluxe kit $99 (going to practise plugging here in the shed first)
Rema Tip Top vulcanising goo Plus some extra heavy patches. $15
2 x good quality Bridgestone tubes $80
Supply of Tech plugs
Already had:
Existing Rema Tip Top patches from Tyrepliers kit. (checked and still OK)
Tubeless valves, valve stems, rasp, roller thingy, bits and pieces.
Tyrepliers kit (ten years old and going strong)
Canvas tarp. Spray bottle.
The obvious (already had):
2 x Jacks.
tyre gauge
Maxair compressor,
Heavy duty ratchet tie down.
Soap
For "lonely" trips only
Second complete spare.
Hopefully this'll keep me out of trouble!