how many kms is the 100series td good for

Submitted: Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:00
ThreadID: 47075 Views:2875 Replies:10 FollowUps:7
noticing a few 100series td with high kms on the clock. does anyone know how many kms to expect out of a regular serviced one with highway kms only.
cheers dave.

Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:18

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 18:18
At least 500,000 until the engine needs a rebuild.
AnswerID: 249023

Reply By: TD100 - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:06

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:06
i would have said more than 500,000 providing it has had all its required servicing at the correct intervals.mine has only just turned over 50,000 so i hope it does at least that!cheers Paul
AnswerID: 249038

Reply By: Russ n Sue - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:07

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:07
It will last precisely:

(36.933563098Km) + ((the length of your arm x 1287.012) - (4 x the girth of your guts))

less than the distance to the nearest help when it finally dies.

....or so I'm told.

Seriously, how long is a piece of string? It's that kind of question.

Russ.
AnswerID: 249039

Follow Up By: dave_c - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:10

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:10
Russ n Sue,

based on your calculations my kids kids will have a good time trying to kill it. i am not after exact to the millimetre distances just averages. these engines have been around long enough now to have some seriously high kms on them. i am keen on buying one.
FollowupID: 509976

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 23:03

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 23:03
or in simple terms it will last 10 times that of a land rover ....LOL
FollowupID: 510044

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 07:29

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 07:29
My cars only need to last as long as the warranty. After that they're someone else's problem.

FollowupID: 510078

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:24

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:24
The rest of the vehicle wears out before the motor.

Overheating often spells the beginning of the end for many motors.
AnswerID: 249047

Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:26

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:26
My mechanic mate that services mine says minimum 400,000 k's.

He owns one too and expects that from his. So 500,000 like the crew above say is a definite possibility.

AnswerID: 249048

Reply By: Rob from Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:33

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 19:33
Mine is an 03 5 speed auto done 170k klms and gets smoother and better fuel consumption as the miles build up. I have had it for sale for a while as the ks were mounting up but what would I replace it with? When you drive one of these you can't help but love them in spite of the cost. As a tour guide I drive n\a 1hz Arkana type vehicles all the time that have well over 700k klms on them and are thrashed up the Alexandra range in first gear every day as they weigh 5.5tonne. We have 2 factoryturbo diesel Arkana type vehicles now, on the same trip., they use 40% less fuel and can be driven a gear higher than the n\a 1hz. With regular servicing and maitenance an average 2.5 ton cruiser wagon which would never be driven as hard a these tour vehicles should have no trouble doing a 100,000klm. Any high mileage fte turbo motors out there? Any problems? Cheers Rob
AnswerID: 249049

Follow Up By: dave_c - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:18

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:18
gday rob,

thats what i was hoping to here. would a highway kms only engine have any more life in it than a full time outback rig like yours. Interested in any responses to your last 2 questions also. they are more to the point.

thanks dave
FollowupID: 509984

Reply By: Member - Axle - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:23

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:23
A Regular serviced one will do 500,000ks.

But could cost you to get there!!.

Pump service?

injector replacement or service?

Timing belt replacement?

Injector lines later models?

rear oil seal replacement.?

Clutch & associated parts?

Then there's gearbox issues maybe?

Supension bushes?

waterpump

radiator.

It goes on and on, unless you do big kms & its running warm all the time,( Eg .taxi) Not being negative, just realistic.

AnswerID: 249069

Reply By: obee - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:29

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:29
I read where one bloke got over a million k still going. Motors that never get to cool down will go a long time like the taxis used to. That, servicing, and the way you drive should all have an effect. Leaving the vehicle for long periods will allow the oil to dry from the bearing surfaces and take a lot of revolutions before the oil pumps up and fills the channels.

Motors are built by robots these days so they should all start out the same. In the old days bored production line workers had something to do with it. I bought a new Torana once and had to have a main bearing replaced in the first week.

Owen
AnswerID: 249077

Reply By: BennyGU - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:56

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:56
None
should be destroye at birth :)
AnswerID: 249089

Reply By: fisho64 - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 22:19

Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 22:19
mine has 125,000 on the clock (Jan04) and the only replacements have been an oil pressure sensor @108000 (replaced free even though out of warranty and not the first owner) and a RH outer CV, self destructed-not covered as previous owner had wound the torsion bars up 65mm. The wear was obvious with the hardfacing breaking down. Beware of this prob, $1200 to replace.
Have done an oil sample at 6000km on oil to see how the engine was internally, it came back with Soot Index <0.1%, Fuel Dilution <3% (minimum measurable) and all else well within normal range. I wanted to see how necessary an oil change at 5000ks was, this indicates that it could easily go 10,000. But I still change it. Am happy to forward it to anyones private email if they want to view it?
AnswerID: 249122

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 02:33

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 02:33
Recommended oil change interval is 10,000k. My oil is barely going dark at 5000k.
FollowupID: 510067

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 02:41

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 02:41
book is a bit vague on that, cant be bothered getting my handbook out but it says something along the lines of 10,000ks unless used in dirty conditions, highway driving and stop/start conditions. Reckon that covers about everything?? I just change the oil, and do filter every 2nd time.
FollowupID: 510068

Follow Up By: Ingtar - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 12:45

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 12:45
I still don't understand how people will spend the time to put $50 worth of oil into a motor, and not spend the extra $15 to not have that oil going through a dirty filter.

Even the guys that do oil analysis will change the filters, and not the oil.
FollowupID: 510163