Awesome Hummer
Submitted: Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:01
Willem
Now I ain't normally impressed with various 4bies as they are all basically the same, but this Hummer thingo has impressed me. I want one!!!!....lol
EO Member Peter2, his wife and friends dropped in for a cuppa here with us in the Borough this afternoon. We had a good couple of hours of sitting around swapping yarns about
places remote.
Peter bought the military spec Hummer off a bloke who imported them from Saudi Arabia to Australia. He then set about converting it to Right Hand Drive, building a canopy on the back and fitting long range tanks etc. The job took 15 months of paintsaking work in his backyard. The Hummer is shod with 37"x16.6" tyres and is driven by a 6.2 Chevvy diesel coupled to an automatic 4 speed box. The cabin is
well appointed with an array of digital toys and it also still has the removal gunturret cover up above. Gear reductions are awesome and I had some difficulty understanding all the technical jargon which Peter rattled off. Suffice to say the Hummer can climb a brick wall with little effort. He also reckons that the wide track is no problem out in the bush and he seldom suffers punctures. The tyres all have some sort of goo in them which plugs cuts and stakeholes automatically.
Oh
well. I will have to stick with the GQ as any change is beyond my finances...lol
Peters mate(also a Peter) is driving a LC 79 series with extra cab and Trayon Camper and is immaculate.
They are doing the run along the
Madigan Line for the next three weeks.
Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:08
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:08
That Plug goo is good but as far as I knew you wern't to go more than 50kph with it in your tyres. I have a 20 litre drum in my garage and use it everytime I change the tyres on the bobcat. I bought it because my operator at the time was getting up to 5 puntures a week. I bought the drum and have had 1 puncture in 2 years. It is not cheap either. If I remember correctly it was almost 300 for 20l. but at over a hundred dollars a puncture on the bobcat it is cheap......
Might look into it to see if I can put it in the ute tyres
Follow Up By: obee - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:16
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:16
he said it beats working!
Owen
Reply By: Footloose - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:14
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:14
The Hummer has often been villified as being unreliable and too wide for our bush tracks...AFAIK Qld Prisons had a fleet of them that they flogged off because of maintainance issues.
But it sounds like Peter's got his sorted
well.
Personally I don't need a Hummer to drive me up the wall ...just the odd angry shot from SWMBO :)))
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 21:31
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 21:31
Flogged off....nah the Idiots destroyed them so they wouldn't end up on the public roads, Oh that's ok it was only Tax payers money
Reply By: Love The Outback - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:16
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:16
Gee Willem, we can all dream..........but you wake to reality and say "Aaaa
well better this 4bie than nothing".
Reply By: madfisher - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:28
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 20:28
Willem Hi,
That tyre goo I put in my wifes Falcon years ago, you could drive at any speed. I dont know if it worked or not but she never had a punture. Some brands can cause balancing problems. The blurb was it was develped by the yank army to withstand puntures in warfare. If you can find some it might be of some use to you
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 21:36
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 21:36
Willem
Hey wait till the new Flashy model H3 arrives , Hmmmm
Hummer H3 Arrives In July
Site Link
Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 11:03
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 11:03
H3 delayed till October.
Site Link
For me, it's delayed until it has a diesel and a 5 or 6 speed auto.
Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 22:19
Monday, Jun 25, 2007 at 22:19
Heather took this pic when gmd was looking for the ultimate tow car a few weeks back. Good approach angles anyway.
Follow Up By: Pajman Pete (SA) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 08:03
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 08:03
I might be able to fit all my
camping gear in that :o)
Pete
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 08:26
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 08:26
Pete, think it may have problems for clearance over some bitumen crests I know. You would have to enjoy big wide roads. I reckon it would have crushed a few toes at city corners. It was actually in NY.
Reply By: Member - bushfix - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 07:58
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 07:58
G'day Willem,
yeah I just missed him, had a very old copy of Madigan's "Central Australia" for him to take along to read. I tell you it's just as
well he doesn't have to remove the tyres much, did you count just how many nuts there are?!!
and yeah, that LC camper is immaculate, it replaces a 100 series.
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 08:35
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 08:35
Bushfix
Only 8 nuts!!
And then there are all the nuts when you take the tyre apart. Must be 16 or 20. Works like a wheelbarrow wheel. Quite ingenious, eh? No stuffing around with bead breakers etc.
You should never break a diff on one of those as they are immovable. And then there is a reduction gear inside the wheel hub.
Oh
well, dream on....lol
Reply By: TroopyTracker - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 20:03
Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 20:03
Willem,
When I first started reading forums I came across Peters Humvee and often his posts popped up when reading everything written on the forums re the chev diesels. I admit I love the idea and have searched the online traders and Ebay afew times looking for something similar. The problem is they are getting on abit and most were around the same dollars as a new Cruiser ute or troopy when all said and done. The majority of full time travellers in 4bies, towing a van are over weight in one way or another. The Patrol/Cruiser size vehicle is considered BIG here, I'd love something say between a cruiser and F 250 size. Not going to happen. Something like a humvee has plenty of load/tow capacity and lots of go-perfect I reckon....
Matt