new hilux lsd

Submitted: Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 19:16
ThreadID: 47130 Views:7286 Replies:10 FollowUps:4
Can someone help me. A friend of mine bought a new hilux diesel. He has had injectors changed and a new cluth put in prior to 10,000km. On the weekend he got bogged in a small crossing which a ford ute would breeze through. He was not in 4wd as he didn't think it was warranted. At the time he noticed his lsd was not engaging. The wheel which was almost off the ground had all the dive and the other nil. He went to the toyota dealer and was told you have to stop and pull your handbrake on to engage the ls diff. I told him this can't be right so he rang toyota hq. The customer service bloke informed him that in this model you have to pull the handbrake on to engage the diff. I am not kidding, i was there when he rang. He was also told he could not speak to anyone higher and to live with it as this was the way the way it was. I am stunned with this response, any ideas guys?

TOB

Reply By: Ianw - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 19:35

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 19:35
Only a Toyo would need a new CLUTH and the wheel that was off the ground got all the DIVE!!!
One would assume that this sort of thing would be stated in the operators manual? Has he read it? Maybe costs have caught up with Toyota and they are doing it on the cheap? Doesn't sound right to me.
AnswerID: 249305

Follow Up By: TOB - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 19:37

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 19:37
No, the manual has nothing in it about using the handbrake to engage diff.
FollowupID: 510249

Reply By: oldpop - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 19:38

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 19:38
TOB
Are these new hilux's something special do they have a new type of LSD something electronic controlled by the hand brake I think not they must be stupid must have two male appendages could not get that stupid playing with just one

Oldpop
AnswerID: 249306

Reply By: Stu-k - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 19:48

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 19:48
A ford ute would breeze through with one wheel off the ground........ yeah right
AnswerID: 249309

Follow Up By: Member - Linda M (VIC) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 20:59

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 20:59
Can't resist. We got up the Gibb River Road in a ford ute carrying a 1 ton camper. Standard suspension, road tyres it came from the factory with. Crossed the Pentacost river. A slow trip and a minor bit of collateral damage (one flat tyre, and a crack in a small bracket under the tray). Great locking rear diff though!!

With all the weight on the back, it was hard to get any of the tyres off the ground-even the flat one lol.

Linda
FollowupID: 510269

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 07:54

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 07:54
Yeah there a good thing the old ford ute. We took a new xls BA to tassie for a few weeks.
Did the west coast rally style with slides the whole way and then took it bush after that. Clearance was a problem and I would have hate to looked under it afterwards lol.
It only had a lsd and over logs and ruts you needed a fair run up. It was a good fun trip but definitely found the limits of the poor ute!

Cya
Stu
FollowupID: 510336

Reply By: chiko45 - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 20:12

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 20:12
all LSD will spin a wheel if it is completely off the ground the idea of the hand brake is to only apply it a couple of clicks to provide some resistance so that the LSD can work. To get both wheels to drive even with one off the ground you need a diff lock
AnswerID: 249322

Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 20:46

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 20:46
LSD's come in so many different qualities. For example the LSD you get in a SS commadore is second to none. I know this because i used to own one, and never would you only have one black line off the lights or around a corner, always two.
And the Patrol, well mine atleast, will, even if one wheel is off, deliver some, not all, drive to the other wheel. In the same sentance, my old hilux, which supposedly had an LSD always only spun one when on the sand or in the mud, but saying that is was a tojo, (LOL) so it could have been broken....only JK.

The idea behind applying the handbrake, comes from the same principal as the electronic traction control. A diff will deliver the drive to the wheel with the least amount of weight, and or traction. Therefore when one wheel begins to spin the ETC will apply the brake on that wheel and shunt the drive accross the diff to the other wheel. Applying the handbrake will give similar results, ir stopping or applying more traction to the spinning wheel and trying to shunt the drive accross to the other wheel......IT DOES WORK!
Although not on the patrol cause the handbrake is a drum on the tail shaft, but if you have wheel brakes for a handbrake, it will work....ish!
Hope this sheds some light.....
Wayne-o
FollowupID: 510264

Reply By: madfisher - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 20:43

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 20:43
My Jacks lsd works much better if you give it a couple of clicks of handbrake This is fairly standard with lsds
AnswerID: 249334

Reply By: Exploder - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 21:14

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 21:14
Completely normal mate.

A LSD is not a Locker, Soon as the frictional forces of the LSD clutches are overcome it will slip and the wheel with the lest traction gets the power.

When I rebuilt mine a used 8 Clutch disks to 6 steel’s, stacked in alternation clutch to steel which makes it hold more load before slipping, and mine still can’t get a tyre off the ground without the LSD slipping.

The Nissan ones are something else, they are not of the typical LSD design.

AnswerID: 249343

Reply By: hatha636 - Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 21:49

Tuesday, Jun 26, 2007 at 21:49
I have a toyota hilux, which had problems with the LSD, instead of repairing it, i replaced it with an ARB air locker in the rear. From memory it was around $2000 which included the compressor. It was money well spent. With the airlocker, rear wheels lifting from the ground are no problem. Worth looking into especially if a ford falcon is covering more ground!
AnswerID: 249356

Reply By: Zodarp - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 07:00

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 07:00
Hi TOB

I too had a Hilux, previous to the model mentioned. It also had a non functioning LSD from day one. We spoke to the selling dealer and his reply was also use the handbrake. I was astounded at his reply and from that moment on was sceptical of everything the salesperson had to say. I can only gather that , hearing the same replies others received, the excuse originated from the factory to cover up the deficient differential. It now looks like the same diffs are used in the new model and the same excuses used. Perhaps this may have been one of many reasons we never purchased the, made in Thailand, Hilux for our new vehicle.

Regards Zodarp
AnswerID: 249386

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 09:41

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 09:41
Toyota have always been reluctant to put a tight LSD into their vehicles. I'd guess to prevent understeer when offroading. Instead they offer factory diff locks on their base commercial models like the 76,78,79 and I think 105series.

The dealer was describing their workshop procedure to test the function of the LSD. To do so, requires jacking one rear wheel off the ground and slipping an axle stand under it, then with centre diff off, apply some brake and attempt to drive it off the stand. It should try to go forward. They say that the diff needs to be loaded for anything to happen, hence the application of the brake.

But the use of the brake and handbrake has always been the poor man's traction control on any 4wd. It stops the lifted wheels from spinning wildly, so some power goes back to the ones on the ground. Its something that's worth practicing.
AnswerID: 249412

Reply By: F4Phantom - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:31

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:31
yeah hand brake or even tapping the brake pedal while all wheels are spinning can help a bit. The shim LSD's wear out but can also be tightened cheaply I think for around $150 you can have it as tight as you like. Worm gear LSD's are better and dont wear, they cost a lot and last a long time, perhaps nissan have this one.
AnswerID: 249437