cotton wool, wool cotton, which sock do i put oin first?
Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 10:54
rbt
cotton wool, wool cotton, which sock do i put on first?
particulary in damp conditions when the shoe will take on a bit of
water during the day??
Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 11:09
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 11:09
I'd go cotton wool, just so that the cotton won't move as much against your feet causing blisters.
But personally I would only wear one pair at a time
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: rbt - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:21
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:21
ive been trying all morning to get my foot into a cotton-wool bud - how do you do it??
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:36
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:36
Use a ankle length cotton sock and a knee length woollen sock. This stops the wollen sock from slipping down your foot.
Well it does for me not that I do it that often.
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:58
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:58
rbt, have you tried standing on your head??
Follow Up By: rbt - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 15:28
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 15:28
darn it Kev, no i gotta' throw differant lengths into play...
darn it, i aint tried that one RB but if it works for you ill sure give it a go... jumping up and down in the container doesnt work niether...
Reply By: rbt - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 11:37
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 11:37
i prefer & carry only one pair at a time too, but in this case it is cold/damp/wet and I just know some big puddle will get me...
Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:08
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:08
You two ok????????????????
You aren't being held hostage and this post is a coded mesage for help.
Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:09
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:09
fair dinkum
ffs.
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:14
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:14
We are just trying to work out how to get to Warraweena to join in the fun LOL
Kev
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 13:37
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 13:37
Just gearing up for that (Warraweena) now.
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 13:40
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 13:40
You don't have to rub it in,
Willem has done enough of it over the past couple of weeks.
Are you towing the Car Trailer to bring the broken down Chevnissan home ;)))
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 13:54
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 13:54
No Thir!
Wouldn't think of such a demeaning thing, I'll just 'skull drag' the coota out to the main road where it can be recovered by private enterprise.
I think I best shut up while I am still up and running - can you imagine the embarrassment if it is/was the other way around.
I would have to get Pesty to do the Biz. (LOL)
After a swig or three of Willems white lightning.
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:13
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:13
Lets hope there's enough room for the passangers to hitch a ride home. LOL
Kev
| Russell Coight:
Follow Up By: rbt - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 15:31
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 15:31
darn that wet weather tho' - mite have to bring my special "plastic-socks"...
Reply By: Rhys - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:10
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:10
Wool will still keep your feet warm when wet, cotton will make your feet cold when wet, wear wool socks and take a spare set. Cotton [denim jeans, T shirts etc] is dangerous in wet and cold conditions it has no insulation effect when wet and will just suck the warmth out of you, a quick route to exposure in my opinion, Rhys.
Reply By: rbt - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:26
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:26
i was hoping the cotton would act as a sponge and the wool act as a pump with the whole system coming together to "pump" out the
water in the shoe...
i may need a third material to act as mud filter too....
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 13:36
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 13:36
Which sock do you put on first?
Well I don't know but this I do know. You can't put your left sock on first.
Think about it and get back to me.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 13:42
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 13:42
Depends where you left it ?
Follow Up By: rbt - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 15:35
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 15:35
darn it - i can never find my right socks but i have drawers full of the same colored and textured lefts one that i never wear...
Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 15:38
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 15:38
I was going to take up wearing thongs until the sales assistant gave me funny looks.
Reply By: neptune - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 13:55
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 13:55
A lot of bush walkers & hikers layer their socks, the thin moisture wicking one goes on first then the thicker warmer one over the top.
Reply By: rbt - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 15:38
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 15:38
many thanks for that neptune - in my teens/20's I did a HUGE amunt of bushwalkin & just couldnt remember, expermeting would have been 'not-nice'
which boot brand do you buy??
Follow Up By: neptune - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 15:52
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 15:52
I buy scarpas, but there are many to choose from.
Reply By: warfer69 - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 17:29
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 17:29
Possum Socks
Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:23
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:23
Enough is enough! Its nearly enough to make you resign from this once sensible sight!!
Follow Up By: warfer69 - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:38
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:38
If youve got NO sense of humour Bazza your making the right choice ! Hate to have to work with ya...
I own a pair and i fully endorse them,feet end up like toast,Although i don't get paid too...In New Zealand they have become such a feral pest (introduced species) that nearly every 2 kms of driving their is one or two squashed on the road...I think its a great that they use them wisely...The councils even let you drown them legally...
Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:51
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:51
Yeah Ok, but I do have a sense of humour, but are these blokes, & maybe even you have their keyboard to close to the beer frig? I don't mean to be rude, but fair dinkum, what does they all mean.
Follow Up By: rbt - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:38
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:38
heysYa Bazza' ...
it could mean I had just forgot which layer to put on first -
and i reckon ya mad if you want to wear just one pair of socks .. when you get a good system going like layered cotton and wooll that actiully works against the wet youl wonder what other magic is in the natural world...
when you do, just remember, darn it!, put the cotton ones on first!...
Follow Up By: warfer69 - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 21:50
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 21:50
No worries Bazza...Heah one thing that people say annoy them is one person answers a question and the next ten have the same answer,whether its a time thing or they havnt reloaded their browser who knows.
Oh yeah did he say to put the cotton ones on first LMAO
Reply By: c j - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:19
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:19
Some of the
camping shops now stock these waterproof socks www.sealskinz.com/