%#&^%%# seat belt locking up!

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:14
ThreadID: 47154 Views:2684 Replies:5 FollowUps:6
G'day you mob,

of course it may be illegal, but has anyone pulled apart a seat belt in an attempt to clean it (dirt/dust) and if so, have they successfully got it back together again?

one of my rear belts often locks up and cannot be pulled out to use, rendering the 8 seat Prado to a 7 seater.

gives me the first class poops!

Reply By: Rhys - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:22

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:22
I would recommend buying a new one, yes it may be expensive but how would you feel if the belt you 'repaired' did not function properly in an accident and someone was injured ?, Rhys.

ps, beware to that some belts have pyrotechnic tensioners on them, Rhys.
AnswerID: 249433

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:42

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:42
yeah looks like a new one, would not attempt to repair. forgot about those pyro jobbies, remember when mercedes came out with them. cheers.
FollowupID: 510387

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:30

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:30
See
Site Link

Was discussed a couple of days ago

AnswerID: 249436

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:49

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:49
hah! thanks Kev, that one slipped through the net.

looks like i need to take it to a toyota dealer, speak with the service manager and follow it closely. if there is a product issue they must let head office know.

thanks.
FollowupID: 510388

Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:52

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 12:52
It is very easy to miss some posts lately as there has been quite a lot. Anyone would think that everyone is going somewhere :)

Kev

FollowupID: 510389

Reply By: Member - Karl - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 15:33

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 15:33
I am guilty of this - I tried it a few years back and made a complete mess of it :-(((

I went to a reckers and bought a replacement one from them - it worked okay, if not better than the ones still in the old cruiser.

I think (and I stand to be corrected) that most seatbelts for Australian made cars are made by one company, I think it was by Borg - Warner in Albury.

Karl
AnswerID: 249472

Reply By: rolande- Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:21

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:21
G'Day Bushfix,

If they are a few years old and have built up with grime, they may just need a clean.

A pressure washer is ideal, the ones at the commercial car wash seem to be powerful enough, yet cause no damage.

I extended all my belts fully , pulled them around and then closed the door, leaving the belt outside the vehicle.

A quick pressure wash with soap and then rinse, leave to dry and now the belts look and work like new.

Rolande
AnswerID: 249521

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:39

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:39
thanks Rolande,

reckon i will try some air and a light tap to see if it is just dirt. don't think the inertia reel is stuffed because it is not happening all the time, could just be compromised.

cheers.
FollowupID: 510510

Reply By: AK - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:30

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:30
Bushfix
Some Prado rear seat belt have a special feature where once they are fully extended you can't then retract them a little bit then extend again like a normal seatbelt( hope that makes sense ). you need to fully retract them so they can re set themselves this is apparently a safety feature for child restrants. I hope this is your problem as a rear seat belt for a 2001 Prado is $500 + $90 fitting.
AnswerID: 249526

Follow Up By: Member - bushfix - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:05

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:05
now that I think about it, is is the belt that was most used for a capsule/booster seat, so it has been used differently to all the other belts, and it is the only one exhibiting this behaviour. Fully retracting it is always possible but attempts to extend it to the necessary length (or sometimes at all) is the "sticking point."

thanks for your post mate.
FollowupID: 510522

Follow Up By: AK - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:10

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:10
Check your car manual it explains it better, my 3 year old activates it all the time and it is a pain in the you know what.
FollowupID: 510523