New toyota v8
Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:05
Eric from Cape York Connections
A mate just took delivery of his new v8 Toyota very nice unit so far is very impressed and cant believe the power.
What he likes about it it looks just like his old 60 series ya dont get any better than that.
Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:20
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:20
Don't they look like the 60 front end!
The local ARB store has two of the new 78 replacement and the wagon variety there at the moment. I parked my 2006 model 78 series next to one of the newies.
From the rear, identical. On the sides they change from the doors forward. Front view they are obviously totally different except for the windscreen.
The guy I spoke to felt the V8 was a little peaky for his liking. His opinion was my TD6 had more bottom end. But hey, that's just his opinion.
The vehicles he has are owned by Toyota. He offered me a drive but the phone rang and I had to nick off too work. Might drop back in tomorrow and take him up on the offer.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:57
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:57
My mate was very impressed with the power there is a very steep and long
hill near us in 5th gear and 110 k per hour with power to spare.His old 60 3rd gear and struggling.
We are taking for a 4wd on Sunday
Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:25
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:25
In the real world (commercial & industrial users incl. ambulances) the comments have been
well under 'anticipated' performance and high fuel consumption...
But as a private buyer who's spent 40 or 50K ?? I think you would have to convince yourself that all is good !!!
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:32
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:32
Just a clarification question Signman, are you saying the commercial users expected the new V8 to perform better than it does and use more fuel than it does?
Or some other variation?
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:55
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:55
Hi Geoff
General comments have been 'under- whelming' performance- considering the hype and specs. Yes, get up and go
well under expectations.
And they can't come near the claimed fuel consumption (11.9l/100k) with one contractor getting closer to 20l/100k- and that had done near 22000km.
Granted this has only been with 6 (different) vehicle/drivers and cannot be considered a general result.
Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:59
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:59
My mate is on his 3rd
tank and his records are 10.5 l/100 to date.
His and my old 60 lucky to get 12.5 l/ 100
Follow Up By: Macca_GU - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 16:17
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 16:17
What about the issue of them being a basic design, less electronics, no abs, no airbags. mainly for the rural, mining & agricultural sector. Wouldn't they need to have all the safety gear because OH&S issues ??
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 16:31
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 16:31
What issue, basic design is a positive feature.
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: CMB - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:09
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:09
Just to clarify, I am a mining contractor that works for BMA (BHP / Mitsubishi) and their policy states that their company will not purchase any vehicle that does not have at least one airbag. If there is a vehicle out there that has 2 then that vehicle has to be purchased. This goes for contractors that wish to drive on BMA soil. Vehicle accidents are BMA's biggest problem, thus the airbag requirement. This takes effect from 1-7-07. There are many a Nissan running about the place.
Chris.
Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 07:56
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 07:56
Macca thats what he likes not to much crap like mirrors that remember your name.
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:31
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:31
Why are people saying it looks like a 60 series, a 60 looks more along the lines of an 80/100 ,
The 70 series looks like a 75/79 troop carrier without the high roof line, Dash layout is same , the frontal area looks nothing like a 60 series ,
But be buggered I'd love to have one ....that's a 70 series Workmate i mean
Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 15:01
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 15:01
I dont know what it is they just do.
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 16:02
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 16:02
It's the "hip" contour where the small side indicator is that looks like the same contour on a 60.
If people are underwhelmed with the power I don't think they would be happy with a Saturn booster in the back.
Mine is very impressive and I'm getting 24mpg (sorry, I prefer the old lingo, must be one of those baby boomers the world would be better off without) which is, I think, about 11 point something l/100 k's.
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 16:07
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 16:07
Just in case anyone wants an easy conversion:
km per litre multiplied by 2.83 gives mpg.
litres per 100k's divided INTO 283 gives mpg.
Easy peazy lemon squeezy.
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 16:12
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 16:12
My 78 Series TD is averaging 24mpg or 11.6 l/100 over the last 25,000
miles or 40,400k's.
I have a spreadsheet that does the whole thing for me!
| Geoff,
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 16:57
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 16:57
maybe the bloke getting 20 something litres per 100 has the handbrake on, or doesnt realize it is a 5 speed!
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:17
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:17
Gone Bush
Mate I got a hip Contour, gives me a bit of trouble first thing in the morning until I warm up
If I was just a few years younger I would not hesitate trading in but not now, I own what I got ,
Reply By: Member - The Crow (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 17:19
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 17:19
I just want
mine I ordered it in 1st week of April told del would be 28th May still waiting. No one from Toyota can tell me know what is going on.
| 200 Series V8 Diesel
Thanks for the Rest Flying West and Flying Very Low along the track not coming back. The CrowLifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:08
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:08
Crow, i going through
Dalby 6/8 weeks ago the yota dealer there had his yard full with them.I fairly sure it was
Dalby. Forgive me if i am wrong though.:)
Follow Up By: Harry - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:29
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:29
I can tell you exactly what's happening.
Toyota have told the dealers there is a world wide shortage of diesel motors, so they've taken your order knowing this dilemma back in March and now there is an extra 2 months waiting. Don't blame your dealer as they didn't know it was happening.
Do you reckon I'm not bleep off, but I'm still going to get it. What else is there to match a Troopy. It's only the petrol heads who complain about the performance, it's the torque I'm after and it has that with a bit more to spare.
Follow Up By: Member - The Crow (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:33
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:33
Yer I will just have to wait and dream, I am with you. I want it because I believe that it will be a awesome tow vehicle for our 21'van.
| 200 Series V8 Diesel
Thanks for the Rest Flying West and Flying Very Low along the track not coming back. The CrowLifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 07:59
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 07:59
Dags ordered his as long as color didn't matter it would take 2 weeks and it did.
Follow Up By: Member - The Crow (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 16:08
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 16:08
I wanted a white one with diff locks thinking that I would get it quicker.
| 200 Series V8 Diesel
Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:07
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:07
Well, I only bought mine so that I could buy a Doug's Tub.
Love that tub !
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:45
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:45
Agreed :-) they make the troopy the icon that it is.
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 21:07
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 21:07
Thats good to hear it fits..
so when we upgrade in 6 -8 years time it will fit... LOL
Follow Up By: Harry - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 21:58
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 21:58
G'day Big John,
Glad I went home early from the meet last night, the
weather turned bleak soon after, you would've driven home in crappy
weather mate.
So don't ask me at the general meet "how's the new truck goin" I'll dong ya 1 if you do. :>(((
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 00:16
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 00:16
So hows the new truck going?
if you need some photos of how to install those rivnut things I have a few i can let you have, some old bloke sent me a few sometime back :-)