What do you troopy owners think
Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 14:53
Member - Crazy Dog (QLD)
To all you troopy owners of vintage about early 90's tell me what you think are their good and bad points from servicing to towing etc.
What would one expect to pay for a reasonable vehicle in reasonable condition ....
Look forward to your comments.
Grrr!!!
Reply By: Redback - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 15:02
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 15:02
Your assuming they can think, what with all that road noise ringing in their ears;-))
Follow Up By: ross - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 23:11
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 23:11
If its got road noise its from the tyres or a crook diff/gearbox/tailhaft.
Ive got a 73 and a 75 series and they are both quiet with A/T.
An empty troopy or any van like body will get "wagon boom" .
You can get rid of it by putting a large TV cardbord box in the middle that folds up when you want to load it up.
Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 15:04
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 15:04
Servicing?? Do ya gotta service them??
Towing- no probs. Towed a double horse float with 2 cows back from Yerranderie last Sunday. Roads were sh#t.
Follow Up By: Redback - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 15:09
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 15:09
You towed the horse float with 2 cows, that would of been a slow trip!!
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:03
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:03
You are suppose to use Cow floats for Cows, Horse floats are for Horses,
Reply By: Rod W - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 15:15
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 15:15
I have a 93 model 4.5lt petrol. One glitch with having the 4.5lt there was no place under the bonet to place a second battery satisfactorily without having to move things around. It would have also meant everytime I wanted to change the oil filter the second battery would have to come out. I placed the second battery x 2 in front of the rear lefthand side wheel arch under flaps hinged to the full length drawer system.
Bad points... I haven't found any.
Follow Up By: Member - Troopytrek - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:42
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:42
G'Day Rod , We have a 1995 4.5 Rv . Have a look at the ARB dual battery carrier. We have had this set up in two troopys works a treat. If you don't want to spend the amount of money they want for the full set up you can buy the carrier and use a different solenoid and make the cables yourself. Cheers Troopytrek
Follow Up By: TroopyTracker - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 12:31
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 12:31
I too have 93 model 4.5 RV,
Three petrol troopy owners in one place is unheard of!
I have the ARB dual battery tray and as Rod has said, everytime I do an oil change, I have to remove the second battery (so also all cables connected to it), I have to take out the bolts that hold the power steering reservoir so it can move aside while I pull out the oil filter.....I dream of an easy to access oil filter. The same motor in 100/80 series takes about 2 mins to get at the filter. I've rung ARB and asked what am I doing wrong. They made out as if its to old a model to warrant their attention and had no answer and no help was offered....I think I paid full price for their kit for my "old model", which BTW was still coming out in the ute until a year or so ago.
SOOOO, troopytrek do you have the secret to oil filter removal in less than 30mins!?
Same story for the petrol filter, 5mins on a 100 series with 4.5, several hours last time trying to get the thread to not mash refitting the bloody thing underneath with my wrist twisted in a very uncomfortable position.
I still love it and it has served us
well.
Matt
Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 16:10
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 16:10
This ones a 2000 model on E Bay in
Cairns
Site Link
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 16:25
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 16:25
Hi Crazy,
My first one was a little older than 2000 but similar.
You're looking at leaf springs on each corner so bank on resetting
the springs, new bushes and shockies.
Mine had the venerable 2H diesel, never the first to arrive but always arrived. Around that era you'd get a 1HZ, goes better than the 2H.
Towing, no problem at all. I think in that era all the Landcruiser range had the same manual gearbox so none of the normally aspirated diesel gearbox problems from later models.
Rust killed my old troopy, around the roof line just above the gutter and in the firewall area.
No major problems beyond normal servicing.
It should have a transmission mounted handbrake. I always found them like testing matches. You'd spend hours getting them just right, test them once and they'd be buggered again.
Such noteable changes as the radio aerial in the left guard in the oldies, went to the right guard when the 1HZ and
snorkel came out of the factory.
That era has the sub
tank gauge and changeover switch in a binnacle on top of the dash centre.
Just make sure you don't get an ex-miner. Far too much pre-installed rust.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: tvl - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 17:57
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 17:57
bought 2 years ago,91 mdl 1hz diesel,winch.bullbar,
snorkel,11seater
cd player,tow bar,all around a bloody good veh 13 grand.....
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:10
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:10
Mine is a 94 model,Ex Telstra, based in
Cairns, cost $22,500 from East Coast Com'
Beaudesert Road, Acacia Ridge in 2001 it had 106,000Ks , now has 702,457Ks, Gearbox rebuild 18 months ago, Transfer Case 6 weeks ago, Engine untouched, Runs like a dream still...touch wood.
Doug
Follow Up By: bobby 6 - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:28
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:28
hey doug is that right,700,000klms,
wow not bad hey
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:39
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:39
Yep thats correct, change oil each 10,000Ks and it might use 1 ltr
Follow Up By: tvl - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:01
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:01
doug ,what are those air vent things at the back of the troopys do??
Are they for air or something</???
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:07
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:07
tvl
The vents, never give them a second thought, they all got them , must be for through flow ventilation i guess,
Follow Up By: V8 Troopie - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 23:53
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 23:53
I think the vents let you close the doors without having to slam them too much. My therory, anyway.
Klaus
Reply By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:25
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:25
Go on, just do it. Ya know ya want to:-)
Mine's a '93 1HZZZZ. Radio aerial on left guard.
Snorkel on right guard.
Handbrake is by means of a small drum inside the rear discs. Still not much chop though.
Troopies are probably not the best commuter car around the city.
But once you get your head around the fact that you are not driving a sports car, they are fine. Beyond the city limits, they really come into their own.
I'm more than happy with
mine.
Biggest PITA?. Leaf spring front end. The 79s with coils have to be better.
5000km oil changes. If ya do a few k's each week, the 5000 seems to come up pretty quick. It's not too bad, it gives me chance to give the old girl a good going over while I've got the overalls on.
Oh and hills. The old 1HZZZZ could use a few more kw's when it comes to hilly terrain.
But overall they are a bloody good truck.
The Jeep guys talk about 'A Jeep Thing'. I reckon Troopy owners would claim a similar 'thing'.
Ya get a kinda warm fuzzy feeling when you're out in the bush, and you just know your Troopy will keep you out of trouble, and take it all in it's stride.
But perhaps I'm just biased:-)
Glenn
Follow Up By: tvl - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:41
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:41
But perhaps I'm just biased:-)
your not biased mate,,your right!!!
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:16
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:16
Yep, spot on.
I have have 3 now on my 4th, great trucks. (sorry Doug T :-) I couldn't resist)
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 22:05
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 22:05
I can't find any bias, all facts in my world!
I'm on my second, the first one just went and went until the bug got too it!
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: ross - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 23:34
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 23:34
Glenn that"Jeep thing" is something Jeep owners get when they are up on Brokeback Mountain;)
Reply By: Tim Owen - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:05
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:05
I have 1992 1HZ Poptop camper. Aerial on left,
snorkel on right. Paid $19k with 280,000km on odo. Very much on the expensive side for a vehicel with that kms and vintage, but good kit-out, private (not ex britz etc), lots of useful extras, and some not so useful (a hot shower system that will never get used, AM radio). I hope she has plenty of life in her, cause we hit the road on the weekend for 3 months! Good luck with the shopping.
Reply By: gilghana - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 22:01
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 22:01
Crazy Dog,
I live and work in the forests of West Africa, and have had two work utes (75s) so basically the same as a troopy (they were both 96/97 age vehicles). As they aged they got put onto carrying around mechanics to forest stations to repair CAT equipment - carrying welders, gas, big tool boxes etc... And driven by absolute crazies who REALLY don't give a toss about the vehicles. I reckon both utes have done
well over a million kms - both have had engine rebuilds and g/box done etc. They have been crashed, bent, panel beaten - one even got a Nissan rear axle for a while before we could source a used yota one! I was under one of them this morning, just to have a look - still going strong with
home made spring hangers etc etc. Considering the abuse these vehicles have taken it is incredible but they still just keep on going. I compared one to a one year old Nissan "Hardbody" i.e. simplified Navara built in S. Africa and was shocked by how the Nissan is fairing with similar use. We have tried 'em all - Nissans, L/Rover, Mitsu and frankly nothing comes close. I was so impressed I finally got rid of my Defender and bought one of the last of the '78 Troopys available here. Not surprisingly the Toyota 75/78/79 is considered the king of Africa as there is literally no vehicle that can match their durability... All totally biased, but true!!!
Gil
Reply By: ross - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 23:21
Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 23:21
I have a 95 ute which has identical mechanicals and wheelbase. Easy to service yourself,big ,reliable and not too uncomfortable with the right
suspension set up.
These dont really have any vices that I can think of ,after all it ran for 8 years with vitually no changes to anything except some options became standard.
The troopy suffers from rust in the roof and wheel arches if it hasnt been looked after.
Prices are dropping but I would expect to pay $15K for something reasonable with 200000+ and they usually need another few $1000 to get them up to scratch.
Most owners sell them when all the expensive stuff like front axle service,clutch and brakes need doing.
A gearbox and t/case rebuild will set you back $3000 minmum
Reply By: Bware (Tweed Valley) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 00:25
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 00:25
They are trucks to drive; this factor you will either love or hate. Most people want a 4wd that handles like a sports car as much as possible; a different kind of person drives a Troopy. Take a serious drive in one.
Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 01:56
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 01:56
Do I get the prize for the oldest Troopy ???
Can't kill it by any known means - just keeps going....
Follow Up By: Member - Crazy Dog (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 13:32
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 13:32
A BIG thanx to everyone for the time they have spent answering my question. Loox like a troopy then..
Yeeehhhh!!!
Grrr!!!