DYNO printout for GU3 4.2 iTD

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 17:05
ThreadID: 47167 Views:3099 Replies:4 FollowUps:25
Does anyone have a dyno printout for 4.2 GU3 for before and after tune/exhaust installation etc.
Mine is getting done next week i would like to know what sort of results to expect.
Thanks in advance folks!
Wayne-o

Reply By: Skippy In The GU - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:57

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:57
Hi Wayne, are you getting a 2.5 or 3 " exhaust system, what else is being done to the Turbo/Injectors
AnswerID: 249509

Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:20

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:20
already has BD 3" dump pipe and exhaust, just get the fuel adjusted and pump tuned. atm the pump is set conservitavely from factory, so will hope to get a lil more fuel.
FollowupID: 510526

Follow Up By: Skippy In The GU - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:52

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:52
I've got the 2.5' system in mine , I'm looking at getting my injectors done or what ever they do to the pump.
I'll be interested to see how much better it is and how much more fuel you burn.

last weekend on a trip to Mt Gambier from Adelaide I got 7.78 kms per litre.

We drove less than 105kph most of the time.
FollowupID: 510534

Reply By: Doggy Tease - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:34

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:34
Gday Wayne,go have a look at: Patrol4x4.com
look in the forum section for the GU and then search for the Dyno Results thread.
Keep looking as our GUIV 4.2tdi is currently at United Fuel Injection getting the turbo/exhaust upgrade.

meow.

rick.
AnswerID: 249527

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:00

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:00
there was a dyno thread here few mths ago with about a dozen dyno sheets posted.. .few with 198+kw at wheels too :)
AnswerID: 249536

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:01

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:01
Hi Wayne,

If you are having trouble finding one, drop me an MM and I will dig up the one I have from a standard GU 4 but the modified one is for a very modified one not just the exhaust upgrade. The one in my rig profile is of my GU1 but it has the intercooler fitted with a bit of other gear done to it as well so it is probably not what to expect from just the exhaust upgrade either.

Don't forget to get the dump pipe done at the same time or it is hardly worth the effort in my opinion.

Regards, Trevor.
AnswerID: 249537

Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:27

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:27
Saw the chart, plenty of gogo.
So ive done the exhaust with the BD 3" system, getting the fuel turned up and tuned, so what do i do next?
Is it really worth the $2500 to upgrade the turbo????
FollowupID: 510528

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 21:35

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 21:35
Gday again Wayne,who the hell is charging ya $2,500 for the turbo upgrade ????????
Mine is getting the full 3 inch system, turbo upgrade and full tune for that.

meow.

rick.
FollowupID: 510551

Follow Up By: Wayne-o (Pilbara WA) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 22:33

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 22:33
Maybe that was for the full whack...any idea how much just for the turbo upgrade mate??
FollowupID: 510566

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 17:28

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 17:28
Hi Wayne,

I agree with Rick in that it won't cost $2500 for a turbo upgrade alone.
The Nissan one does an admiral job if it is setup right, I have seen one with 150 odd rear wheel HP but it had oodles of torque right down to 1400rpm which may work better for some people. The prob I see if you go for the MTQ worked turbo is you loose the opportunity to gain heaps more low rpm torque. It is still as good or better than factory figures but the factory turbo tuned properly will give you that much more. The upside to the MTQ turbo is you get quite a bit more in the top end, where people are running out of puff at 140kph, I am just getting started. It pulls real hard in 4th right up to 130kph (more if I want), slot it into 5th and it just keeps powering on. My dyno figures show my beast running out to 200kph but I have real trouble getting it over 160kph, it gets to this point pretty quick though.

Ask yourself where you want the biggest gain and you should answer whether to keep the turbo original and get the thing tuned properly or upgrade the turbo then get it tuned properly. MTQ will charge about 1200 bucks for turbo only mods and tune up, this is from memory as it was a fair while I ago I had mine tweaked. Probably only cost about 500 bucks for a good tune from the right bloke. Sorry I don't know of any over your way. Could always come for a drive over here LOL!!!

I preferred the high end HP and compensate the low end with crawler gears and I reckon this is the best of both worlds.

Good luck with whatever you choose to do.
Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 510690

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 18:58

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 18:58
Mmmmmm. turbo is nice...... but I'd rather be BLOWN !!! Hee heeeee...... :=))
FollowupID: 510706

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:56

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 19:56
I don't know it has been that long, I would need to take your word for it.
FollowupID: 510722

Follow Up By: mattche - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 19:45

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 19:45
Wayne-o.

I work for United fuel injection mate and i can tell you that you need to come and talk to us about what you want, we are doing 5-6 of these a week mate, we are modifying the turbine housing ,fitting bigger turbine wheels, replacing dump pipe and fitting a 3" exhaust mate with EXCELLENT results.

Around 15-20% increase across the board.

Matt
FollowupID: 510963

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 19:49

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 19:49
Gday Matt.
You guys just did ours this week. The Gold one that Ken brought in.
Runs bloody nice now, SWMBO loves it.:):):).
Going for a drive this weekendto really try it out.

meow.

rick.
FollowupID: 510966

Follow Up By: mattche - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:00

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:00
Rick

Yeah i know the one, very nice new rig you got there, did you get the pulse injector sorted out under warranty mate.
FollowupID: 510968

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 19:37

Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 19:37
$2500 is for ballbearing turbo upgrade - but is still very cheap if its what they are offering.

And is it worth it??
Well 190kw at the wheels is quite often achieved with low EGT's.. compared to the massive <80kw at wheels standard. but if you go this far, you would go a good intercooler too.
FollowupID: 511343

Follow Up By: mattche - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 19:47

Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 19:47
190Kw from what???????

And do you consider a ball bearing turbo an upgrade????
FollowupID: 511347

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 22:36

Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 22:36
From what: isnt this thread about TD42's?

Ballbearing an upgrade: No, I would consider a hair dryer an upgrade from a standard GU turbo... a BB turbo would without doubt be a backwards step...

Its school holidays isnt it?
FollowupID: 512298

Follow Up By: mattche - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 00:19

Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 00:19
School holidays, im a 38 year old fuel injection/turbo technician trying to make sense of someone saying they can get 190Kw out of a pre combustion chambered TD42T ,when a 1HD-FTE toyota twin cam 16valve,direct injection engine is struggling to make 170 .

Give me a break!!!!!!!!!!!

A well modded STD GU turbo will net you somewhere in the region of 125Kw and 380Nm of torque.

FollowupID: 512313

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 16:45

Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 16:45
Mmmmmm.. Gotta disagree slightly with you mattche, a well modded intercooled, factory turbo GU WILL get in the vicinity of 150kw at the flywheel (dyno shows 155hp at the wheels) and around 460nm at motor (again, dyno shows 830 ftlb at the wheels)
Still a ways off Trucky's figures but I can't comment on those as I haven't seen them where as I have seen the above.
Without intercooler the hp stayed the same but the torque was only 750 at the wheels.
The above figures are the $2500 upgrade which included exhaust on a factory intercooled GU.

Pezza
FollowupID: 512349

Follow Up By: mattche - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 18:53

Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 18:53
Ok good luck with it been doing this too long to get into a no ended argument about it.

We see these cars/engines daily and i have never seen an unopened TD42 with a modded turbo and intercooler go over 400 Nm with reasonable EGT's.

There are a few members on here that have this mod done ,might pay to find out what figures they have on there dyno sheet.

Matt

FollowupID: 512363

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:01

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:01
Pezza..

Look for the last 3-50 threads that people did on this, theres a dozen dyno charts. Here is Andy from Diesel Tec in Lilydale Vic's again 197kw at wheels GQ auto shorty.

he also has a twin turbo 80 series - sequencial turbo ... one small one feeds the bigger one. Nice setup, the car goes like stink from low low rpm and I think he now has this setup on his GQ too.
FollowupID: 512671

Follow Up By: mattche - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 23:53

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 23:53
197 Kw at the wheels ,now that is good going,suppose you are going to try and tell me that is after spending $2500 on a STD TD42 are ya.

Any figure is achievable after spending a heap of money or going to twin setups, what i am trying to point out is some reasonable results after modding the STD turbo on the GU TD42 engine.

Guys ,sheep station racing is not for me but if you want to get upset about power figures go right ahead,we get good results and dont try and inflate power claims.If you think they are soft then so be it but 18 mods we did last month and if that says anything then i think maybe we are doing something right hey.

Matt
FollowupID: 512710

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 14:26

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 14:26
thats the standard $3000 Ballbearing turbo upgrade he does.

So your saying he inflates his power claims? talk about desperate to put others down cause you cant do the same.

Sorry if your place robs people to gain these power outputs, but dont put others down cause your incapable of achieving the same results for same price.

Ahhh thats right, school holidays isnt it... all the kiddies are on dads computer.
FollowupID: 512769

Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 15:54

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 15:54
Hey Trucky,
I haven't seen a lot of this forum lately, been a tad busy, so most likely missed quite a few threads.
Hope you didn't miss understand me, I wasn't having a go at you or implying that your figures were incorrect, I just don't comment on things I haven't seen for myself or know about is all.
Thanks for putting up that chart again, I haven't seen it before, quite interesting, the figures I quoted came from the dyno printout I have here and from talking to Mike Vine up here (that's where this mod is done), his figures are from a factory turbo not the ball bearing one, mind you, for an extra 500 bucks I reckon if I ever went back to diesel I'd go the ballbearing option, this seems to give the same torque at similar revs but quite a bit more hp.
So how long before you have your 3000 bickies saved up :-)))

Pezza
FollowupID: 512779

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 16:46

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 16:46
tis kewl pez.. didnt think I'd seen muchof u recently

how long? Well got rego, insurance on the GU currently waiting coin, and house insurance, and... :( and lookin at a set of 315 claws dude is selling at a great price on rims too :( :( :(
FollowupID: 512792

Follow Up By: mattche - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 19:07

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 19:07
Hey man im not saying that at all, dont take this the wrong way.

I am having trouble seeing how a precombustion chambered engine that is RATED at 114Kw can now make 190Kw at the wheels with a simple turbo/intercooler upgarde.

That is all, i am just trying to put justice to it.

We dont rip people off nor do we claim unreasonable figures,hence my numbers are a lot less than you have qouted here.It is a good upgrade the one that we do and we believe that it is safe and cost effective BUT i still fail to see how they arrive at 190 odd Kw at the wheels with the same SIMPLE upgrade.

If it is not the same upgrade then maybe that is how they get such good figures.

Is it just the Turbine end housing machined with new turbine wheel, timing moved from .55mm prestoke to .74mm and about 1/8 turn of fuel and a 3" exhaust.

By the way not too sure how many SCHOOL kids would know about that.

BTW I am a 38 year old Fuel Injection/Turbo technician.

Happy to hear if we are way behind the eight ball on this mod.
FollowupID: 512820

Follow Up By: Doggy Tease - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 21:21

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 21:21
Gday Matt, SWMBO is dropping in tommorrow to see Steve, look after my Patrol mate.

meow.

rick.
FollowupID: 512846

Follow Up By: mattche - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 21:43

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 21:43
Will do rick, hope your still happy with it mate. :)

Matt
FollowupID: 512857