How good are these T/D Navaras ??

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 18:46
ThreadID: 47174 Views:3004 Replies:7 FollowUps:12
Hi all I don't know jack ..... about these cars but I have been hearing some incredible claims by a new owner of one that it has a towing capability of 3tons and huge Kws claims and it is the fastest 4wd T/D Auto on the market and would be a much better tow car for a van/ load than a V8 or T/D L/C or patrol but my only argument is will it last as long as these 4bs as I remember these words being spoken about the 4cyl 3lt patrols and my mate couldn't wait to get rid of his as it was allot of trouble and as I use to go down the drags when I was a bit younger and the rotor /4cyl turbo crowd use to say the same thing (Yet we were not rebuilding our 6cyl and V8s every 3rd meet like some of them) which is what I was thinking about when it came to outback touring well I just wanted some opinions and no arguments please ! LOL as I want to have a conversation with facts next time I cross paths with this guy ??

Regards J.B.

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:19

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:19
I cannot wait to get rid of my 06 Navara D22.... am an ex motor mechanic and I am having serious doubts as to whether it is going to make the next trip I am about to embark on.
AnswerID: 249520

Follow Up By: Ianw - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:35

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 19:35
Why?
FollowupID: 510507

Follow Up By: warfer69 - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 22:02

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 22:02
I've been sitting on the fence for awhile now regarding Nissan/Toyota and what i see is a hell of a lot of issues on the Nissan side compared to very little of Toyota...

And for you extfilm to not have confidence in your vehicle,especially where you go is no good at all,i feel for you..My advice is get rid of it at first chance and never look back with another manufacturer...

So when i am ready it will be Toyota and i'll look at the new Mazda...I dont want to start any crap here between owners but i can tell you one thing,ive always had Holdens and after this one you'll never see my ass in one again...Their parts failure after 5 years if not before is pathetic..

FollowupID: 510557

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 22:11

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 22:11
Hi Ian,
To be honest I really think it is made too cheaply.
It is a comfortable ride. i'll give it that.
The rear springs have sagged and the biggest load I have put in the back is 500 kgs. It is rated to carry approx 950kg.
I have already had accessory warranty problems and was told to pay extra to have the problem rectified. Wrote a 4 page letter to Nissan and they told me they did not care.......
There are many other things to add to the list but the main one is I bought a new Hilux in 03 and I found any issues Toyota bent over backwards to help me.
Nissan has just said bad luck. I am about to spend $500 on another leaf in the rear spring which I am not happy about as I am about to sell it by the end of the year.
It is on it's 2nd battery and am about to replace another in 2 week at my expense.
As for its 4wd capabilities....... The Hilux has only bottomed out once but the Navara has bottomed out more times than I would like to count on the same tracks. Even went on a trip with 5 other vehicles. 3 Patrols, a Jackaroo and a 4runner, we had to go through the excact same line through wheel ruts and I bottomed out twice. Everyone else got through no worries.
Big Red, the Hilux got straight up first go with 22psi in the tyres. Navara took 14 tries and had to have 10psi in the tyres.
I really think the 1st low gear is to high as I can do a slow walk next to the Hilux, have to almost jog next to the Nav. The Nav almost got away from me going down a hill one day in first low 4wd. I like to accelerate down hills as you have more control, Soon as you put your brakes on you no longer have full control of the vehicle.
I regard my old 83 Subaru in higher regard than this thing.
Ok sorry for the big blurb. Was not going to write this much but there is still more I can tell you. I am sure after this next adventure there will be even more.
do your self a favour and don't get one.
FollowupID: 510562

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 22:29

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 22:29
Forgot to say. the fuel economy is not what is not advertised either. I am getting an average of 520 to 550kms to 70l diesel........ It has done 42000ks now so it should be run in by now. At 33000ks I got 2 tanks that gave me just over 600ks but it is now back to where it was when I bought it.
FollowupID: 510564

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 00:02

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 00:02
extfilm

The subject of this thread is a completely different vehicle. JB is talking of a tow weight of 3000kg which means he is talking about the D40, not the D22. The D22 comes from Asia and the D40 comes from Europe. The D22 is antiquated design.

The D40 uses Pathfinder components. The Pathfinder has proven itself to be a good tug. A friend of mine has had a 3L diesel Patrol, a petrol/gas Patrol and now a Pathfinder. He tows large vans, the Pathfinder tows his vans much better than the 3L but not quite as good as the petrol model. I reckon the Navara would equal the Pathfinder.

FollowupID: 510583

Follow Up By: Stu-k - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 06:47

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 06:47
Does that mean the towbars rip off?
FollowupID: 510589

Follow Up By: Ianw - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 18:46

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 18:46
The towing capacity of the D22 is 3000 kgs. (printed on the Nissan sticker quoting the towing limits ) Mine has done 121000 ks, (02 model) gets 10lt/100 ks (easy 700ks per tank), get 14lt/100ks towing light van, replaced original battery last year, still got original tyres. Perhaps you should sell yours and buy a good 2002 model (made in Japan not India!) Mine is an excellent vehicle.
FollowupID: 510703

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 00:46

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 00:46
Thanks Ian,
Yes I am selling mine....... As it cannot be trusted..... Am going back to toyota and I should have sold the hilux 12 months ago but I have it in the backyard as a backup Ute. I know it won't let me down. as at the moment I am getting jobs that are worth 7g for 3 days work........ Ok when the nav lets me down it takes 20 mins to transfer all the tools but hey my blokes are constantly 20 mins late. (yes they do get docked for it)

It is a sad state of affairs when you need to have a back up ute just in case the new one can not do the job??????? Really I can not afford to have a ute worth 18 000 doing nothing but if I am going to lose 7000 for 3 days work then it is worth having the hilux sitting there,

I am so looking forward to breaking down out in the middle of nowhere and trying to utalise the Australia wide breakdown service that nissan offer. As long as I can get a message to them????? Yeah right???? stay tuned.
FollowupID: 510794

Follow Up By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 01:35

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 01:35
"Still got original tyres???????? "
This is the 3rd set of tyres on this piece of.......
its only done 42000....... The lux has done 113 000 and is on its 2nd set (original + one other which are still as new)........... I have been told boats are a money pit but now I know that nissans are worse....... If anybody tells me they are looking at buying a Nissan I will be telling them to buy a boat instead.......
I have not done anything differant from the nissan to the hilux except the hilux has been to WA and back via the gunbarrel and simspon.
The Nav has been on very tame roads compared to the Lux...........
FollowupID: 510800

Reply By: Al Pal - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:52

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:52
I have the new Pathfinder which is the same as the Navaras,and pulling power and economy is excellent, especially with our 21 foot caravan on.
AnswerID: 249554

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 07:43

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 07:43
Hi all so can someone tell me the specks as I was wondering if he had the right info as this little duel cab ute can pull as much as a large 4B IE. L/C/Patrol ?? and the power claims!! and will the little 4CYL go pop in a short time hey my BIL has a new pathfinder T/D and it would rip the door handles off my L/C but it didnt like towing a heavy load so I was just scrating my head about the 3 tonn claim ??

P.S Remember we are all mates here !!!

Regards J.B.
FollowupID: 510597

Reply By: snow - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 09:48

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 09:48
Actually the D22 does has a tow capacity of 3 t. That said however I do not think I would like to be dragging 3t behind my D22. Typically tow 1-1.5 t behind mine without issue (as you would expect).

I will add though that while I agree that Nissan has P poor after sales service (even that is an understatement).

That said, I have had my D22 for some 18 months and clocked up some 45000km in that time with odometre now nudging 90K km without any great hassle. I have a long range tank and get consistent returns of 10 km per litre (and I do not baby it either).

In my opinion the torsion bars are an ordinary idea and those found on the D22 are of poor quality...in fact that could probably be said of the entire suspension package. Comments regarding build quality may be valid to some degree but am fairly happy with mine at this stage.

A fella I know has just purchased the new D40 model with the intention of pulling a fifth wheel with it...didn't sound like a great idea to me but the vehicle was one of the vehicles recommended by the fifth wheel mob.
AnswerID: 249622

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 16:54

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 16:54
It featured in 4wd monthlys latest issue in the big ute test.
While you would never believe all they write they were very much less than i,mpressed both in its ability to survive offroading (compared to others in its class) and towing - that said they never towed anything
AnswerID: 249682

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 20:30

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 20:30
Just finished watching the dvd 10 mins ago. At the end of it the Navara was the worst of the lot. Ripped the oil drain plug and the thread included from the transfer case (was caused by a rock coming up and hitting it clean off) and had a huge dent in the oil sump. WHY ?? no not cause they flogged (well they did go over things faster then I would have) the bleep ter out of them but there is no standard steel or plastic guards protecting them nothing at all so totally open to the elements. Now Nissan must be saving some $$$ cause I know for sure the earlier 90 models had huge steel plates under all the main gear. It was actually Mitsubishi Triton that come out in front. They also commented on dash board rattles and squeaks over the trip from the navara and also power might be on paper but didnt feel like whilst they were driving it. Dont shoot me just repeating what I watched. They did run all the same tyres on all the vehicles to try and equal it out as far as handling etc. Obviously Member - Davoe (Nullagine) must have watched it as the DVD came with the magazine please correct me Davoe if I have given the wrong info. Regards Steve M
AnswerID: 249720

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 20:37

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 20:37
Sorry Mazda I meant to say came out in front of them all not the mitsi. Had Misti in my head was just looking at my neighbours new company car mitsi diesel dual cab must say bloody nice although the rear doors look a bit odd shape. Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 510745

Reply By: Brew34.5(SA) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 20:36

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 20:36
That's the longest sentence i have ever read :))
AnswerID: 249721

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 07:45

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 07:45
I try and use spell check Even though it wont help this prob because when I'm not on a roll and cant wait to click SUBMIT FOLLOW UP LOL !!

Hi Stephen whens this meeting at the peach tree ..and have ya seen the neighbours car yet ??

Regards J.B.
FollowupID: 510808

Reply By: montana - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 09:38

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 09:38
well looks like every body has there opinion on the d40 without driving or owning one.
yes i own one 2.5 auto i can pull a float with 2 big (16hh+)horse easy.i think once you got to aroung 2.6 tonne constantly it could get a bit much ,i have 30000km on it in 9 months with no problems on or off road.its the same as any 4x4 knowing the limits .i find it ammusing that a magazine said its the best thing around until another maker start spending the advertising dollar with them.i keep saying its personal preference and after the years i have spent working on toyotas i dont want to own one,they have enough problems that the average joe in the street doesnt hear about.there is a huge difference between a d22 and a 40.
AnswerID: 249805