GQ Fusible Link

Submitted: Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:48
ThreadID: 47181 Views:4218 Replies:7 FollowUps:18
Last time I had no ignition I was stopped on a dune in the Gibson Desert. After fiddling around for a few minutes we found that if we bent the fusible linkage downwards the dash lights came on. So we cable-tied it and I drove around for the next 9 months before replacing the fusible link(second hand from the wreckers).

Tonight after leaving a function, the same thing happens. This time in the dark. Fiddle with the fusible link and lots of clicking noises heard. Hold fusible link down and ignition lights come on. So cable tie it and away we go.

Surely this can't be a common fault with the fusible link?

If this is a common fault, is there any way one can bypass it?
OR
Improve on it by making one's own?

A new fusible link costs $75 from Nissan plus postage
A used one costs about $15 from the wreckers plus postage

Any ideas welcomed.

Reply By: Member - Axle - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:55

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:55
Cheapest way out!, stock up on cable ties...lol.

AnswerID: 249555

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 21:08

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 21:08
Ahhhh....yer are a funny bugger...:-))))))

Yep got plenty cable ties and 100mph tape

FollowupID: 510537

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:56

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:56
Willem Hi..

If it's a problem, remove the standard Nissan one and get a Auto Electy or yourself replace it with a none genuine one you can buy the at auto centres or at the auto elecky..

Hope this helps..

Cheers Richard
AnswerID: 249556

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 21:09

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 21:09
Thanks Richard.

Will be in the Big Smoke on Sunday so will have a look.

FollowupID: 510539

Reply By: Skippy In The GU - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:57

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 20:57
Sounds like the wire going to the fuseible link is broken, or just a bad connection
AnswerID: 249557

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 21:10

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 21:10
It will have to wait till the morning. The last one broke inside the link.

FollowupID: 510540

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 21:20

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 21:20
Willem,
Skippy is almost on the money mate.
All the corrugations you've done has caused a wire to either come loose or break, either way, its making contact and blowing your fuse. Id guess by ur description that its very close to the connectors as every time u strap it down...its allowing the wire to stay in contact. Its definately NOT a common thing on the GQ's mate. I dont have to tell you they are one very tuff truck.

Oh and im fine ty for asking...lol
FollowupID: 510545

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 21:37

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 21:37
Angelo...... Son....where ya bin???

Good to hear you are still around.

Yeah maybe you are right. Never thought of those corrugations and bumps across the spinifex.

I'm fine 2 ty....lol
FollowupID: 510552

Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 21:50

Wednesday, Jun 27, 2007 at 21:50
Mate, im still hangin in there.
My back is on the mend and im starting to build my confidence again. My GQ is doin fine too, shes a great car, i just love it to death. Celebrated its 250,000 kms birthday last week, she got some nice gifts too....lol.

I'm of to Italy for a month soon, want to go check out where my family grew up and sus out the mafia connections they had, if I survive the intrusion, ill be back to start my 4wding again. Oh and if all goes to plan....ill be driving a Ferrari F40 for a day, thats if my uncle believes its really me. After all, he hasn't seen me for 40 years.

You take care my friend. Stay safe and hopefully we shall catch up one day.

Ange
FollowupID: 510554

Follow Up By: Tony - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 06:53

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 06:53
G'day Angelo, long time since Bendethra aye. We are of on a 4month trip to WA in a couple of weeks. Stay safe on your trip to wog land ha.

Tony.
FollowupID: 510590

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 09:11

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 09:11
Willem,
Had a similar problem on an old Troopie. The fusible links hang off the battery pos terminal, and the corrugated roads rattled them to pieces. So I cable tied the lower end of the links to the starter pos cable, so the links were not being pulled, and had no tension on them. Its the same arrangement with the 79series.

Pretty much everything in Adelaide is closed Sunday :-(( If you need an Adelaidian to duck into Main North Nissan and buy a set, then send me an email. You could either pick them up from Flinders Park on Sunday or I'll bring them to Warraweena.

phil
AnswerID: 249615

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 10:55

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 10:55
Thanks Phil

I am picking my mate George up at the airport on Sunday. So rang him last night and he will source one out of Darwin.

FollowupID: 510633

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 11:58

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 11:58
No worries
phil
FollowupID: 510640

Reply By: MintabiePete (NSW) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 09:32

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 09:32
I have had that problem on Toyota fusuble links a couple of times , genuine and non genuine and have found that if I soldered where they are crimped I have no problems :)
AnswerID: 249619

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 10:56

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 10:56
Thanks Pete

Will see what I can do.

FollowupID: 510634

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 16:51

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 16:51
yep common misconception that it is only the new fandangled vehicles that can get electrical problems and stop them dead. I have seen a few cruisers (one I was driving) killed instantly with broken fuel pump solonoid wires.
Sure you can fix them................. If you know where to look and have the gear. For many the fuseable link in the desert would be major drama
AnswerID: 249681

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 18:24

Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 18:24
Dead right Davoe. Years ago, I had a problem with a 47series Troopie out the back of nowhere - occasionally it wouldn't start. So I drove it from Innamincka to Adl without turning off the motor. Took a couple of auto electricians back home to find the intermittent fault was a fusible link that was hanging by a thread. I carry fusible links as spares these days.

phil
FollowupID: 510702

Reply By: kiwicol - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 19:49

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 19:49
Spend some of that money you have saved by not drinking and go to a lecy and get a new one put in. From the Bigot ( post46921 ). Col
AnswerID: 249909

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:15

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:15
Who said anything about not drinking?
FollowupID: 510975

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 21:36

Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 21:36
AHHHHH THE LEOPARD HAS CHANGED ITS SPOTS, SO YOU ENJOY ONE DRINK WHICH TAKES YOU TO OBLIVION, DONT GET CAUGHT WITH THAT BOTTLE OF RED DRIVING THROUGH A DRY AREA IN QLD,IM SURE YOU WOULD HATE TO BE CALLED A BIGGOT BECAUSE YOU COULDNT UNDERSTAND THE WRITTEN LANGUGE THAT WAS PUT IN FRONT OF YOU, THE SIGNS ON THE SIDE OF THE ROAD ARE BIG ENOUGH FOR THE POOREST OF READERS TO UNDERSTAND. THE BIGGOT. COL!!!!
FollowupID: 511370

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 08:32

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 08:32
Congratulations

You have gone to the Top of my IDIOT LIST

Oh yes, and Bigot only has on G

FollowupID: 511421

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 17:48

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 17:48
Hi William, i now feel very honoured to be on two of your name calling lists. Once again you have shown a very poor understanding of the written language posted by travellers the same as yourself that post an opionion, which you dont agree with, so then turn to name calling, ( very immature through my eyes ). You called me a Bigot without any understanding about what my beliefs, and what i have seen and witnessed with the natives of our great country. I live on the tablelands of North QLD and will starting my travells in two weeks heading in your direction, i am in a 92 champaine colured patrol with a trackshack camper in tow hopefully we cross paths and can sit at the fire and have a coldy. One last comment if you whish to bag some one about their spelling, make sure your back yard is clean as the last time i looked ONE has an E after the N. Happy camping Col
FollowupID: 511501

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 18:21

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 18:21
I have been told I am immature......maybe, when I grow up one day, I will come up to your measure.

Well mate, you just came in on the Bigot post by accident as I was winding Sandman up. Bigot isn't so bad after all, if you look up the meaning of it.

Maybe I was being a tad harsh but it was only a comment on what you purported to stand for.

I have been called worse things on this forum.

ONE spelt ON is a typo. Bigot spelt Biggot twice is a spelling mistake as is champaine. Colured is a typo. You could always use spellcheck at the bottom of the page.

Anyway, you carry on with this diatribe by YELLING at me and so I continue with the windup.

I actually have three private lists of people whom I categorise in order of merit
1.The R Soul list
2.The Richard Cranium List
3.The Ordinary Idiot List

So you have a way to go....lol

Nevertheless, you are welcome to drop me a note through my website below if you pass by this way, and we can have a beer together. Maybe then you could redeem yourself.....lol

FollowupID: 511505

Follow Up By: kiwicol - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 19:47

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 19:47
Hi William,yes i have an understanding of bigot and thats why i cant understand why Sandmans and my opion on the subject was so hammered by your narrow minded veiw, both Sandman and myself had the same veiw that we felt thtat tourists to the north should be policed a bit more liberally than our natives as the only problem that tourists pose in the Nth are ( fom a truckies point of veiw ) road blocks that have no consideration for working people on the road. I have worked with the locals in some of the harshest places in Oz ie great sandy, and the tanami deserts. I helped open up the road from Rabbit Flat to Balgo mission 25 yrs ago before the mines moved in. If you look on your map you will see sysmic lines in the desert, and if you can remember a couple of Melbourne teenagers got lost from a vast station in WA by driving into the desert in a 720 nissan with no front shaft, we found them not a nice sight. So what i am saying to you is dont judge people because they enjoy sitting at a fire enjoying a cold beer having a chat and happy they are away from the hassels of city life. The QLD Govt has got it right about boose restrictions for the locals, but as for travelling from a to c and not being able to take drinks through b this has to be adressed, as its detromental for a lot of communitties that depend on tourists ,fisherman. Col
FollowupID: 511533

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:07

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:07
Hi Col

I am afraid it is your view which is narrowminded.

All I implied was that it was a sad day when alcohol ruled your lives that much.

Where you have been and what you have done is of no consequence to the argument or viewpoint.

The viewpoint of the effects alcohol bans has on this or that industry, is outweighed by terrible curse which has befallen the indigenes in alcohol abuse.

Overall the 'authorities' come up with a plan of management which need to be adhered to and if you cannot do thet then it is a sad day.....thats all I said.

We can go on arguing about this for ever, serving little purpose, but as this is an open forum, I do have a right to express my opinion if I so wish. Sometimes I do and sometimes I don't

BTW my name is Willem and not William.

FollowupID: 511537