Submitted: Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 09:49
Member - BUNDY BOY (WA)
Morning all ........
well my Q is ...my sway bar bushes...(front only)...have given up ...been bad for a while so not much affect i would think .....now with all the long tar topped driving i do ......do i spend the over priced ..value and replace them ...or just remove the bar and be done with it....?????...will there be much difference ???????
Cheers Bundy
Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 10:18
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 10:18
I found a marked diffrence with sway bars removed.
They are there for a purpose. Get new rubbers...lol
Reply By: Matt(WA) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 10:26
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 10:26
Sorry to hijack, you comming to collie?
Matt
ps did you have you swaybar in in that rig photo?
Reply By: Robnicko - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 11:05
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 11:05
sway bar rubbers are only about $20 for the whole lot and are easily replaced. Take your sway bar off and you may as
well cancel your insurance policy!
Rob
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 16:37
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 16:37
yep did them on the 80 and the fact I did them myself (easily) says it all. As with all
suspension components give the bolts a long CRC soak before undoing them
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 16:39
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 16:39
Oh
yea and you get to claim back the GST on them and claim them as a tax deduction (probably- i am no accountant)
Reply By: jeffwa - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 13:56
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 13:56
I'd prob leave the front on, but would have no dramas in removing the rear one.
When my bushes split on the front sway bar on my surf I just used black sikaflex, still going strong! I just took the bushes out and used the old bits as the base and just built them up with the tar, they look and feel like new ones! :-) Prob stronger too!
Reply By: Pezza (Bris) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 14:42
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 14:42
Hi B. B.
Mate, pull em both off and leave em off, I notice you have a 3" lift which means you have firmer springs already, the sway bars won't be doing much at all on top of what
the springs are already doing, you will find a little more body roll but will get used to it very quickly, I have 3" dobinsons with 50mm body block and haven't run sway bars since I got it, I also hate slowing down for corners, and it hasn't bothered me yet.
In saying all that, you may want to put them back on when you load it up to go on a big trip, ie. tents, tables, chairs, bbq plates etc. on the roof rack and so on, as it will most likely feel like the Queen Mary. Roachie left his off even when loaded, I put
mine back on, just depends on how much body roll you feel comfortable with I guess.
My advice is take them both off, only takes a couple of minutes, and try it for yourself, if you're happy with it, leave them off.
One big advantage to not having them on is you'll get HEAPS more wheel travel when doing the stuff in your rig pic.
Avagoodn
Pezza
Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 16:22
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 16:22
At least the sway bars will being one job ...... keeping his insurance policy valid!
Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 16:31
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 16:31
Please read that as : At least the sway bars will be doing one job ...... keeping his insurance policy valid!
Damn typo!
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 20:24
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 20:24
Pezza,
I've recently refitted both my sway bars. The Dobinsons I got (4" front and 6" rear) are not as firm as the previous Patrol had. It was just too damn hard to handle with that extra height and no sway bars!!
Also recently fitted are a pair of red poly blocks (from Tuff Stuff) that bolt onto the chassis where the standard bump stops used to be. I've then cut the the rubber bump stops off there steel bases (using a large "bushman saw" of all things!!) and mounted them on top of the axle tube so that the rear end won't sag too much under the 3.54 tonne.
I've made up new longer sway bar arms too.
Reply By: Member - BUNDY BOY (WA) - Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 18:27
Thursday, Jun 28, 2007 at 18:27
Arvo all thanks for the input.....thought about insurance side of things.....but as was said ...its like a boat into corners......so think i may replace them .after all there's a reason there put on in da factory i suppose......and with the lift i need all the stability i can get on long sweepers
Cheers Bundy
and yer Matt....were there in the pics