Power/Torque loss & gain

Submitted: Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 08:40
ThreadID: 47221 Views:4092 Replies:2 FollowUps:19
Does anyone know, or know which direction to point me, to find out the percentage loss/gain for power (KW) and torque (Nm) for a 4WD between the engine and back wheels?

The reason I ask is I have just had my 95 series Prado TD dyno tuned and was interested in comparing the results against standard specs especially after fitting a Dtronic and mandrel exhaust. Th dyno tune alone added an extra 24 Nm of torque and 4 Kw of power, not a lot, but an improvement never the less.

When I had a 2WD car the rule of thumb was around 25 - 30% between the engine and back wheels for power.

As a 4WD has more being lost through a more complicated drive train I can't assume the fugures would be the same.

Any advice appreciated

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 09:06

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 09:06
Typically 1/3rd is lost Wizard , my patrol before mods had 185kw and 122 at back wheels.

However dyno readings aren't consistent and repeatable - and I don't rely on them.

I wrote a Car dyno program once for win 95 computers to work out power but these days use a more complex but manageable process here in which I have a test road which I run the car in one gear from say 1500-4500 rpm and using gps set to record once per second , get 10-15 time/distance points and plot them.

(even oziexplorer can do this a bit)

AnswerID: 249798

Follow Up By: mattche - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 19:36

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 19:36
Hello i am new to these forums, now i work for the largest fuel/turbo shop in Perth and we dyno 4wd's daily with mods,gas,exhaust,chips and a figure of 1/3 or 30 % CANNOT be attributed as a general rule.

Now this is due to the fact that people use differentoils, tyres, pressures, etc,etc.

Normally power loss ona typical GU/GQ nissan is around 20 Kw with STD A/T tyres.
FollowupID: 510961

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:18

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:18
Hi Mattche

Might be worth re-checking that figure. 20kw out of the GU 114kw is simply not a realistic figure , it equals a 17.5% drivetrain loss which is a figure that few 2 wheel drives can even deliver.

The 30% is a very typical Patrol figure. Its used as a general rule of thumb and is supported by back calculating from the standing quarter times of the cars.

FollowupID: 510976

Follow Up By: mattche - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:30

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:30
Nah dont have to, ive seen it time and time again at around 20Kw, yes some are higher but the majority are AROUND not exactly the 20Kw figure with STD tyres.

I assume we are talking ZD30 here not TD42.

Sure some will be higher.
FollowupID: 510979

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:37

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:37
Ok Mattche

Makes no difference - as all have same drivetrain - if you applied the 20kw to some of last centurys engine which only had 85 or so kw they would sound better.

I know some porsche engineers over here who would love to know how to get drivetrain loss of 17.5%

FollowupID: 510985

Follow Up By: mattche - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:51

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:51
Robin

This is an age old argument and it comes down to what you feel is correct.

Are you telling me just because these engines make more power they will have greater power loss????

Hope not,for every Kw you add to the engine through different mods etc it reaches the wheels which is why i DONT believe in percentages they just dont fit.Otherwise you would be losing a percentage of your upgrade !!!TRUE>

Ive got a 68 model toyota mate that loses 10Kw and the engine makes 155Kw thats justa tad less than 17.5% true.Nah thats not fair different kettle of fish.

Anyhow we are getting very good results from our upgrades and for every Kw over STD all of it gets to the wheels.

Its a touchy subject isnt it.

Matt

FollowupID: 510997

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 21:19

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 21:19
Hi there Matt

Was wondering what your name actually was.

The engine is largely irrelevant in these things - the type of gears used simply have a certain fundamental percentage loss and thats all their is to it.

You can work out approximate loss for most cars by following thru each meshing drivetrain gear.
I.E. gearbox, diff etc this usually is 20% , unless grossly wrong oils etc are used then on top of this comes tyres and a bunch of very small things.

Yours mates 155kw with 10kw loss is not "a tad less than 17.5%" its actually 6.45% and this is theoretically impossible

So I think there might be a mix up in terms here or perhaps some wrong info on a car horsepower reference sheet or something similar.

But next time I'm in perth I'm gunna bring my 4800 patrol with me and if it comes out with only 20kw down on its 185kw at back wheels then get ready cause I'll be showering everybody with gifts.

FollowupID: 511012

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 21:24

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 21:24
P.S heres a link to the only patrol chart I could find in a hurry

Site Link

It shows the TB45 145kw engine delivering 91 kw for a loss of about 35% power

Robin MIller
FollowupID: 511019

Follow Up By: mattche - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 21:41

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 21:41
Yeah no worries come on around and we will run it up for you, the total power loss at max power level will be around 38Kw , but on average over the whole power run will be around 20Kw.

What have you done to it to make 185Kw at the wheels mate,. thats very impressive indeed. Aren't they only rated 180 odd Kw at the engine.

Good luck with it.
FollowupID: 511027

Follow Up By: mattche - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 21:44

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 21:44
Had a look at the dyno run, but couldnt actually find how much power loss it had.

Pity i cant show you mine of my nissan patrol.

Give me your email and ill send it to you,shows power at engine then wheels and also power loss and torque.
FollowupID: 511029

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 22:00

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 22:00
Hi Matt

That was meant to read 185kw at engine - mine only has a uni-chip and a few little extra's and only has bit over 200kw at engine and 130 kw at rear wheels unfortunately.

Its 10pm (in Vic) so I'm off for now , see ya

Think you said you haven't been on here for long - my email etc can be seen by clicking on the underlined members Rig & profile link that is next to little picture of my car that comes up with this post.

FollowupID: 511035

Follow Up By: mattche - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 22:50

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 22:50
Yeah no worries thanks for the chat,email sent.

Ill graba copy of some GU TD 42 ones on monday for you so you know where im coming from .
FollowupID: 511046

Reply By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 12:09

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 12:09
The factory tells me I have 116kw in the GU but dyno said I had 66kw at the rear wheels (before all the mods). I would think each vehicle type will have unique power loss through the drive train percentage wise so it would be hard to use one percentage for all 4wd's.

Cheers, Trevor.
AnswerID: 249831

Follow Up By: Wizard1 - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 12:15

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 12:15
Trevor,

Thanks, I realise that there would be variances based on drive train setup, tyre size, etc. Thanks for the reply.
FollowupID: 510867

Follow Up By: mattche - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:52

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:52
That figure seems very low at the wheels,is it ZD30.

What tyres are you running.
FollowupID: 510998

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 21:00

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 21:00
Hi Matt,

I am presuming you are talking to me.

The 66kw at the wheels was prior to modification of my 4.2 Turbo GU (Non-intercooled). Now it is running 126kw at the wheels and I am more than impressed considering it has done 315K. It has had the turbine housing modded with bigger turbines, intercooler added, dump pipe, 3" maundrel bent exhaust, boost and fuel increased and I could go on and on. All figures are on the dyno sheet in my rig pics. I have seen one done with the result of a little less HP but heaps more bottom end torque which I also liked but with my crawler gears the bottom end was not so much of an issue for me in offroad situations. Horses for courses.

Hope this answered you question.
Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 511002

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 21:01

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 21:01
Sorry Matt, Tyres are 265.75 16's
FollowupID: 511004

Follow Up By: mattche - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 21:53

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 21:53
Trevor

Sounds like you done a good job on it mate to get 126Kw's, that should haul it along nicely.

Yeah the crawler gears certainly add to the low down torque capabilities for driving the tyres hard.
FollowupID: 511031

Follow Up By: Member - stefan P (NSW) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 23:25

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 23:25
based on those percentages my 2.8 Patrol would be giving me a negative result at the wheels! ;) seems like I am going backwards most of the time NOW its proven

Cheers Stefan
FollowupID: 511051

Follow Up By: mattche - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 00:23

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 00:23
Argh nothing wrong with the ol RD28 stefan ,they just need a few RPM to keep them going.

Yeah mate i dont believe in percentages, anyway have you had yours dynoed as they DO respond to a LITTLE more boost.

Matt
FollowupID: 511058

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 08:16

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 08:16
Stefan,

Motson's do a chip for the 2.8 and it adds plenty to the driveability of the rig. Member Pezza has one and I reckon his goes great. But his s/charged shorty goes better LOL!!!

Cheers, Trevor.
FollowupID: 511083