Crash

Submitted: Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 11:59
ThreadID: 47226 Views:2257 Replies:2 FollowUps:10
Just come home from the local post office, went there in our bright red Falcon, wife driving. As usual the car park was busy, so wife stops our car at the entrance, car in front of us then puts into reverse, as I see the reverse lights come on I tell SWMBO to toot the horn, which she does. Can't reverse ourselves due to another car behind us. The lady in front then proceeds to reverse straight into the front of our car, despite it being clearly visible, red colour and toting horn. Results; about $900 damage to our Falcon, nil to her. I asked her politely if she didn't look behind her before reversing, and she says. "You were in my blind spot."
Fair dinkum. Thank goodness for no fault excess insurance.

There, got that off my chest.

GB

Reply By: jeffwa - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 13:15

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 13:15
I don't know what it is about Post office and bank carparks but I always bleep myself when I go in there, I think people must have to put a blindfold on in order to gain entry to these types of carparks!!??
AnswerID: 249843

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 13:44

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 13:44
And you didn't tell her what your Day Job was.......LOL....yer a good bloke!

Sorry to hear about the damage.

AnswerID: 249847

Follow Up By: Garbutt - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 14:42

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 14:42
I was very restrained, told SWMBO to exchange particulars with the other driver and I went off and collected the mail, SWMBO was impressed. Its just one of those things but what got me was her comment about being in her blind spot!

GB
FollowupID: 510895

Follow Up By: Garbutt - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 15:04

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 15:04
And of course the other frustration is that if we were in the Hilux the damage would have all been on her dunnydore, not on our car. LOL
FollowupID: 510901

Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 17:04

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 17:04
It's something about the commodore drivers.

FollowupID: 510932

Follow Up By: Johnny boy - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 17:08

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 17:08
Hey Garbutt, are you a panel beater during the day ??
FollowupID: 510934

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 17:35

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 17:35
Geez I/m glad it wasn't me reversing out. At least the blind spot would be true for my work ute. That spot covers about 6 Acres in it. That is one plick if a carpark anyway. Did you have your exploroz stickers correctly displayed. She would have seen you then:-)))))
I usually park out in the middle parks as you normally get a park there easily.
I hope the offending vehicle wasn't a 4WD LOL
FollowupID: 510942

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:35

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:35
You were very restrained. If it had been me I would've called one of those big burly boys in blue.....They're never around when ya need 'em, eh!!!! ;-))
FollowupID: 510983

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:40

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:40
Bill, Those big burly boys in blue are all mice around here. And to think the local cop shop is less than 100metres away.
Ragbutt, I hope you got the details for future reference.
FollowupID: 510986

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:44

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:44
Des, the blind spot in your work rig might cover 6 acres, but I'll bet that is only half of the size of the black spot on that 50 series of yours...hahahaha
FollowupID: 510990

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:45

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:45
Plus you'd better show some respect to the local constabulary....I reckon he might know where you live!!!!
FollowupID: 510992

Follow Up By: Des Lexic - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 19:47

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 19:47
Hahahahaha Good one Roachie.
Unfortunately, he does know where I live and he paid me a visit today as well complete with siren. LOL At leased he didn't unleash the capsicum spray.
FollowupID: 511206