O/T - Living at Yulara (Ayers Rock)

Submitted: Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 12:14
ThreadID: 47227 Views:8499 Replies:8 FollowUps:5
Slightly off topic question, but my partner and I will be relocating from Adelaide to Yulara soon to live and work. I am able to find a lot of information about visiting Yulara as a tourist but can find little about living and working up there.

I have a position up there and my girl is hoping to get a position with Voyages or someone else up there.

I am keen to find out about experiences from others who might have lived there.

- WHat are the 1 or 2 bedroom town houses like?? (how big or small are they, are most of them furnished, is parking on the street??)
- What is the social dynamics like amongst the community??
- What are the community services like?? (Shops, entertainment, fuel, health)
- What are the essential services like?? (Police / Fire / Medical)
- What are fuel prices like??
- What is the 'cost of living' like??
- What is working for Voyages like?? (my partner hoping to get job with them).

I will be taking my Frontera with me, (although my roving eye is starting to look at Landcruisers / Patrols now, but the bank might not like that idea)and any tips on quick trips based out of Yulara..

Thanking y'all in advance..!!! :)

Straps

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 12:35

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 12:35
Havent been there yet, but a friend spent 2 years there working in the transport industry.
Dont think he found anything cheap, the accomadation varied, and most reasonable services are in Alice, and he was single bloke so entertainment was varied, depending who was visiting LOL
Can waste a lot of money at the main entertainment venue, the bar, so be prepared to entertain yourself.
He went there with great admiration for the abbo's, and after delivering hundreds of thounsands of dollars worth of goods to them and the wastage and the anti social behaviour, and the two sets of rules for white and black, after 2 years he left and now hates the black community!!
This was a few years ago, so some things may have changed, but I guess its up to you to make a good experience of it.
He was also into stargazing, and that part he really enjoyed as its supposed to be a magnificent spot for that.

Cheers Pesty
AnswerID: 249836

Reply By: Hairy - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 12:44

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 12:44

- What is the social dynamics like amongst the community?? Crap!

- What are the community services like?? (Shops, entertainment, fuel, health) Crap!
- What are the essential services like?? (Police / Fire / Medical) Crap!
- What are fuel prices like?? Crap!
- What is the 'cost of living' like?? Crap!

Appart from that, you should really like it! LOL

Seriously, Ive been down there lots of times and sometimes to work and had to stay there but never actually lived there. Everything is expensive, there is bugger all to do after work and they are a real clicky group.
Once you become one of them you will probably find things will get better.
Try to get to know the rangers, you might get some access to land atleast.

AnswerID: 249838

Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 21:12

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 21:12
diesel was the same price as Alice last week.'

Everything else was dearer as you say, though.

Andrew who would really love to know what there was to try and access.
FollowupID: 511010

Follow Up By: bundy - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 12:33

Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 12:33
re land access.. there is alot around there to access.
the best way though is not through the rangers, but join NTES (SES in other states).
and the longer you are there, the more you learn about where and where not to go.
some good walking track access thats not well known to the general public, or 95% of the resort staff, out by the camel farm.
FollowupID: 511280

Reply By: huntin - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 15:15

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 15:15
Hi, pity the answers given are from people who havent lived there! Must just like seeing their words in print. My partner and I have lived there while working for the RFDS. Its a great place to stay, heaps to do, and the residents have access to a licenced club, pool, gym etc as well as all the tourist facilities. We didnt work for voyages, but housing will vary depending on your position with them. Send us an email for any other info. We are working on a community in the NT at the moment.

AnswerID: 249858

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 15:25

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 15:25
Well you have only added to what I said, I didnt say any untruths, and printing the answer to a post is the only medium we have, sorry, will try and get it changed to voice.
Hairy is in Alice so I believe his account too, and an accurate account from a close friend with 2 years experience is not valid?
Gunna be hard to get any more "accurate" answers from you via email anyway, when you didnt give it !!!

Cheers Pesty
FollowupID: 510910

Follow Up By: Member - Straps (SA) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 15:35

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 15:35
Huntin, I would very much welcome an email to drop you a line for some questions if I could..

Straps
FollowupID: 510912

Follow Up By: Hairy - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 01:35

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 01:35
Just to get my name in print again....Hairy, Hairy, Hairy, Hairy, Hairy, Hairy, Hairy, Hairy.
You must be the one who has been sent to save us! What shall we call you almighty one? And what is the Utopia we shall call your holy land?
Forgive me please your arrsewholeiiiness>
FollowupID: 511065

Reply By: MEMBER - Darian (SA) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 16:51

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 16:51
Have not worked there but visited a few times - I thought the supermarket prices were quite reasonable - fuel is pricey everywhere in the outer areas - no more so at Yulara - booze was a shocker though - we take every drop we will need while there - local workers do have a club as mentioned above - guess prices are much better there. No comment re social issues...........
AnswerID: 249876

Reply By: Member - David A (QLD) - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 17:34

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 17:34
Hi Straps,

this is only from the angle of a visitor, but I can't imagine it would any different if you were a resident:

fuel - ULP 1.58 at end of April. Pretty sure there's only the one servo (mobil from memory) next to the campground.

shopping - IGA was OK for prices, fresh bread, meat etc. Some things are odd, like pepsi being $40 for a box because the resort is a "coke" resort. Items posted from the post office at yulara took almost a month to reach the sunshine coast.

Had to use the auto repairer while we were there (welding) - they seemed helpful and competent

The essential services (police, medical, fire etc) are all there

Hope that is of some use.
Cheers, David
AnswerID: 249884

Reply By: bundy - Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:57

Friday, Jun 29, 2007 at 20:57
G'day straps,
I lived at yulara for 2 years.
the accomodation varies, depending on what position you have, do you know the name of the accom they gave you? i can help you further with that.
most accom is pretty small.. but comfortable. except if you got share share.. in which case, tell em to stick it!
social scene is pretty good. There is a club there, for residents only, funnily enough, called the Res club, it's just like any pub anywhere, it's really good, and a good place for a feed and a drink. the tourists aren't allowed in there, and drinks are normal prices.
community services are pretty good, remember it's the middle of nowhere, it's not adelaide!
there is an IGA, prices are pretty good for a bush supermarket, and you get 10% discount. entertainment?? it's the bush :) :) you make your own!!!
fuel is reasonab;e for a remote servo.. it will ALWAYS be dearer than towns, remember that.
cost of living isn't too bad, considering voyages have the monopoly on it.. they own everything there, including the iga and servo.
the medical centre is very good, and run by the flyin docs, you get well looked after, and mostly for free. there is a police station, and fire station.
it's probably the best serviced remote town in the NT.
i won't comment on working for voyages.
i was there for 2 years, but only worked for voyages for a couple of months, they were ok while i was with them.
after that i worked for private enterprise.
quick trips out of yulara? .. docker river, mt conner, ernabella, kings canyon, cave hill... there's plenty around there to see.
AnswerID: 249928

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 12:39

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 12:39
I can't answer your queries either but will say Good luck, I'm sure you will enjoy the great Outback .And I bet the scenery will be still be as beautiful as when I first went there in 66,then again in 68, 83, and 86 I took one of the two large Solar heated water tanks there from Brisbane in 1983

Doug

AnswerID: 250028

Reply By: Member - Straps (SA) - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 12:02

Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 12:02
I am hoping that 'huntin' might be able to send me an email address to contact on. I would be keen on asking some more questions.??

I will be hopefully working for the RFDS up in Yulara and am keen to seek some further info.

Thank you to those who have answered so far, most appreciated.

Straps
AnswerID: 250687