Licola Flood damage.

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 01:05
ThreadID: 47248 Views:4656 Replies:7 FollowUps:3
Evening all,

Just witnessed (photographs) of the damage the recent floods around here have done to Licola.

My boss went up there today in a chopper and took heaps of photos of the damage.

Cheynnes bridge is gone - located some distance downstream. Stoney Creek Bridge, just before Licola is damage - missing ends. Licola bridge is missing an end.

Tamboritha Road has major damage, ranging from huge sections gone, to errosion of the bitumen from runoff on bends with re-entrants.

Looks like this will be a major operation to repair. Probably looking at 6-12 mths at least.

This damage cuts off a great place to 4wd and has access to other great locations.

Feel sorry for the Winters at the General Store - fires, flash floods and now isolation.

I'm glad we spent a few dollars there last weekend and played in the snow.

Reply By: pt_nomad - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 07:39

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 07:39
Tim,

Thanks for the update.

I guess glendaggie would be chockers also - good for irrigators in summer.

Was there much of the macalister river catchment burn in the recent fires?
If it was then I would hazard a guess that the fires contributed to the severity of the event. The loss of large amounts of foliage and ground veg would probably reduce the bushes abilty to trap and store - resulting in run off faster and in greater volumes. - Other wise is was just a bl$$dy big rain storm!

I guess the marathon road could still be used for access.

bugga of a way to break a drought.

Paul.
AnswerID: 249978

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 08:32

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 08:32
Was wondering Tim, how you were faring. Not knowing where you live exactly. Tried other phone numbers of friends in the area and numbers rang out. Could be water in the pipes I guess. Old colleague who used to live on the Lindenow flats, no longer does, but old house and dairy site flooded, tractor, diesel pumps and the like.
AnswerID: 249986

Reply By: Robin Miller - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 08:46

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 08:46
Sounds pretty bad Tim , we often head to snow that way to , but I guess not this year.

Looks like licola may really be a 4wd destination for quite a while, always prefferred the river crossing instead of using Cheynes bridge but this is pretty hard on those who use it to earn a living.

Hard to believe after our recent drive there just after the fires.

I really like the recent 4wd vic idea to gather and bring business to Rainbow area , we may have to do something like this for gipps area if powers that be don't prevent access and loss of business to area like at Xmas.

AnswerID: 249989

Reply By: Nick R (VIC) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 08:54

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 08:54
Saw on the bureau website that Glenmaggie lists 35,000 megalitres a day as a major flood, 2 days ago it was spilling at 108,000...... Sounds significant to me.
I was talking to a friend yesterday, considering they've had drought, fire and flood, I asked what next? Pestilence???
Nick
Carpe Cerevisi

AnswerID: 249992

Reply By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 10:09

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 10:09
G'day all,

Stratford was cut off for a while - about a day, but no damage to town. A lot were without power for about 18hrs - we still had power and lent the 2.0 Honda out to friends. Major complaint - cold wet days with the kids home from school without power!!!

There were also reports of caravans going over the weir wall at Glenmaggie - they got washed down from Paradise Valley camping area.

The school camp also got wiped out and their canoes etc are stuck at the wall.

The reports I heard was that there were at least 7,000 Ml going in per hour - but I think this was a bit conservative. The weir at Glenmaggie are still monitoring water coming in and trying to let water out without going over the 'moderate' flood level. The problem seems to be letting everyone know before the water gets to them - some people headed back to farms and home only to have to get out again as the water rises.

Bit of a challenge for everyone concerned.

Police did 92 rescue/extractions on Thursday, using RAAF Rescue chopper, police chopper, boats and 4WDs.

The weather people are still saying it may get worse next week - have to wait and see.
AnswerID: 250002

Reply By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 10:12

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 10:12
If you go to the link below you'll see the amount of water going into Glenmaggie - fairly impressive flows!

Site Link

AnswerID: 250004

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 12:53

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 12:53
SRW guys based at the Werribee office said there was sufficient flow going over the weir wall at Glenmaggie to fill the Bacchus Marsh and Werribee Irrigation district storages (Pikes Creek, Merrimu and Melton storages) to capacity in about 6 hours or Eildon in a few hours more.

Thats a huge amount of water going down the river to to the sea from Glenmaggie, what a pity its being lost.

FollowupID: 511140

Reply By: DarrynJ - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 16:37

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 16:37
Hi all, access to Licola is possible via Mt Useful (through the snow!). It could be up to 18 months before full access is available as the Mt Skene Rd to Jamesion is damaged as well, and the Mt Tamboritha Rd is badly damaged (non existent in places). Tim what did your boss think when the chopper lost an engine?
Darryn
AnswerID: 250057

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 17:03

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 17:03
You can also get to Licola via Mount Margaret Track.
FollowupID: 511174

Follow Up By: Member - Tim - Stratford (VIC) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 23:34

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 23:34
G'day Darryn,

Luckily his nephew is a chiropractor - he strained his neck muscles trying to kiss his ^&%$ goodbye!!!

Just heard about the Mt Useful access - I think they took a Unimog through today with supplies.

I don't think access to Licola would be an option as the Licola bridge is out and the Tamboritha Rd between Licola and the Mt Margaret track has gone. Not sure on what the conditions are like above the Mt Margaret Track.
FollowupID: 511245