Submitted: Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 11:38
Big Mike
Wondering if anyone has any inside knowledge on getting us and our broken 4wd out of Alice. No hire vehicles back to
Brisbane according to all hire car companies, cant even get a 4 day rental to get around while I am here.
Wanted to hire a vehicle and trailer and take the 4wd back to bris but at this stage looks like I might have to freight 4wd and 4 of us fly home, least prefered option. Anyone got any contacts, hire cars, freight companies etc.
Big Mike
Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 11:42
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 11:42
Mike,
check this site out
www.standbycars.com.au/oneways.aspx?cid=1
May help in the short term
Good Luck
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Andrew-rodeo - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 11:44
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 11:44
Hi Big Mike. Is the car not repairable? Would it be cheaper to pay a premium price to get your car fixed in Alice and drive home? Rather than freight a car and fly home.
Just a thought!! Good Luck. Andrew
Follow Up By: Big Mike - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 11:57
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 11:57
Thanks Andrew,
Unfortunatly, we think it has done a bolt in the timing thingo, (not mechanically minded), and it has gone through and smashed the engine. Looking at a new engine and it may be a claim against service people in bris if we can prove when they did the timing belt 3000 k's ago, they didnt tighten the tensioner bolt.
Ta
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 13:11
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 13:11
especially if you are talking a new engine, you can take the old one home and dump it on their storefront with a
sign on it, "LOOK AT THIS!!!!" and still drive your bus home
Reply By: nowimnumberone - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 12:01
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 12:01
thats a big shame mike.
have you rang the service centre that did the timing belt to see if they are going to help.
also i think you can also use your insurance company for help.
good luck
Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 12:06
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 12:06
You could try Bulls Transport in Smith Street,
Alice Springs. They may be able to put you on to other freight companies if they do not go to Qld themselves.
Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 12:27
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 12:27
Bulls as Willem mentioned do not go East, they are more General frieght
Car Carrier specialists is what you need. Try
Patrick 1800 302 351
Auto-Trans 1300 660 616
CEVA Logistics is the new name for TNT Logistics 1300 550 868
Follow Up By: Pezza (Bris) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 01:02
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 01:02
I thought Bulls and his recycled Kenworths shut up
shop ?
Follow Up By: bundy - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 10:26
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 10:26
yeah bulls sold out a couple of years ago, to one of the big mobs.
can't remember which one off hand, toll i think.
Reply By: Love The Outback - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 13:04
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 13:04
Hi Mike
I don’t believe that some good mechanic in Alice wouldn’t repair the car and write for you complete comprehensive report. Yes, that all it takes to solve your problem. I would ask the mechanic working on your car, to take also as many photos during repairs as possible. And there are so many very good and nice mechanics in Alice (maybe better mechanics than in
Brisbane well they cant afford to be chonky there…). I write from personal experience they will help you and especially when you tell them your ordeal.
I wish you very good luck D.
Reply By: Hairy - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 14:02
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 14:02
Gday Big Mike,
Trip turning to shhiitt hey?
I really think you have two options.
1. Fix your car here
2. Send it home on a truck and fly.
Why dont you get a mechanic to have a look and see exactly whats wrong?
You never know, it might not be as bad as you think. If its too big of a job you dont have to finish it, send it home un finished and sort it when you get back. If it is someones fault at least youll know.
I can recomend a couple of mechanics if thats any help or maybe get you somewhere to work on it yourself.
Did the hire mobs say there are no 4wd's available?
If you want to hire a 4wd, give me the dates you need it and how many seats you need and I ring around for you. ( a bit of local bullshhitting might help)
Good Luck
Hairy
Follow Up By: Big Mike - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 17:03
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 17:03
Thanks Hairy,
Yep, one of those trips!!!!! Why did I come in peak season? No 4wds, no cars, ended up with a old falcon for a coupla days. Europcar will organise to get me a car, $1100 to get it to Alice as all of theres are booked, and $2100 to get it back from
brisbane to Alice + hire rates that are through the roof.
I have been given the names of a few mechanics that are very good to deal with apparently. Am leaving Alice AM on Thursday 5th July to
Brisbane on the 9th July.
There are 4 adults traveling
Follow Up By: Hairy - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 00:04
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 00:04
Gday Mike,
Who are the mechanics? And do you want me to try and organise a 4wd?
Follow Up By: Big Mike - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 09:07
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 09:07
Hey Hairy,
I will be sending it over to Peter Kimbles Mitsubishi this morning as they will do an inspection and a full report. Then will look at it from there. A 4wd or even a large 2wd as a last resort. Had thoughts of hiring a 3 -4t flat top truck to take me and the truck home but no luck there either. Thanks for all you help Hairy, should try and catch up for a drink or several, I owe you that.
Follow Up By: Hairy - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 11:29
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 11:29
Gday Mike,
Peter "Kittles" is the mob you would be going to. There are a huge company and basically work on new cars, big turn over of mechanics (not bad but they wouldn't be my choice). After saying that, if it comes down to the mob who did your timing belt wanting a report and getting it fixed by a reputable dealer, Kittles would probably be their choice.
I dont really know anyone in the hire busness but I,ll ring around and see who does and get back to you this afternoon.
As for the beers I think Friday is a public holiday so Thursday night could be on the cards, Handy is in town too, he's usually thirsty!
Follow Up By: Hairy - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 11:52
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 11:52
Gday Mike, I hope your there!
Ring "AVIS" ASAP on 136333 there is a 4WD available as we speak. but could get booked at any time. (shiittheads wont hold them antill you book it formally!)
Stay buy your computer, my daughters friends dad works for a hire company, We're trying to contact him.
Follow Up By: Hairy - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 12:05
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 12:05
Back again,
Also try Budget on 89529999 they have one available from the 5th-13th if thats any good????
Ill keep trying...
Follow Up By: Hairy - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 12:06
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 12:06
Sorry that last number was for Thrifty rental, not budget!
Follow Up By: Hairy - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 12:12
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 12:12
Also try. 89535333 He has a Nissan ute? Available for a day or so and a jeep available tommorrow for the week.
Heres one more number I havent tried 1800077353 (4WD Hire Service), I have to go to an appointment so if you have no luck with any of the above give them a call.
Goodluck
Follow Up By: Big Mike - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 16:09
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 16:09
Thanks Hairy, you're a good man. Will call these now. In and out of internet kiosks so please forgive slow replies. My vehicle is dead, phone verdict is that the engine needs replacing :(
Follow Up By: Hairy - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 07:26
Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 07:26
How did you go Mike?
Are you still around?
State of origin tonight isnt it?
Whats you email address?
Follow Up By: Big Mike - Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 12:31
Wednesday, Jul 04, 2007 at 12:31
Hey Hairy,
Had to make a snap decision when I got back into town. We have managed to get a flight home, still no cars under $5k rental and drop off fee so am jumping on a plane. We made the dash this morning and board in a few minutes. Sorry we wern't able to catch up, maybe when I come back to pick up the car in a month or two.
Maroons to win tonight easily.
mikensue@bigpond.net.au
After much help and advice I have decided to get us all on a plane and get the vehicle fixed in Alice. The $1500+ to freight it home can be better spent by my wife and I Flying back in a couple of months, (yes, thats how long they want to look at it, get parts and repair), having a slap dash night or 2 at kings canyon, shouting you a dinner and driving home for a lot less money and stress than freighting. Only worrying bit is leaving the vehicle to the mechanics and saying send me the bill, without actually supervising or being there. A lot of good recomendations for mechanics and I may be green, but everyone I have spoken to in Alice seem very upfront and honest.
Anyway, thanks for all your help, will chat on other email as we go.
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 14:54
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 14:54
This does not help your imediate problem but did they put a new belt tensioner on when they replaced the timing belt ? They should both be changed at the same time. If you still have your invoice for the work done then check this out.
Reply By: Skippy In The GU - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 15:33
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 15:33
Hi Big Mike,
Q1 : Are you a member of the RACQ
if so can they assist you in any way, do you have the extra or plus
membership.
Q2 : Was the
Brisbane repair an approved RACQ repairer.
If the fault was your repairer, they won't pay other mechanics labour, and if the Alice guys repairs it what happens if the car breaks down half way home again.
It might be best to transport car home and get it repaired there and then you'll have warranty
Q3 : If your Car is over 1.5 tons you won't be able to tow it hme on a trailer unless you have brakeaway brakes on trailer and controller on car.
Might be best to transport the car to
Darwin or
Adelaide and then to Brissy.
You could bus it to
Darwin and then fly back home.
Reply By: rodeo2005 - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 18:57
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 18:57
Leave it in the local river bed ,i'm sure some of the town drunks will write it off for you. Just say it must have been stolen and dumped ! It was fine and secured when i left it, where i was staying!
Reply By: Member - Ian S (NT) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 18:58
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 18:58
Hi Michael,
If you don't have resolution by Monday give me a call at Mt Dare and we can see if we can arrange a freight carrier to
Brisbane for you. I have spoken with a carrier this evening but he is unable to arrange anything till Monday.
Ian@Mt Dare
Follow Up By: Big Mike - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 17:07
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 17:07
Thanks Ian,
Will give you a call tomorrow.
Still dirty I missed out on those fish cakes and chilli sauce. Next time maybe.
Speak soon
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 21:40
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 21:40
which motor was it?
Reply By: Mick - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 21:57
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 21:57
I'm assuming that you aren't in RACV or equivalent. I joined RACV Total CAre for just the sort of situation. Any vehicle I'm driving (including motorbikes) is covered and in your situation I would have received a hire car and accommodation and vehicle taken to a place of repair. Not bad value for $160ish!! I know that's not solving your problem but it may jog some others who don't plan how to cover problems which might occur. Good luck - I think others have told you all the possible lines of attack so now it's up to you.
Follow Up By: Big Mike - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 17:09
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 17:09
Joined many many moons ago and am in ultra care. benefits only extend up to $3300 worth of help, towing, accom, rental recovery etc. That $3300 lasts about bugger all in outback situations. All be warned.
Reply By: 01Rod - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 23:39
Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 23:39
If your an RACQ Ultra Care member,
You are covered for Vehicle recovery, hire car etc. and if it was an RACQ repairer they will get involved on your behalf.
Call them, 13 11 11
Reply By: Outa Bounds - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 14:01
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 14:01
My husband used to deal with Auto Trans in
Darwin a bit, they always offered good service. We had a car & trailer transported from
Perth to
Darwin by them once as
well, so would say it's worth inquiring with them.
Reply By: Big Mike - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 17:11
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 17:11
Thank you all very much for your help and messages. Am working it out, looks like fly back to Bris and put the vehicle on a truck and dump it at the mechanics. Will keep you posted.
Reply By: Big Mike - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 17:13
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 17:13
Thank you all very much for your help and suggestions. Its looking more and more like a flight home and and truck trip for my vehicle, then dump it at the mechaincs in Brissy.
Thanks again and will keep you posted.
Reply By: Member - beachbum - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 13:16
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 13:16
Gooday Big Mike and sorry to hear of your troubles. I have been on the road myself and so it has taken until now to visit the
forum. Can't really help you with direct answers to your questions but you could try contacting Intune Automotive in the Alice and see if they may be able to help with repair rather than your suggested options that are going to cost an arm and a leg in any case. their phone no is (08)89534322 and must state the usual I guess and that I have no affiliation etc. but am a most satisfied customer and have used them for servicing and have taken/ directed friends to them over the years and have always found them to be most helpful and as they are Automotive engineers any thing they find should help your case. Can't think of the owners name but his parent's are the proprietors of "The Gooday Mate" van park and they are also locals and may be able to help in some way. They are really nice people as
well. Again Mike, my commiserations and maybe a bit of local knowledge may help.
Follow Up By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 14:33
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 14:33
Totally agree about the proprietors of the G'Day Mate Caravan Park.
The guys across the road have hairs on them - user interface of a dead boar, but the G'Day Mate guys are pleasant, helpful and go out of their way to help.
Follow Up By: Big Mike - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 16:06
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 16:06
thanks beachbum,
Will give them a call. Peter Kittles is busy all week so might give intune a bell,
Mitsu's phone diagnosis is a new engine so may well just ship it home.
Thanks Heaps
Reply By: goingplatinumcomau - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 16:38
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 16:38
Hi Mike
What sort of 4 wd is it ?
Use the net to get some action happening they hate that.
Regards John