roof rack lights

Submitted: Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 16:51
ThreadID: 47263 Views:4094 Replies:10 FollowUps:16
just purchased new roof rack from powerful 4x4 in sysdney..., very happy and about $400- $500 cheaper than anywhere else.... New rack has mounting points for lights up front. Just wondering about the legality of this idea.. has anyone had any trouble with this????

Reply By: D-Jack - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 17:15

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 17:15
It is illegal to have any lights mounted higher than the vehicle's headlights in SA. Check out the Qld M/V regulations - try googling it.
AnswerID: 250060

Follow Up By: Member - Mick T (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 17:34

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 17:34
Thanks D-Jack will try this..
FollowupID: 511179

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 18:52

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 18:52
Thousands of them are though in SA on B&S utes etc, I was always of the thought that its illegal to use them, not have them, but stand to be corrected.

Pesty
FollowupID: 511194

Reply By: Member - extfilm (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 18:01

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 18:01
In NSW you can have lights on the roof but not facing a forward direction...... I just had to get the ute rego and the dude simply said to me they weren't there when he inspected the ute..... I said what lights??????
AnswerID: 250065

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 18:10

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 18:10
Maybe the lugs aren't for mounting lights, more likely to have been intended for mounting aerials for UHF etc. Just a thought.....could be wrong (I was wrong once before; about 20 years ago!!!! hahahah)
AnswerID: 250067

Follow Up By: Member - Mick T (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 19:04

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 19:04
have seperate mounting point on one side for aerials, sand flags(why you would want a sand flag on a rrof rack instead of a bull bar is beyond me but ????

the supplier strated I could fit up to 5 lights across the front plus an aerial or sand flag pole....upon receival of the rack could probably fit up to 6 lights across the front depending on size..can't see the point but thought I would ask
FollowupID: 511196

Follow Up By: Member - Mick T (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 19:05

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 19:05
have to apologise for the poor spelling in follow up!@!!! one to many rum liquers!!
FollowupID: 511197

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 19:11

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 19:11
On the subject of sandflags..............Roof rack is probably the best place.

After all, what you are trying to achieve is to be seen by an oncoming vehicle which might be coming up the other side of the same sand-dune you're going up. It stands to reason that the higher the flag is, the more notice the other bloke will have of where you are. Roof is higher than bullbar, so he will have more notice. Does that make sense?
FollowupID: 511198

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 19:50

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 19:50
Hmmm Roachie ....yer full of it tonite...hahahahaha You been drinking too much coffee...lol

Fitting a sandflag to a roof rack is problematical. Even if you could you would need a long one. And there is a lot of flexing and movement that you do not need on the rack.

A sandflag on the bullbar is easier to see by oncoming vehicles. It may need to be an extra length than one on the roofrack but it is seen before you can see the roof rack one because of the angle of the view.

There you have it...lol

FollowupID: 511207

Follow Up By: Member - Mick T (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 20:06

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 20:06
have to agree Roachie.... would have thought that due to angles ,flag on bar would be seen before flag on roof rack.. just my thought ... any other thought;s welcome....
FollowupID: 511209

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 20:49

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 20:49
Yep, I see where you blokes are coming from for sure. I spose it depends on how steep the dune is. If it is steep enough that the anchor point on the bullbar is higher (when viewed from a theoretical horizontal aspect), then yes, it would be "higher" if it was mounted on the bullbar. I've often wondered whether it would be worth the effort of angling the sandflag forward by about 35 degrees, so that it would effectively be vertical when you were going up the average sand dune? haha Too much time on my hands I reckon......now if I had a toyota, I wouldn't suffer from that problem, cos I'd always be busy fixing it.
FollowupID: 511220

Follow Up By: Member - Mick T (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 20:59

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 20:59
now ... now Roachie..thats a bit nasty....or maybe it's just the truth...LOL
FollowupID: 511223

Reply By: GoneTroppo Member (FNQ) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 19:57

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 19:57
Why would you want to mount light up there?
AnswerID: 250085

Reply By: Member - Glenn D (NSW) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 20:18

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 20:18
Hows it going Mick,

Some special model of Jeep comes out with lights mounted on the roof standard.

Maybe also the 'Extreme' Tomb Raider type Defender.

You would think these would have to meet compliance in all states as they are probably sold nation wide , but then again you can get fined for using the driving lights that come standard on most cars.

Probably didnt help much.

Glenn.
AnswerID: 250088

Follow Up By: Member - Mick T (QLD) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 20:31

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 20:31
on the contrary Glenn I was thinking along the same lines as you....will have to investigate the legal side of things as I have seen the jeeps as well
FollowupID: 511217

Follow Up By: Middle Jeff - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 22:33

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 22:33
Hi Glenn

The jeep ones had to have 20 watt globes fitted to make the legal, they called them clearance lights, no brighter than a parking light.

Have fun

Craig
FollowupID: 511240

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 20:55

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 20:55
I tried having my Lightforce 240s up on the roof rack of my last truck (4.2TD Patrol). Only drove it one night like that!!! It was bloody useless. The lights lit up the bonnet far too much and gave me heaps of glare that I didn't need or want!

I can only assume that if the lights were a bit further back, the bonnet would be in the shadow of the roofline and the lights might do an excellent job of giving a better view of the road ahead, as they would be lighting up things before your eyes actually got to see that same object. As it stands on a normally-lit vehicle, the lights are below the eye-level and you can find yourself not seeing things that are actually there. Jeez I'm on a roll tonight.....running off at the mouth BIG TIME!!! hahaha
AnswerID: 250093

Follow Up By: Outnabout David (SA) - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 22:01

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 22:01
Yep Roachie your full of it tonite.
Just make sure it is all out of your system before the weekend. Don't want you putting us all asleep around the campfire.

PS wheres my YP Sticker?
FollowupID: 511235

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 10:31

Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 10:31
I'll bring a sticker and your badges to Warra' mate. Looking forward to finally having you along on a club trip.........hahaha
FollowupID: 511275

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 08:00

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 08:00
I am with you on that Roachie, have em on the JD tractors and the spread is great but any glare off the bonnet cancels out quite a bit of the bonus. Exhaust pipes or anything in front of the lighs sends it straight back at you. They need shielding of the bonnet.
FollowupID: 511412

Reply By: Shaker - Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 22:50

Saturday, Jun 30, 2007 at 22:50
I don't understand the pre-occupation for multiple driving lights, other than it being a total wank!
Look at the professional drivers that really know what they need, Outback road trains, how many driving lights do most have? TWO!
AnswerID: 250108

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 01:12

Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 01:12
Mick T

Illegal to mount lights higher than headlamps.

Why would you want to anyway. When I see a vehicle with light mounted up on a roof rack or bull bar I take it as proof that the owner of the vehicle is a wanker.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 250120

Follow Up By: D-Jack - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 21:45

Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 21:45
My driving lights are mounted on the bullbar (not roofrack), maybe I am a wanker but the alternative of drilling holes into the bonnet didn't appeal to me...love to see where yours are - maybe you dont need them, you just have to bend over to light the way.....I always thought the term Tjilpi referred to a respected Elder with grey hair, hmmmm, you may have the grey hair but...
FollowupID: 511371

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 07:19

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 07:19
D-Jack

I was not referring to people who place them on the bullbar only. I was referring to the wankers who have about 6 spotlights on their roofracks and on the bullbar.

I made an error in putting or bullbar it should have been and bullbar. The bullbar is where I and just about everyone who has a bullbar mounts them.

Thank you for correcting my error.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 511408

Reply By: kcandco - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 11:04

Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 11:04
spotlights on roof racks was bought up about a month or so ago on a forum (I thought here) and the consensus from memory was that it wasn't worth the trouble, which I must say I was surprised to read, as I always though there would be less trouble with shadows and no reflection on bonnet if some type of light guard was fitted.

regards Kc
AnswerID: 250134

Reply By: Member - BUNDY BOY (WA) - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 08:18

Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 08:18
mick....don't know the legal side of things .but ive got um up top ....leave the covers on ....as i only use them for up the bush ......was pulled over the other day for random check .....and nothing was said as covers were on .....but have been told .....you cant look through your beam of light ..eg::from the roof when on the road
Bundy
AnswerID: 251275