Submitted: Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 12:13
Member - outback2 (WA)
Gidday all
I was considering purchasing the new Landcruiser V8 tray back but have walked disapointed at the stupid position of the alternator. Positioned about half way up above the axle and below the top of the tyre rim !
Perhaps 600 mm above the ground at a guess..any way it is a ridiculous position and can only spell an absolute disaster for any
water crossings...and shallow ones at that........I cant believe Toyota can be that stupid
No doubt this topic has been covered before in this
forum but I cant seem to bring it up in any search......
comments etc would be appreciated...otherwise God forbid it will have to be a Nissan..first one in 35 years
Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 13:43
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 13:43
outback2,
Don't be to hard on yourself, Nissan isn't so bad after all, and you should of come to expect things like this now from Tojo's, take the IFS for instance. You'll be glad you made the change.
Light blue touch paper stand
well back..................................
Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 19:17
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 19:17
Yeh REAL good decision, instead of the alternator blowing up when you least want it too, the nissan 3L will blow the whole motor.
Cheers Pesty
Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 08:08
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 08:08
Be nice now Pesty, there must be some high km 3.0 TD Nissans around,,somewhere
Hope so anyway.
It would break my heart for you to see a post from me, about the Navara, blowing up
Cheers Mate
ps ,,, still giving Roachie Heaps ??
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 13:59
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 13:59
Yes get a 3.0 litre Nissan, after all it is renown as being the most reliable of engines.
Also 3.0L 4 cylinder Vs 4.2L V8?? Examine the torque figures and ask yourself the same question, its chalk and cheese.
Their was a post that contained comments by Sam of Weipia Auto Electrics who said that he expected no real issues with this alternator position as it is, if my memory serves me.
There are quite a number of these thing running around now and no one so far has had any issues at this point,
well no one has posted on here bitching about issues yet?
Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 14:13
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 14:13
Hi there - we have a new Ute and I posted on here about it and with a photo of the position of the alternator. We've had ours for about 7 weeks now and have just been to the
Simpson Desert and through
water etc. and it's no drama. Have a look at various new vehicles/brands and you will find it is quite common. As a matter of fact the oil filter in our ute is a cassette type which fits into the base of the engine. If you email me I will email back with the photo - not sure whether the original photo I put up is still on the
Forum.
Ruth and Ian
Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 16:15
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 16:15
Have a look at my Rig pictures because I've made the alternator photo as Rig Picture No. 2.
Follow Up By: Member - Traveller (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 18:24
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 18:24
Hello Ruth, do you have any numbers yet on your fuel consumption with the V8? Prior to and post the mods you have mentioned on the Rig page. I haven't heard any reliable numbers yet.
Thanks, Rod.
Follow Up By: Member - outback2 (WA) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 22:53
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 22:53
Hi Ruth
Thanks for that..appreciate your comments.....still leaves me nervous..one thing is travelling successfully hrough
water with a bow wave protecting the alternator....it is another thing to find yourself having to stop in
water with it being so low
Follow Up By: David N. - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 10:32
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 10:32
Fact: (I agree with outback2)
No alternator will last long if it is regularly drowned.
It is really that simple.
Follow Up By: Gone Bush (WA) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 14:13
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 14:13
Traveller QLD, I've only used a small amount of fuel so far in
mine and got 24mpg.
Follow Up By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:14
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 20:14
Hi Traveller, prior to improvements got 8.4kl/litre obeying road rules! Making it work 7kl/litre. Not all improvements finished - hopefully, tomorrow. Very pleased.
Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 21:28
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 21:28
There is nothing wrong with drowning your alternator, stop being a big girls blouse I put 4 Toyota alternators through
water twice daily.
I've been doing it for years and haven,t had a problem yet, Just remember if you what to push a bow wave, you are more likely to put your fan blade through your radiator, learnt that one the hard way.
Go hard or by a Nissan.
Cheers Steve.
Follow Up By: Member - outback2 (WA) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 21:40
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 21:40
Suggest you go and look at its position before comments like that. NO ALTERNATOR works underwater and that is what the word drowning implies.
water splashed around the engine bay etc is not your quote "putting alternators through water"....
A
water xing completed successfully and correctly is one thing......a situation were the vehicle has to move slowly for example on a rough bottom....or come to a stop is another.
I have done plenty of
water xings as no doubt you and others have but not in a vehicle with the damn thing 5 or 600 mm off the ground
Follow Up By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 23:55
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 23:55
Outback2
My trucks with a 1hz motor go through bonnet deep
water daily, trust me the alternators on my trucks go under
water.
I have been doing this xing twice a day for 180 days a year for 14 years, so don,t tell me I don't know what I'm talking about.
The xing talking about is the one to
Twin Falls, this has an average depth of 1mtr and 100 mtrs across, so if you have done as many
water xings than that then I will listen to you.
I seriously have better things to do than make up bullsh1t, you asked for an honest opinion and I gave you one.
Take it or leave it I couldn't care less, by the way my info is free.
Steve.
Follow Up By: Member - outback2 (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 00:50
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 00:50
If you had been more specific in your first post about underwater ...(without the sarcasm reference to girls blouse)....as you were in your second post then I wouldnt have posted the article in the way I did...clearly your alternators do go underwater and I acknowledge your experience and competence in that.
I also know the crossing you mean and so that reinforces your point.
In fact I am delighted that you have been more specific because it has me totally rethinking my reaction to the alternator placement. I cant see why it doesnt cause problems electrically but I do believe you ....
What is your opinion of them standing in
water for a period should that happen?
That is the benefits of this
forum, people willing to tell others of their experiences and I appreciate your info which is of value....but we didnt start out
well
outback2
Reply By: ross - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 14:29
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 14:29
I cant see the alt position being too much of a problem. Once the engine is doing 2000 rpm the fan will turn all dust and and
water into a mini cyclone under there anyway,so it will get moisture and dirt where ever it is.
My only concern would be that big exposed timing belt. I know its a long shot but what if something got caught between belt and pull?
Reply By: jeffwa - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 15:17
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 15:17
There are plenty of 4bies driving around with low alternators and it does not cause any major problems. Hell the 1kz-te surf/hilux/prado motor has a very low alternator and I've done many a
water crossing and mud pit without drama...
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 21:12
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 21:12
It all depends on how 'thick' the
water is !
Water on it's own should not be to much of a problem, a thick shake of mud however is very likely to cause problems sooner rather then later.
Reply By: Crackles - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 15:49
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 15:49
You would buy a 3L Nissan soley because the Toyota's alternator is too low? That would be the least of your problems on the new Cruiser. I'd me more worried about blowing diffs or the uncomfortable driving position ;-) Driving through creeks & the occational bog hole would cause little trouble but if it was submerged for long periods of time in deep mud you may have reason for some concern.
Cheers Craig.............
HZJ105