4wd systems
Submitted: Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 20:18
Member - Troopytrek
G'Day All, Has anyone had any experience with the dual battery system that 4wd systems sell [good or bad]. We have a group of us heading off on the 29th Sep for the cape and I have to help some friends equipe their vehicles for the trip. We have the ARB smart solenoid and have had these before but i just wonder if these are worth looking at as ther is a huge price difference. Cheers Troopytrek
Reply By: Member - John - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 20:59
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 20:59
Have a look at Post 47287, re cheap Battery controller.
Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 21:54
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 21:54
I'd recommend looking at the sponsors of the site.
Andrew who's Derek Bester gear continues to cut the mustard at a good price.
Reply By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 23:04
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 23:04
Hello Troopytrek,
I had a 4wd systems dual battery system fitted .It didn't work from day one faulty solenoid .They couldn't of check their work after the install.
Lost most of the food in the frig. Not happy Jan.
Since then I have fitted 2 red arc systems to my current 4wd and my boat and no probs at all.
Cheers Scoof.
Reply By: Member - Welshmun (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 23:21
Sunday, Jul 01, 2007 at 23:21
I have a dual battery system with isolator solenoid, and a manual override connect button on the dash (for those emergency starts).
I would say the most important thing would be to know what your system is doing at any one time.
So I fitted a battery monitor which checks each of the 2 batteries with a simple dual LED display (Pirhana).
So I can see what their charge status is, when I get into the car cold in the morning. I can see the cranking battery receive its charge from the alternator, then hear the solenoid click to connect the 2 batteries when the cranking battery feels it can share the alternator charge with the auxiliary, and see how much both are receiving.
I can see that my roof mounted solar panels are supplying power to the auxiliary when the vehicle is stationary. I can see the drain that using my auxiliary equipment has (the voltage drop). This is especially important as I have an Andersen plug connection through to my camper trailer (another 2 batteries) so when connected my 'auxiliary' becomes 3 deep cycle batteries in parallel. (so I would pick up faults in the trailer connections too, I hope)
With this small amount of information it is easy to be confident that all is reasonably
well.
Yes you've guessed it 'I trust nothing ' !
Follow Up By: Member - Welshmun (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 00:02
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 00:02
Oops; I see the question was specifically about 4WD Systems.
Mine was ARB. No problems.
Reply By: Member - Jiarna (NT) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 00:01
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 00:01
I have not used the 4WD Systems dual battery management system, but I have a friend who did have it. He doesn't have it any more, having replaced it after a few weeks with a Piranha setup.
I have a Rotronics unit that has given excellent service, after failures from Redarc, second-hand ARB, and a home-made setup. Should have bought the right gear in the first place!! And that's not 4WD Systems, in my book.
Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 11:12
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 11:12
Same here, I have a Rotronics system that I just can't fault, after failure from a Redarc smart solenoid system I installed a Pirahna & then sold it (with-out problems) to upgrage to the Rotronics system (zero voltage loss)
Should have just bought the right gear in the first place!!
Reply By: Member No 1- Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 07:56
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 07:56
if its anything like their radiator servicing...i wish you luck
Reply By: Mike - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 09:40
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 09:40
Not the battery system, but I had fuel tanks fitted by 4WD systems and I would not reccommend that company to anyone. The tanks were shoddy, (still internally rusting after several years) and the installation was very poor.
Happy
trails, Mike.
Reply By: That Troopy Bloke (SA) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 11:38
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 11:38
When I was looking for a dual battery system a few years ago, I went down to 4WD Systems (they are only a couple of k's down the road from me), to have a look at their system. I can't remember the details of their system, but I do remember that the salesman wasn't too keen on answering my questions about the unit.
I walked out less than impressed.
Went down the road to TJM and bought the Piranha system. Yes it was more expensive.
I'm happy with
mine. Had no issues with it.
It just works.
Glenn
Reply By: Member - Barnesy (SA) - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 16:10
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 16:10
Troopy, go for Redarc. Made in
Adelaide, repairable if needed (but probably won't need it) and they are a good company. My redarc is faultless, cheap and easy to fit. The company actually gets old ones, reconditions them and sells them again. They take pride in their work.
Barnesy
Reply By: gompy - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 18:14
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 18:14
Hi, I have a 400amp solenoid with override switch from 4wd systems and I am very happy with it. the kit fitted
well, it came with cables, connectors etc.
cheers.
Reply By: warthog - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 21:07
Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 21:07
I've got a 4wd systems dual battery tray and isolator. No problems at all with it. Had a mate who is an auto sparky fit the solenoid about 3 years ago and it is still working
well with the same optima batteries.
I've bought quite a bit of gear from them and it has all worked. The only problem I had was a long wait on
the springs I ordered through them. I found out the manufacturer was Industrial Springs in
Adelaide and I rang them to find out how long before they could supply some springs. Got them about a week later. Next time I'll deal with Industrial Springs direct if poss.
Reply By: TroopyTracker - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 09:51
Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 09:51
I've had the 4wd systems "blue box" for about 6 years. I bolted it in and connected it up and it has been working since.....Our engel went in the car about the same time. It has been off for a total of about a month since then.
Did you read my query to you on another thread re getting at the filter in your vehicle with a ARB tray (read PITA)??
Matt