Tarago 4WD ??

Submitted: Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 12:58
ThreadID: 47318 Views:8679 Replies:5 FollowUps:0
I was overtaken this morning by a Tarago type vehicle that had a chrome 4WD badge on the lower left rear & a name that looked like ESTINA on the right side.
Definately a Toyota badge in the middle. No obvious increase in ground clearance,
though this thing was so overloaded that the rear tyres were all but flat & the lpg
tank seemed inches from the ground. It was only doing around 140k as well.
No doubt the learned souls on this forum can elaborate ? ....oldbaz.

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy- Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 13:08

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 13:08
Mate they are a grey import heaps of them around. I think they are imported to brisbane.
TB
2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 250291

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 13:09

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 13:09
ESTIMA ... a second-hand import from Japan more than likely.
AnswerID: 250292

Reply By: The Explorer - Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 16:16

Monday, Jul 02, 2007 at 16:16
en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_Previa

AnswerID: 250325

Reply By: BenSpoon - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 15:40

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 15:40
Its a Japanese grey import- Different specs levels are Lumina and Emina's.
In Aus its a Tarago.. in others its a Estima or Previa.
2.2L turbo diesel 4WD or 2L petrol- 2WD and 4WD options.
AnswerID: 250511

Reply By: Member - Dale A (VIC) - Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 20:55

Thursday, Jul 05, 2007 at 20:55
never understood the point of these estina vehicles.

I'm not a people mover fan, but those with more than 3 kids need something.

For my money , in the same market is the jap import ( again ) Mitsubishi Delicia.

At least it's got some pajero running gear on underneath ( and the 2.8td )

I've seen one of these with a small lift and decent tyres on it on a high country track and while i reckon it would be slightly scary with a bit of a sideways lean happening , the owner was having a great time and going places i really didnt think it would go.

He was very happy with it.

Dale
AnswerID: 250958