Off Line and On Track

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 16:06
ThreadID: 47363 Views:2534 Replies:8 FollowUps:7
At last 2007's adventure begins...............

Planning, Organising, Repairing, Packing....what else have I forgotten???

Today, as a last minute afterthought, me mate George insisted that we have a look at the trailer bearings(I did look at them in July last year but obviously not well enough)....... and just as well. Two stuffed roller bearings and two stuffed races. They weren't all that bad but could have let go in the desert somewhere remote. So now we are all feeling very pleased with the repairs.

Tomorrow it is off to Warraweena to set up the National Gathering Camp and then next week George and I take a slow trip north via the Simpson and some remote places to the Alice and then dirt roads all the way to Darwin. I should be back home by September.

Redback and his family dropped in for a cuppa today on their way to the Flinders and the Gathering and there are heaps of 4x4's towing camper trailers and caravans moving through town.

So I will CYA all sometime later. Be good and don't get into too much strife while I'm away........LOL

Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 16:10

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 16:10
Planning, Organising, Repairing, Packing....what else have I forgotten???

To pack me somewhere in that vehicle of yours :)

Have a good trip and keep us posted with the daily happenings.

AnswerID: 250517

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 16:24

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 16:24
Yeah, sorry you can't make it Kev.

Not sure if there is wireless in the ranges. I know my Next G won't work there. But there is bound to be someone with the latest technology gizmo to broadcast stuff...lol

FollowupID: 511674

Reply By: PeteS - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 16:30

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 16:30
Ahhhhhhhh well........
We can't make it but will be thinking of you all.
I'm sure there will be many a yarn and a few stretched truths during the next week.
Maybe a few ears burning of those not attending also?

Best wishes for great gathering.
Thanks also Willem for the great organisation on behalf of all.

PeteS

AnswerID: 250520

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 18:57

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 18:57
Never let the trutth get in the way of a good story....LOL

Thanks for the good wishes.

FollowupID: 511713

Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 17:46

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 17:46
Good onya Willem, you make it sound like you are going on a casual stroll up the street to get the morning paper!! Sounds like a great trip to me & bet it will be. Good luck to you & your mate & have a safe trip. Looking forward to future posts about your adventures.

AnswerID: 250538

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 19:04

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 19:04
Cheers Barry. I will be off the air until spring, hopefully.

FollowupID: 511717

Reply By: Gob & Denny - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 18:00

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 18:00
goodday willem
where do you reckon you will be mid august we may be around alice for a few days about then
got to be home by the 29 of august

AnswerID: 250543

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 18:59

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 18:59
G'day Steve

Dunno mate. I reckon I will be somewhere in the Top End. I have to get out and stay out of this cold climate.

FollowupID: 511714

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 18:24

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 18:24
Have a great trip Willem, and I'm sure that the gathering will be a blast!!!!

We will be in the Alice early in August, no set dates but will say Hi if we see you.

D&B

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 250549

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 19:00

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 19:00
D&B

We might be in Alice around that time.

My Nissan is easy to spot. Its the one with all the dents .........LOL

FollowupID: 511715

Reply By: Des Lexic - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 18:32

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 18:32
Let the Scheming begin behind your back. LOL
AnswerID: 250554

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 19:02

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 19:02
Hey Uncle Donut!!!!!

How many times have I said "You'll keep"

Well its Payback Time....hahahahahaha

CYA there

FollowupID: 511716

Reply By: Member - Luke (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:00

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:00
I wish I could just nick off for couple of months at a time and not have to worry about too much back at home, mmmmmmm that might mean I'm getting old.

Ducking for cover from all the older people out there lol

Cheers Luke
AnswerID: 250571

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:15

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 20:15
Knowing what I know now, I wish I was your age again! It could be a riot.

Yer have to earn your stripes matey, and that takes a while....LOL

FollowupID: 511728

Reply By: Motherhen - Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 22:17

Tuesday, Jul 03, 2007 at 22:17
Have a great adventure Willem and George. I know your stories will be worth waiting for.

Motherhen & Rooster

AnswerID: 250617