Diesel Tachometer for Dieselgas

Submitted: Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 15:44
ThreadID: 47456 Views:7779 Replies:6 FollowUps:8
Got a question thats a bit long winded. I have a 80 Series with a 1hz n/a with diesel gas. I had it tuned yesterday and the program they use has a tacho come up on the computer screen. I asked the bloke where it takes its reading from. Out of the back of the alternator. They do something in there so that it can pick up the speed. So I asked if I got a electric tacho and ran the wire that is meant to go to the coil on a petrol car to this wire would it work? He said that is should. I bought a cheap tacho from the wreckers this morning and have wired it up red to positive, black to negative, White also to positive(back light) and green to this mysterious wire out the back of the alternator. It dosent seem to do much except bounce around a little. So has anyone out there fitted a tacho to a diesel with or with out dieselgas. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Matt

Reply By: KSV- Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 16:12

Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 16:12
==> So I asked if I got a electric tacho and ran the wire that is meant to go to the coil on a petrol car to this wire would it work? He said that is should.

LOL!!! LMAO!!! ROFLMAO!!!

Mate, do you always believe all those hmm.... ... whatever...

You can get data from alternator, but you need special circuit to read those very small pulses. Plus you also need to know how many phases alternator has (usually 3) and what is ratio between engine pulley and alternator one, and this is vary dramatically from car to car. Ordinary aftermarket tachos use incredibly high voltage impulse in ignition wire to get data and this method does not require any calibration (apart of knowing how many cylinders in car). Getting data in diesel clumsier. Toyota uses special sender in high pressure pump for example. Also I have read somewhere that there is aftermarket tacho that uses pulses from pipe to one of injectors. I was thinking to get one by myself, but did not like it because it totally digital. For tune-up I am using optical tacho and plan to make similar for permanent installation.

AnswerID: 251081

Follow Up By: Matt(WA) - Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 19:26

Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 19:26
Glad to keep you amused. I am a tradie myself(Fridgy) and run my own business and when people ask me for advice I always make sure it is right. I am not an auto sparky nor do I pretend to be that is why I took his word for it. So yeah I do like to think that there are still some honest tradies out there that will give you advice that is correct.
Matt

FollowupID: 512268

Follow Up By: BIG_red87 - Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 20:34

Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 20:34
KSV acts like a smart arse but can't string a sentence together for schit
LOL HAHA ROFL ROFLMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 512283

Follow Up By: pt_nomad - Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 20:51

Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 20:51
"I am a tradie myself(Fridgy) and run my own business and when people ask me for advice I always make sure it is right."

As far as Matt is concerend, I think thats a pretty fair statement.

A few weeks ago I emailed him a an evakool fridge question via the forum. He took the time to give me good honest advice - Thanks.

Paul.
FollowupID: 512287

Follow Up By: KSV- Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 15:46

Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 15:46
re: BIG_red87
Yep, my lad, your would be amazed, but I even have not got VCE (live in Melbourne) because English is my third language. How many languages do you can read/write/speak fluently, my friend?
LOL HAHA ROFL ROFLMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
PS BTW it is not you those mechanic?!?
FollowupID: 512339

Follow Up By: KSV- Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 15:56

Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 15:56
To Matt(WA)
I have been amused by fact that you blindly believe unknown mechanic. Found knowledgeable one today is a big luck - should you struck one then do not go away from him.
FollowupID: 512343

Reply By: Mark Taylor - Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 17:50

Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 17:50
A lot of manufacturers make alternator tachos. Like VDO for example. The pick up their pulse from the N or S terminal on a star wound stator or from one phase on a delta wound stator. These points produce an Ac wave and the tacho actually measures this. Of course, the ratio of the alternator and crankshaft pulley goes into the equation. The calculation allows for 2% belt slippage.

Clever little gnomes these germans.

But, not to worry about all the technical stuff, go and find a specialised instrrument dealer like one of the VDO service agents and they will sort you out. (I was one for near 27 years here in Brisbane)

Mark T

AnswerID: 251103

Follow Up By: KSV- Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 17:54

Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 17:54
I have enquired them. Lovely stuff, but way too pricey. (I mean VDO). And I do not know who else produce alternator-driven tachos.
FollowupID: 512249

Reply By: Matt(WA) - Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 19:17

Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 19:17
I have found these which I think I will go for

www.fdrive.com.au/products/05/tiny.php

They have a dealer in welshpool in perth. They said to come up and they will check tranducer size for me. About $150.
Matt

AnswerID: 251117

Follow Up By: KSV- Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 16:00

Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 16:00
Yep, I refer to this in my first replay. I was thinking about it, but finelly decide not to go because it has only digital readout, but obviously it is personal. Trying to construct my own optical sender and make it compatible with "ordinary petrol" tachos. Should I sucseed will post it here.
FollowupID: 512344

Reply By: Max - Sydney - Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 20:46

Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 20:46
Matt

The 80 series GXL has an electric tacho, so since they all seem to have the same wiring loom chances are the signal is available in the circuitry somewhere.

My Gregory's for the diesel 80s shows the tacho in the wiring diagrams, fed by a black wire from the "pickup sensor". You'd have to be able to find the wire somewhere - the book says nothing in the text that i can see about where the sensor is though. I reckon I'd scratch around in the back of the instrument panel looking for a black wire heading for the general area of the speedo, and see if you can get a signal off it.

The other possibility is to go to the Landcruiser Owners on line site ( www.lcool.org/index.html ) and look for an article on the subject or ask the question there.

I reckon you have a chance
Max
AnswerID: 251131

Reply By: Rossco td105 - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 00:11

Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 00:11
Hey Matt,

Let me know if you need any wiring schematics for engine to tacho from a workshop manual. My 100 series with 1HZ has a factory tacho, can scan info from my Gregory's. Might be able to use this and modify for your vehicle?

Ross.
AnswerID: 251147

Follow Up By: KSV- Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 15:48

Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 15:48
Problem is his 1HZ luck of sender unit found in high pressure fuel pump. I am trying to resolve this tacho problem for 18 month.
FollowupID: 512341

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 20:31

Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 20:31
It seems to me that you have a few options, but you dont want to spend the money...the lpg tuners advice was good, maybe he wasnt expecting you to go to the wreckers and buy an aftermatket tacho from an old datto....
AnswerID: 251400