Submitted: Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 19:39
nifty-d
my parents recently befreinded a "
grey nomand" he travelled to tasmania and when there rang them appering to be "desperate" his bus had been broken into and his id and money stolen.
he asked them to lend him enough money to get home and promised to pay it back as soon as he get here and had his id sorted out.
my parents lent this man over 1,000 to get him home and havent heard from him since!!!!!!!!!
after contacting police they have found out the man is definatly back in the country and no police record was ever filed of a robbery!
please if you come across a man and woman driving a blue leyland 52ft bus rego ybn-n79 by the name of
cliff or clifford and kathlene
DO NOT UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCE'S LEND HIM MONEY HE IS A THEIF!!!!!!
if anyone knows of his where abouts please contact me!
my parents are good people who nearly broke themselves to help this "freind" out and i would hate to see him do this to anyone else!
Reply By: obee - Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 20:00
Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 20:00
Thanks for the reminder. I get enough problems from my own family but they get nothing from me anymore either.
Owen
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 20:09
Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 20:09
There really are some ba$tards out there :-(
Reply By: Love The Outback - Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 21:17
Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 21:17
Hi nifty-d
I believe you, but it is almost unbelievable what kind of mangle would do this.
Thanks for looking after everybody else.
Reply By: Eric Experience - Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 21:30
Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 21:30
nifty-d
Can you clarify the reg no, is there an n in the digits if so what state is it registered.
Eric.
Reply By: fisho64 - Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 21:45
Friday, Jul 06, 2007 at 21:45
Theres a saying that goes as follows;
"If you lend a bloke $20 and then never see him again, its probably the best $20 you've ever spent!"
Follow Up By: luch - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 23:12
Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 23:12
$20 isn't bad, but $1000 is a bit steep
Follow Up By: Voxson - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 17:22
Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 17:22
Yeah,, i have heard of that one.
Reply By: V64Runner - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 01:49
Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 01:49
Some miserable bastards out there. Makes you think twice about helping anyone out. Once bitten twice shy. Its the genuine ones that once you have been taken for a ride you dont stop for, for fear of beng caught for a sucker again. I got taken for a ride about 30 years ago and that taught me an expensive lesson. Dont even lend family money either, as they are the most unreliable of anyone to lend to. Hope you have luck in finding them. I know what I would be doing if I ever caught them - they would`nt be going far in too much of a hurry for a long time. Then Mr plod can deal with them - lock them up and throw the keys away
Reply By: Hairy - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 02:24
Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 02:24
If he comes this way I'll get your oldies money back!
Reply By: Member - Uncle (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 07:57
Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 07:57
If thats definitely the correct rego number, post the details on all the outdoors related forums, caravanning,camper trailer, overlander etc,4wd monthly & maybe some one will just happen to come across "Bonnie & Clyde" and give them a lesson on how to pay for things!! Never forget the time i nailed a guy for snatching a handbag off an old lady heading for bowls one day, took all her pension money to buy a bike for his son.Needless to say, he never got to the bike
shop with the money.!
Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 11:22
Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 11:22
Are you saying the cops can't find a 52' blue leyland bus?
Follow Up By: garrycol - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 11:53
Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 11:53
with the rego number
Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 16:34
Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 16:34
Well the cops are busy rounding up every Indian Doctor they can find at the moment....The Rego number could be ACT but the N does not fit.... The Cops should with 6 strokes on the keyboard be able to find the registered owner, unless of course this despotic duo don't own the bus or the plates are stolen.
Reply By: Diver1 - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 14:04
Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 14:04
tassie rego???
Laura
Reply By: Member - Peter R (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 14:21
Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 14:21
Sorry to hear of the problem, and I hope they catch up with these leeches.
Heard on the radio the other day that they were trying to get all governments to agree to a "vehicle tracking system" (or something like that) whereby vehicles rego details could be recorded on a computer system nationwide for all breaches ( incl murder,stolen cars,drive offs for fuel etc) .
These details are checked by cameras throughout the country and if a vehicle with registered number passes it alerts the police immediately.
An example given was that a bloke wanted for murder in England was caught when he did a drive off without paying for fuel.
It is also the method they caught the 2 doctors on the freeway in England in the latest terrorism investigation,
If we had this system in place in Aust maybe the bonnie and clyde would be caught very quickly.
Pedro
Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 16:38
Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 16:38
We do have a system of sorts.... Uses the heavy vehicle tracking cameras but can if a specific vehicle eg, a blue leyland bus, be used to track it's whereabouts. Of course the vehicle has to pass thru a camera station or heavy vehicle checking station before it's location can be logged...
Reply By: Mark R - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 15:48
Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 15:48
Hi Nifty,
While I feel for your parents if they have been ripped off in the way you say, nevertheless I think it's poor form to make such accusations on a public
forum where the tendency is to condemn rather than have an open mind (note how other have jumped on the bandwagon without questioning the facts). I prefer the innocent till proven guilty approach though if guilt is proven then may the guilty feel the full force of the law. I think rather than just warning us by telling the story, you have provided too much identifying information on a public
forum while maintaining the luxury of a screen name and thereby maintaining your own anonymity. I don't think this
forum should be the place for this sort of vengefulness.
Not meaning any offence.
Follow Up By: Mr Fawlty - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 16:49
Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 16:49
Nifti, while I agree with your sentiments it's obvious that these people have been frustrated by the lack of help from the
Police. Yes it's sad to have to go public but at times it's one of those things you have to do to get some action. Ok say this is some sort of malicious joke, or the alleged perpetrators have actually put a cheque in the mail and Australia post is at fault? This would appear to be about the only recourse these people have, maybe even if constable plod reads this and thinks 'I can fix this... why wasn't I told" then that is a good result. If these people can prove their innocence let them be found and prove it.
The author you state has the privelige of anonimity, this is only temporary, if the author needs finding believe me he/she can be found as I discovered recently when I was being harrassed by offensive email. The problem we all face is the lack of interest on the part of the authorities unless you can cajol or embarass them into action.
Follow Up By: macca172 - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 17:56
Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 17:56
I agree totally, this is an unproven allegation and the posting of a rego number, I would "stongly" suggest, breaches most states privacy act's for starters. Additionally from my legal experience, you could find yourself subject to defamation if the person described can legaly argue his intent to return all monies. My suggestion, the police have the rego number and vehicle description, delete the rego of the alleged person(s) vehicle from your post. Sure I agree, describe the incident and a general location of the alleged office, a desciption of the alleged offender(s) and leave it that.
Macca
Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 18:23
Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 18:23
Yeah dont persecute the thieves in this world, I mean where would we be with out them?
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 20:39
Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 20:39
Blessed be the law breakers.
Monty Python knows all,
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 00:32
Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 00:32
I tend to agree also Mark/Macca,
posting the rego is a little risky. We dont seem to have been told when this person had agreed to pay this money back or under what particular circumstances, its all open to interpretation and he may have a different view or recollection of it?
Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 00:33
Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 00:33
It can take quite a while to sort out a stolen ID?
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:44
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:44
Sorry, but I think you "bleeding heart" types need to get a grip!!! This bloke has taken advantage of the good-nature of these lovely folk. Sure, there is a remote possibility that he/they may simply have forgotten about the $1,000- they owe, or the ID situation may not yet be resolved.
But hang on a minute..............put yourself in their (the couple in the Leyland bus) shoes for a minute. If YOU suffered the alleged misfortune that they did, AND you had the audacity in desperation of contacting aquaintances to ask for a lazy kay as a loan AND you were fair-dinkum about paying it back................wouldn't you be contacting these nice people to let them know that there has been some sort of "snafu" and that they would have to wait a bit longer for the dosh to be repaid? I know I would (and I'm sure you and every other EO member would too).
No, in this case, I think it is quite in order to post-up the rego number and names of these 2 "robbers"......Okay, okay, if they are NOT robbers, then by putting this post up on here there may be a positive outcome. EG: if I were to see that Leyland bus around here (Kadina SA), I would sidle-up to the occupants and strike up a conversation with them. I would enquire of their names and whether they'd like a loan of any money (assuming they look like they're doing it tough). If they said "yes", I would ask them to sit tight whilst I went to work (ie the bank) to get them some cash. I would get the coppers (I have a few mates locally who wear the uniform, and one who doesn't)......they could explain their desperate situation to these lovely blokes. If they are innocent, I'm sure the truth will emerge in short order and all will be well with the world once more.
Follow Up By: Mark R - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 19:48
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 19:48
Roachie, have to disagree. Much too easy to make an accusation in this sort of public
forum with absolutely no basis in fact. I don't know Nifty from a bar of soap and I would suggest that at least 99% of people who visit ExplorOz wouldn't either. Although I have no reason to suspect his honesty or motives, I can't just condemn someone on his sayso. Very easy for me to claim that YOU have committed some dastardly offence. You would get on the
forum and deny it but the damage will have been done - bleep sticks rightly or wrongly.
Let me give a hypothetical example. I'm a bit of a psychopath driving along the highway and you pull out in front of me. In my mind you've cut me off. I see your ExplorOz wheel cover and get your rego number. I log onto the website and tell everyone you interfered with my underage daughter. All of a sudden a well known and respected (and entertaining) member of the ExplorOz community stands accused in a public
forum by a completely unknown individual. You will deny it. Some members won't believe the accusation. Some members are not sure and go with the accusation. Many unthinking visitors believe. Your reputation has been irrepairably damaged despite the whole thing being pure fabrication perpetrated maliciously because of the misinterpretation of a paranoid mind.
It happens mate. I'm not a bleeding heart - just the opposite but cannot support accusations made in this context when I don't know the facts.
Best wishes mate and no offence,
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 19:58
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 19:58
You have made a good point there Mark and I can see why you blokes have taken the stance you have.
I guess I live in a bit of a "fantasy" world whereby people wouldn't dream of doing something as low as falsely accusing somebody of some dastedly deed. I wouldn't do it to anybody else, so I guess I (wrongly) "expect" that nobody would do it to me.
What a shame the world has come to this level of demeanour.
Good onya mate and thanks for the analogy which has put me "in my place".....
All the best and hope I can buy you a
beer one day.
Follow Up By: Mark R - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 08:33
Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 08:33
Cheers Roachie,
Hopefully our paths will cross and I will be able to hold you to that
beer. Just don't pull out in front of me on the highway.....OR ELSE.....hahahahaha (hollow, psychopathic laugh).
Best wishes mate,
Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 01:18
Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 01:18
He may even be driving to your folks place to pay them back in person!!
Although I doubt that very much, it may happen.
Reply By: Wizard1 - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 11:17
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 11:17
Who gives a complete stranger over $1000 to start with. Sorry but I trust no one and this seems to confirm my reasons why.
I've had people wave us down
on the road too. Windows get wound down just enough to hear what they have to say and the doors stay locked. Heard too many bad stories to trust people too much nowadays.
But money...really.
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 11:25
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 11:25
That's sad, I hope I never become like that.
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:48
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:48
Gotta agree with you there Mike.......it really is a sad indication of what the country has come to when some of our EO folk think that way. I will still pull over if I see a stranded vehicle in need of assistance.
Follow Up By: Bros 1 - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 00:27
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 00:27
Mike & Roachie,
Sorry to reply this late but work has been in the way.
I can appreciate your sentiments and mine were exactly the same until the missus and myself missed out on possibly getting murdered back in 1976/7 in northern
outback Qld. Was stationed at a place 52k east of Julia Ck and 48k west of
Richmond.
We were on our fortnightly shopping trip to
Richmond when we learned that an elderly couple had been found murdered beside the road just west of
Richmond.
The next day i worked out from the time given by the police of the murder that we went past the spot 10mins after it happened and the old couple were in the grass beside the road.
Up until that time i would have stopped for anyone, antime but since then i am very cautious indeed. Whether i stopped now would depend on a fair few circumstances.
If you are just a normal sort of person and someone has evil intentions then you are dead set behind the eight ball in avoiding trouble.
Just an experience that changed my ideas.
Bros.
Follow Up By: The Landy - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 08:42
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 08:42
Look at the tragedy of the solicitor that was shot dead in
Melbourne simply for coming to the assistance of someone in need.
I think most in here would find it hard not too help someone in need, but the cost of doing so these days can be high......in this case they only lost a grand...the
Melbourne family have lost a father and husband...I can understand people thinking twice about helping after that incident.
Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 09:11
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 09:11
We must, each, follow our conscience for we will surely be answerable to it.
Reply By: Peter - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 14:57
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 14:57
Did this person actually commit an offence? He doesn't seem to have stolen the money, it was given to him (albeit under false) and therefore maybe the Police can't take action even if they wanted to. Yes it was a low act, but the money was 'loaned'. Personally, whilst I would always try to assist a fellow traveller etc.. I doubt I would loan an unknown person $1000. (I'd even have to think about $100).
Follow Up By: AdlelaideGeorge - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 16:00
Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 16:00
Most States have enacted legislation to cover this species of 'theft' - for example: "Obtaining a pecuniary advantage by deception" because you're correct - the elements of theft (or larceny) are difficult to prove in such circumstances as are described in this case.
Happy days
Geo
Reply By: nifty-d - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 08:32
Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 08:32
for those who think im lying or jumping the gun the money was arranged to be paid back no later then the 1st of july in cash at my parents address.
this man's phone is know disconnected and he HAS NOT CONTACTED THEM AT ALL WHICH ANY DECENT PERSON WOULD DO AND COULD DO UNLESS SOMEHOW THEY HAD BROKEN THEIR JAW OR HAD THEIR VOCAL CORDS REMOVED!!!!!!!
im happy to answer any questions regarding myself just ask them if you need to know!
i did not post this because someone had cut me off
on the road and i felt like a bit of revenage i posted because my parents are good people who tried to HELP a freind and got ripped off! the police have an alert on the bus but arent activly trying to find it what these people did is not a high priority to them!
for those who asked the bus has ACT rego.
as in the other example's brought up of being once bitten twice shy my parents will never again help anyone outside of immediate family and i doubt that i or my partner will eithier its a damn shame that the world is going this way because of scum like the ones mentioned.
Follow Up By: nifty-d - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 08:39
Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 08:39
peter these werent unknokn strangers they had known mum and dad for over a year and had been "freinds" with them they left a vechile at my parents which is why they lent the money thinking of course they would be back because we have their car here.
Follow Up By: Peter - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 20:03
Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 20:03
nifty-d
Please be assured I'm not doubting your post. It's just going to be very difficult to get assistance from the police because in their view there may not have been an actual crime committed. Your parents loaned the money in good faith. Technically it wasn't stolen, they handed it over willingly in the mistaken belief it would be repaid. The other persons involved will probably claim your parents 'gave' them the money (or even worse deny that it even happened). It would come down to your parents word against the other persons. It could go to court but at what further expense? Hopefully your parents will recover their money. Good luck with it
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 17:15
Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 17:15
Okay Nifty,
If your folks have their car "as security", then that tends to change the situation a bit. My suggestion would be for you/them to disable the vehicle (distibutor cap removal or steering lock etc), to help avoid them coming back in the dead of night to "steal" their own car. This assumes the car is worth more than $1,000- (to make it worth their while to actually return for it).
Although your parents have no "legal" right to the vehicle, they do have the benefit of "possession is 9/10ths of the law" adage on their side.;-))
Reply By: AdlelaideGeorge - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 14:25
Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 14:25
An 'actual crime' may well have been committed-please see my comment above. In such a case (if there is such an offence as referred to above in the jurisdiction in which the matter occurred) the deceptive representation made by the alleged perpetrator (that the money was requested as and understood to be by the 'victim' by virtue of the words or conduct of the perpetrator prior to the obtaining, to be a loan to be repaid) vitiates the victims consent. If the deception is the cause of the obtaining and the perpetrator knows deliberately or recklessly that the deceptive representation is false - they're gone! Easy!
Happy days
George
Reply By: ross - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 17:45
Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 17:45
By allowing their number plate to be taken and leaving a car as security does not sound like it was part of planned con job.
Sounds more like a couple that live beyond their means. They may have honestly thought they could repay the money and have since found they couldnt.
They probably make it sit better with their conscience by knowing they left a car behind.
Its no excuse but their are plenty of people who think like this.
I doubt the cops will be able to do anything unless its as AdelaideGeorge says and they knowingly set out to commit a crime.
Reply By: nifty-d - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 18:20
Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 18:20
well they knowingly lied to us and led us to believe they where in a desperate situation which the police have followed up and found to be completly untrue. unfortunatlly the police cant do much else as its a civil matter and we would need to take them to court to get the money back, which means we would need to find them.
roachie unfortunatlly the car is not worth the money loaned dad has disabled it so if they show they will have to talk to him to get the car. mum and dad knew the car wasnt worth what they where lending but they have huge hearts and wanted to help
weather this was intentinal or people living beyond there means i would hate for them to do this again to someone else hence my original post.
Follow Up By: ross - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 17:51
Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 17:51
I wasnt make excuses for them,they deserve to be caught up with.
I can just see my elderly parents helping out someone like these so I may print off a sheet and show them;)