Off Road Campers

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 13:43
ThreadID: 47470 Views:3137 Replies:8 FollowUps:22

I am wanting to purchase an off road camper. As there is so many to choose from, I have my sight set on the Canning 4x4 Camper. If anyone has purchased one I'd love to hear any comments you may have. Any information regarding Campers would be helpful.

Noel

Reply By: T-Ribby - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 14:46

Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 14:46
Hi Noel
A good place to start is:
www.campertrailers.org/

T.R.
AnswerID: 251184

Reply By: Harry - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 16:48

Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 16:48
G'day,
Had the same problem when I bought mine, but eliminated 95% when I decided to go hard floor.
You need to look at a few to see what you get for your dollars, then decide how much you can afford.
There are lots of different things to consider, like inside or outside kitchen or do your own kitchen thing, independent or leaf sprung and you can get all new leaf suspension with shockers from southern Cross Campers.
How many do you need to fit in when bedding down.
Do you want annexe, do yo need serious offroad.
Stone guard, how much water do you need, and the list goes on.
Also you might get a good deal on 2nd hand.
I myself decided on a Cub Camper serious offroad with leaf springs with ultimate shockers, got the same camper as a Kimberley model but paid $7000 less apart from the independent suspension which by the way can add another $3000 to the price.
Do your homework look at as many you can, have fun and great way to camp, especially when it's raining. I already have a good tent , but they can develop little holes eventually so hard floor for us now.
Go for it
AnswerID: 251191

Reply By: Grungle - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 18:50

Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 18:50
Hi Noel,

Go to a Caravan & Camping show and look at everything. I really believe that you need to get in, sit on, lie on, open, close and fiddle with everything before deciding on something that you 'should' have for years to come. Thats what we did (twice now) and have not regreted our decision yet. A show basically brings the campers to your doorstep for you to test out.

There is such a long list of criteria for choosing something such as a camper - especially nowadays where money is no object.

AnswerID: 251207

Reply By: fujimiester - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 20:25

Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 20:25
I regret buying mine because it didn't have a hard floor. I have since bot a SC tent and used the rest of the money to buy 4wd accessories for my playdoe.
fm
AnswerID: 251220

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 00:40

Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 00:40
If you are after a H/D off road camper, which suggests you intend doing some H/D offroading with it, then weight is by far a bigger concern than some people realise.

Yes it will need to be rugged, strong, practical, well made and of coarse carry water and other stuff, but if you have ever tried to drag a trailer that weighs 1400kg over sand hills you quickly realise that you've got the wrong camper.

AnswerID: 251268

Reply By: Member - colin M (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 15:35

Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 15:35
Did an around Aussie with an Aussie Swag 2003 modle last year great performer and very red dust tight. Have a look at our photos on www.flickr/photos/morleytravels
AnswerID: 251334

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 16:53

Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 16:53
Look and look at lots and lots ,then try and hire at least a soft floor side fold for a w/end then hire a hard floor rear fold for a w/end , work out the $$$$$ s then work out what you "need" as per space , kitchen ect ect , we are on our 3rd c/t , needless to say that styles and needs change with the years as does the budget , if for instance you do mainly a static camp a large side fold is the go , but if your into more of the touring type and have to put up and put down camp every nite or 2 then a hard floor is SO much easier at the expense of "room" , also be very aware of claims "can be set up in 5 min" as most salesmen will claim. Have yet to see any one set up a side fold in any reasonable rainproof/storm imminent fashion in less than 1/2 to 1hr.
AnswerID: 251345

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 10:32

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 10:32
I think your last sentence will mislead the OP. I have seen many over the side CTs set up for overnight in well under 1/2 an hour, including my own Track Desert Eagle.
I agree that rear fold are a little easier, but you really compromise on usable storage space.
FollowupID: 512566

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 12:28

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 12:28
Shaker , reread my last sentence , nothing to do with a quicky set up for o/nite , as stated I have yet to see ANY soft floor side fold set up in less than a 1/2 hr that would suffice in a rainstorm ,
FollowupID: 512575

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 13:08

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 13:08
What do you need for a rainstorm, other than the tent folded out & maybe the front awning, which can be folded up in situ.
FollowupID: 512581

Follow Up By: Brew34.5(SA) - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 08:50

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 08:50
I don't think i have ever seen one set up in over half an hour.Ours is 5 mins max.
FollowupID: 512733

Reply By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 05:59

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 05:59
Get a Trak Shak.
10 min set up and pack up.
Has great independant suspension.
A good tough unit, that willl just waddle along behind you, no matter where you go
AnswerID: 251444

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 13:26

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 13:26
The day that I see someone set up and pack up in 10 min as per your rig pic photos will be the day that pink pigs fly , we all like to think it only takes 5/10 min but then we all think that "ours" is the best aka speed/room/ease/go anywhere ect ect.because it is "ours" and we paid good money for it.
FollowupID: 512582

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 14:27

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 14:27
Many do think theirs is the best & all others inferior, but I genuinely believe that they are all a compromise .... including mine!
The perfect camper trailer is yet to be designed, when it is, we will all have one!
FollowupID: 512589

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:06

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:06
Easily done mate ,,, called teamwork !

FollowupID: 512632

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:10

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:10
And if there is no team ?? as I said pink pigs fly.
FollowupID: 512633

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:12

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:12
A very true stetement, Shaker, they are all a compromise ,, some gr8 points, some not so gr8,, ..
We slepet in a mates Ultimate, for 4 nights, over in South Oz, recently, and although I liked the really quick set up time ,,, say 5 minutes, and the great bed, and all the compartments, we could not say that the Ultimate was good in bad weather, as there was no room to move. They are very small inside, but its all there like a small caranan.

Cheers Mate
FollowupID: 512635

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 23:08

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 23:08
I am fully prepared to challenge you on this one Axel, I reckon I can set mine up for a wet overnighter in under 15 mins, singlehanded. ( Although I fail to see why wet makes any difference, canvas is canvas.)
Why am I confident, because I have done it, it may take 5 mins longer to pack up on my own because of the logistics of folding canvas.
FollowupID: 512700

Follow Up By: Member - Bucky (VIC) - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 07:48

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 07:48
Hey Axle,,,, lost the bet yet ,,,
You really ought to have a good look at whats out on the market, and then go talk to the various owners.
Because the ideas at setting up campers are as varied as the campers themselves.
Some actually take 3 minutes, and before you say crap !, you should see just how easy this big fella fet up his " Kamparoo " trailer at Chambers Pillar, last year. made us look slow.

Unbelieveable,, but still true !
FollowupID: 512719

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 16:38

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 16:38
Sorry boys and girls none of you have yet even come close to realy reading or understanding my statement and stance on so called "5min" setup times , A: you have your run of the mill side fold with 8 to 14ft tent section , unclip/unzip your cover and fold or roll out of the way , start to pull out tent ,and peg floor down ,adjust inside bows and if a 12/14footer tension extra internal poles , flip annex roof over and proceed to put upto 7 poles and ropes in place , if you dont put up the annex roof as a bare minimum pray tell me how you cook in the pissin down wind and rain on your tailgate mounted kitchen , and if any of you are game for a bet you are welcome to try to prove me wrong anytime in my backyard in the rain , 1 person put up a run of the mill side fold in 5 min , PINK PIGS FLY.
FollowupID: 512788

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 16:49

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 16:49
I must have been dudded when I bought mine, I only got 3 awning poles!
FollowupID: 512793

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 17:08

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 17:08
Shaker no you didnt get dudded , it just means you bought a toy , the whole purpose of the side fold design is "ROOM" and if your happy with a tiny annex that only uses 3 poles so be it ,on our last side fold the annex was 18ft long by 9ft wide , twas recently for sale and is now sold , every prospective buyers comment was "its BIG" , space required for a full set up was a minimmum of 30x30ft to peg out annex +awnings ect ect. ... our new rear fold Campomatic only requires a footprint of 15x30ft for a full set up.
FollowupID: 512798

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 22:39

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 22:39
You have finally been caught out on your ignorance opf camper trailers, if you call a Track trailer a toy.
BTW what brand was yours???
I have just worked out that if your annexe was 9' feet wide, then your trailer must have 21' wide ..... hmmmm!
You are digiing a deeper hole with each post.
FollowupID: 512867

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 17:25

Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 17:25
Shaker ,all I see in your replies is that you cant even do simple maths , 9 ft wide annex + 7 ft long trailer "box " + draw bar and your up for 21 feet already , add in rope and peg room and what have you got ?? so bloody close to 30ft its not funny , then do the math for width , trailer 5ft wide +14ft tent section = ohh no 19ft already, add in the tent wall that also becomes an awning = 26ft wide + add ropes and pegs and your at the 30ft mark , PACIFIC all alloy c/t ,redback canvas.
New camper is Campomatic Ranger MK111 , end of story.
FollowupID: 512973

Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 23:50

Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 23:50
Sounds like you created a 'monster' which is unfair to judge other side folds off.
Looks like you better check the floor on your new Campomatic!
FollowupID: 513064

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 13:09

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 13:09
No Shaker ,its no monster , all it shows is that you who portrays himself as as an expert on camper trailer design and size knows literally jack about the subject , as for the floor of the Campomatic I have no need to in your words "check it" , I at least know the materials and design and method of construction ,not like yourself who needs a photo to drool over. Bout time you went back to the classroom and learned how to add and how to tell time ,
FollowupID: 513108

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 16:35

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 16:35
Sorry was only advice, I thought I read in the other thread, to which you contributed absolutely nothing, as with this one, that a Campomatic had a rotted chipboard floor, hmmmm ..... maybe I can't read either!

At least I can involve myself in a discussion without resorting to personal attacks.

Camper trailer that needs 900 square feet to set up, not a monster?
FollowupID: 513143

Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 16:58

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 16:58
Axel, I have to admit that I can't read either, it wasn't a Campomatic that Pesty had, so my apologies in suggesting yours may have a problem.
FollowupID: 513145

Follow Up By: Axel [ the real one ] - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 17:32

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 17:32
Shaker , just go back and READ my original reply to the original post , IE: claims made by salesmen about 5min set up ,that is all, no more ,no nothing , we are on our 3rd c/trailer , before buying the Campomatic we looked and looked and had many a disscussion with makers and salesmen , one very memorable sight was a maker/salesman on the nth side of Brisvegas who tried so hard to secure an "order" that he bet me $100 that he could set up his 9ft side fold in the "magic" 5min , was the easiest $100 I ever made.
FollowupID: 513149

Follow Up By: Brew34.5(SA) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 19:54

Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 19:54
!MPG:23!
FollowupID: 513172