Pressurising hilux canopy
Submitted: Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 15:38
Member - Paul S (VIC)
To keep dust from entering my hilux tailgate when travelling on dusty roads/tracks, I open the small sliding window at the front of the canopy and the intake of air creates positive pressure.
The air flow through the canopy also keeps the engel running more efficiently in hot conditions.
However, if vehicles are coming the other way, their dust can be drawn in and as the small window can only be accessed from inside the canopy, the vehicle needs to be stopped to open or close it.
I have been thinking about fitting either a small pneumatic cylinder or a push/pull cable to allow remote operation whilst on the move. If anyone has come up with a similar or better system, I would appreciate you sharing it with me.
Shep
Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 16:11
Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 16:11
I have seen canopies that have used a marine vent with a filter attached to removed the dust. The vent is
water proof due to it's intended application and it only works when you are travelling, i.e. forward momentum creates a positive pressure.
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Member - Paul S (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 16:30
Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 16:30
Thanks Kev, these are most likely mounted on the roof and I was hoping to avoid any extra height; I currently just get into 2.1 metre clearance carparks. Worth considering though if it can be fitted almost flush.
Shep
Follow Up By: Kev M (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 16:37
Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 16:37
Have you tried looking at the standard pop up ones then and putting a filter on them instead, just don't don't use it in the rain :)
ATM I can't get into a 2.1m car
park and it is a PITA, but the high roof canopy and rack far out way the inconvenience of car parks, I prefer to keep away from them.
Kev
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Reply By: Crackles - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 20:28
Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 20:28
Paul I had success sealing out the dust completly by fitting a couple of short strips of steel on each side of ute bed to overlap the tailgate then running a rubber seal around (Clarke rubber has heaps to choose from). In spots where there is a larger gap I just neatly filled with silastic, covered in gladwrap & closed the tailgate to mould a perfect seal.
Cheers Craig................
Follow Up By: Member - Paul S (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 21:35
Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 21:35
G'day Crackles,
I have already run some of the self adhesive Clark Rubber strip around the tailgate gap, but I have found it difficult to positively seal and with the sort of use it gets, keep it in good condition.
The silastic and gladwrap is worth investigating though.
Shep
Reply By: sdr00y - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 21:06
Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 21:06
I used to have my venting system permanently placed in the passenger side sliding window of my canopy. (which is not going to help if you don't have sliding windows! But I shall proceed anyway)
I siliconed, on the inside, a piece of metal from the back of a washing machine or fridge. The metal had been pressed so that it had raised slots in it which vented hot air in its original purpose. I cut the metal so the raised side was diagonally vertical and had the raised side out, thus catching the air as I drove forward. When I wanted to get air in I would open the window. The forward travel caused positive ventilation. If it was raining or I wanted to be more secure I closed the window. I used the passenger side so the least amount of dust from oncoming vehicles would enter. I never used a filter and I never had a problem with dust in the tray from oncoming vehicles or from being sucked in via the tailgate.
Reply By: sdr00y - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 21:10
Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 21:10
I just had a look at your rig. You could do it the way I suggest, but place it in the track the front window slides in. This would negate you being able to open the front window, but that happens! Just fit the metal plate in that track and fix it in. When you want to pressurise it open the rear window, when you don't just leave the window closed.
Follow Up By: Member - Paul S (VIC) - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 21:50
Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 21:50
Thanks for the lengthy suggestion sdr00y. Having either a side or the front window of the canopy open still means I have to stop the vehicle to close it and I have tried the passenger side window without success; still lets dust in.
Perhaps I am being too fussy or there is currently too much flow-through.
Shep
Reply By: Ron George - Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 22:20
Saturday, Jul 07, 2007 at 22:20
Paul. have you thought of running a eng bay blower, available from marine supply shops. Cheers Ron.
Follow Up By: Big Mike - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 11:26
Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 11:26
G'Day Ron,
Whats an engine bay blower and how does it work?
Ta
Follow Up By: Member - Paul S (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 11:26
Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 11:26
No idea what that is Ron, so will check at my local marine
shop.
Thanks for the suggestion.
Shep
Follow Up By: Ron George - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 16:07
Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 16:07
G/day Paul & BM engine bay blowers are usually located... yep in the engine bay of boats with inboard motors, in particular petrol motors, prior to start up the blowers are turned on for a few minutes to evacuate any fumes that may have built up from the last time that the motor was run, even the smallest leak has the potential for a huge explosion, I`m sure you`ve all seen footage of pleasure craft fires, I`m not saying they eliminate all fire risk, just that they would minimise the initial explosion, anyway before getting bogged down in the above I`ll cut to the chase. If Paul were to install one in the back of his rig all he need to do when traversing a dusty track is flick a switch in the cab, the blower provides a positive air pressure in the back keeping the dust out, it goes without saying that you do all the other dust eliminating procedures as
well then all the little ones that you miss/can`t get to will be taken care of by the blower; They don`t draw much current, the wiring is as simple as, & a hole to clean air inlet is the only cosmetic change needed. Simple but effective. Good luck. Cheers Ron.
Follow Up By: Big Mike - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 17:47
Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 17:47
Brilliant Ron, Thanks for that. Sounds like the go.
Follow Up By: Member - Paul S (VIC) - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 19:08
Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 19:08
Likewise Ron, maybe a computer fan is sufficient, thanks for the suggestion.
Shep