The simple life

Submitted: Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 07:21
ThreadID: 47495 Views:1957 Replies:5 FollowUps:3
Time to tell the story. Birdsville, Boulia, Longreach and home.
Tracks as smooth as a babys bottom. Sunlit days and early nights. No rain , no drama, no blown tyres or mechanical breakdowns in 4000K.
Staying at first class accom, breakfasts and posh teas. Saw tourist things I've never seen before. Min Min Centre, Stockmans Hall etc etc.
No, its not a dream.
And mostly on someone elses credit card.
Saw 3 live roos, about 50000 dead ones.
What a difference money can make :)))
Caught up with Brian at Birdsville, took him and passenger out to big red. Made them walk up "only for tourists, been there done that" and when they got to top, quietly drove up in 1st and offered them a lift back. Unprintable response heheheheh
I'd been threatening to get that Kiwi back for ages.
He's still here. Goes home on Thurs.

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 08:37

Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 08:37
Footy....
Loooooooved the Big Red bit!!!!!!!!

Good story mate!

AnswerID: 251278

Reply By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 08:51

Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 08:51
Good oya Footy had a good chuckle re Big Red.Lol
Good to see ya had a good trip also.
AnswerID: 251279

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 09:55

Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 09:55
Very generous footloose, to drive to the top of big red and bring them back down, so they didn't get too much sand in their boots :o)

Sounds like good trip.

Thanks for the report. Hope to get out that way in the next month or so.

FollowupID: 512434

Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 10:48

Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 10:48
Nice pic of Ben Lomond.

It's an even better trip up when it snows...

First snow trip I did was in my lowered EJ Holden with new girlfriend (now wife) and got to the top. There were no safety ropes then and the track was narrower (but not much!). Yes, I still have some photos to prove how crazy I was then....

Last time I went up was in Jan 2003, beautiful fine day just like in your pic.

FollowupID: 512441

Follow Up By: ZukscooterX90 (Qld) - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 20:38

Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 20:38
Yes that pic was taken last xmas new year.I walked up to the top as i was not sure our motor home would make it around the hair pins. You can just see the motor home in the parking area.Yes i did walk back & drove it back up so my wife who slept while i walked up could see the veiw from the top & also the village further up.Bloody fantastic area i think.
FollowupID: 512516

Reply By: Stu050 - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 13:14

Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 13:14
G'day Footy,
Glad you had a good trip.

After the treatment that you gave the "Kiwi", it may be prudent NOT to plan on a trip to Enzed for a while, but I surmise that he has a long (very) memory for that sort of thing.

AnswerID: 251311

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 13:18

Sunday, Jul 08, 2007 at 13:18
Now THAT'S humour in a dry place ..... :))

Did you have a couple of cold ones in the back for his effort ?
AnswerID: 251314

Reply By: Member - Jeff H (QLD) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 00:31

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 00:31
--or dry of humour in any place.
You're a doublepric Footyl.
First you bring over a WoolGrabber(or is that Trout Guide),
next you leave him high(ish) and dry
You're a worry, eh.[So why do I feel at home?]
Jeff H.
AnswerID: 251439