Australian mythical rights

Submitted: Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 19:53
ThreadID: 47559 Views:2563 Replies:17 FollowUps:7
Went down to a metal yard a couple of days ago to get a piece of aluminium for the 4WD. I know the owner and guys well and found them having a smoko when I arrived. Had a chat to the owner in his office then went out to the shed for a coffee with the guys.

There was a fella carrying on like a pork chop about his Rights to enter land that had been closed (irrespective of reason).

After being regaled with his rantings for a while, everyone was getting a bit peeved off.

I asked him what where the Rights he was referring to. The response:

"Bloody Australian Rights Mate".

Again I asked what these perceived Rights were. Second response:

"Listen smart a......, Australians have f......Rights".

Things got a bit heated after that and the owner asked him to leave.

On the way home I started to think about the perception of Rights in this country.

It would appear that many people think they have a Right to do anything. If things go wrong, or they don't get their way, then it's on the soap box screaming about these bloody mythical Rights!

Am I the only person getting irritated by this sort of behaviour?

Kim

Reply By: samsgoneagain - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:07

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:07
no youre not
AnswerID: 251568

Reply By: blackmax11 - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:15

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:15
I too have seen and heard similar idiot's. Need to send them to Iraq or similar place to learn to appreciate our country, real people and what we have.
They give me the sh.t's.
KEN
AnswerID: 251574

Reply By: Axel [ the real one ] - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:53

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 20:53
Thing is that some so called "rights" are mythical whereas others are actual and are entrenched in our constitution , part of the problem of our mythical rights is that we have all grown up on a large diet of USA television which portrays their constitution which in reality has nothing to do with "OUR" rights , cases in point being the camping population cap now in place on Moreton and the beach closure on Fraser , whether right or wrong for the islands only time and a court challenge will tell as both closures /caps are illegal as per the wording in "our" rights as per the constitution.
AnswerID: 251585

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 21:39

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 21:39
Axel

As you probably know, there is little in our Contitution (apart from Common law, the right to vote and a few other important sections).

But as you rightly point out, we don't have a Bill of Rights. Most of our Rights are tested and protected under Common Law. But that's not what I'm talking about. It's more to do with perceived Rights that should allotted to the bull tish bin.

Otherwise we're going to gain a reputation as the biggest wingers on Earth.

Kim

FollowupID: 512661

Follow Up By: Oldsquizzy (Kununurra) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:05

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:05
Australia's commitment to its citizens
Australia makes the following commitment to its citizens:
• The right to equity and freedom from barriers based on race, ethnicity, culture, gender and other differences,
• The right to participate fully in the community, and to achieve your full potential, regardless of your background.
Federal Human Rights Legislation
The Statutes

It is unlawful for any person to do any act involving a distinction, exclusion, restriction or preference based on race, colour, descent or national or ethnic origin which has the purpose or effect of nullifying or impairing the recognition, enjoyment or exercise, on an equal footing, of any human right or fundamental freedom in the political, economic, social, cultural or any other field of public life.

Some of the rights are not mythical, They are there, just most dont know or care to take the time to read them.
FollowupID: 512675

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 16:37

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 16:37
Equal rights based on gender, you got to be kidding ........
Women only gyms
Women only employment advertisements
Check the imbalance in sentencing in our courts between male & female offenders, especially in violence/murder & sex crimes.
FollowupID: 512787

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Nullagine) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 21:00

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 21:00
Many people refer to OZ as a FREE country
It is not
we have FREEDOMS certainly more than most and less than others
but we arnt FREE to to anything we please
Only those things that fit within outr social and legal FREEDOMS
AnswerID: 251588

Follow Up By: keepingitreal - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 21:49

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 21:49
Got to agree with Davoe. The only things for free are for the bludgers who don't work. The rest of us pay for it!!
Keep it real!
FollowupID: 512667

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 07:54

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 07:54
Correct Davoe

We have freedoms but not total freedom. Total freedom is anarchy. In this country we have laws (whether you agree with them or not) to protect us. Those laws govern our behaviour.

Some people regard a driving licence as a right. By law it is a privilege not a right. The licence can be taken away for a number or reasons including disobeying the law.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 512722

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 21:02

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 21:02
I would rather that people to agree that they have a lot of privileges rather then rights !
AnswerID: 251589

Reply By: Andrew from Vivid Adventures - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 21:08

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 21:08
There are rights and there are rights.

The guy with the gun has all sorts of rights in the bush, unfortunately, whatever the true legal situation.

Mention land rights and suddenly all sorts of rights can be assumed, when that is not necessarily the true legal situation.

Oh well. I'll get off my soap box.
AnswerID: 251591

Reply By: Steve from Top End Explorer Tours - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 21:16

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 21:16
Perhaps this bloke should talk to the Russian guy I had on tour yesterday, he grew up under Stalin.

This guy should be happy he has rights at all.

Cheers Steve.
AnswerID: 251594

Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 21:54

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 21:54

Never a wiser word said.

Kim
FollowupID: 512669

Reply By: Emo - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:27

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:27
There are no rights without responsibilities.
AnswerID: 251619

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:29

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 22:29
Rights and Responsibilities go together.

It is when responsibilities are ignored by a few, that rights become eroded. (My 10 seconds on the soap box)

AnswerID: 251621

Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 23:00

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 23:00
Hi Kim M, I repeat others, no you are definitely not the only one.

With people like that it's " self first, self last and self again if there is any left over" and don't worry about anyone or anything else as long as they have their "rights" and their "say", and by the sound of him he didn't even know what he was on about.

I'll stop now before I get too carried away.

D

Simba, our much missed baby.

AnswerID: 251625

Reply By: Muzzgit [WA] - Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 23:26

Monday, Jul 09, 2007 at 23:26
I used to work with a fella like that.

Scary, really scary. He would rarely respond with facts or reasonable argument, only shouting and finger pointing and threats if he was outgunned with facts or reasonable argument, or heaven forbid the truth that didn't match his truth!

Scary, dude!

Arguments about correct spelling were often, and hilarious. "get a dictionary bleep " would send him off the deep end! hahahahaha
AnswerID: 251631

Reply By: fisho64 - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 00:41

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 00:41
I think we all know a couple of people like that.

Remember though the famous quote (so famous I cant recall who made it!)

"I may not agree with what you have to say-but I will fight to the death for your right to say it"

I guess unfortunately this includes stupid simpletons as well! But it doesnt mean we have to listen!
AnswerID: 251640

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 10:06

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 10:06
Voltaire ...... “I disapprove of what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it”
FollowupID: 512744

Reply By: Wizard1 - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 08:43

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 08:43
I too have heard these rantings, mostly from poorly educated red necks that can't understand why there are laws to stop them doing whatever they want.

Seems to think it is ok for these unlicensed red necks to ride unregistered motorcycles and test drive unregistered cars on suburban streets. They can't understand why people involve the law to stop them.

Rights...sorry you have to earn rights.
AnswerID: 251650

Reply By: Patrol22 - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 13:22

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 13:22
This has the makings of a great PhD.....ie What are the philosophical and legal underpinnings of rights and responsibilities in Australia......bugger might get started on that right away....:-))
AnswerID: 251691

Reply By: Pomgonewalkabout - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 14:08

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 14:08
Come the revolution Brother we will all be driving Rolls Royces

Come the revolution we'll have no choice!
AnswerID: 251699

Reply By: goingplatinumcomau - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 17:11

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 17:11
Right's ?

Just ask the Macquarie Bank about right's

LOL What a Joke the Goverment just think we are all Brain Dead Idiot's simple as that.

Regards John
AnswerID: 251728

Reply By: S&N - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 22:59

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 22:59
but remember people; Never argue with an idiot, all you end up with is two idiots arguing!

2c's worth
AnswerID: 251813