Inverter question

Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 13:33
ThreadID: 47576 Views:2731 Replies:7 FollowUps:12
Hi. We bought a small 150W inverter to run things like our mobile phone charger, hair clippers etc from 12v. Most of our stuff that is rated at less than 150W works through the inverter but the missus' hair straighteners, which claim to be 140W do not even turn on if ran through the inverter. Does anyone know why this would be, is it possible the info on the appliance is incorrect or is it because it is a device that needs heat?? Wouldn't normally be concerned but as we are travelling around Oz and living from campertrailer she likes to do her hair for work etc.

Reply By: brett patrol - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 13:57

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 13:57
Hi, i would say a hair straightner would have a much higher wattage than that. Possibly up to 1500w?? Maybe double check the wattage on the straightner.
Brett
AnswerID: 251697

Reply By: KSV- Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 14:00

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 14:00
Small cheap Chinese made inverter is really piece of cr@p. I use to have one rated 400W and it was not be able to run 180W computer power supply. You cannot full main law of capitalism - you are getting what you are paying for (mostly :-) ). Main catch lying in words "modified sine wave" versus "pure sine wave". Last one is real thing while first one much cheaper to produce and it reassemble true sine incredibly roughly. Thus *SOME* application rated at 150W in your case *MAY* work OK, while other may not. I would think that real power of "modified sine wave" inverters only half of stated one.
Last year I have got "pure sine wave" inverter and it is much more expensive. But at rating 600W it happily spin 800W drill like a hell. I personally would not waste my money on "modified sine wave" invertors anymore. Plus they can damage some swithmode powersupply (by far majority this days).
AnswerID: 251698

Follow Up By: Montemoo - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 14:18

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 14:18
Thanx for the info. Only bought the inverter coz it was *cheap* to run the hair clippers (like to have a clean shaved head...can't stand hair) and mobile charger etc, thought it was a bonus it *would* run straighteners too....obviously not!! It's not a drama, would have been nice for the missus but not to be - don't think we will upgrade just to have nice hair!
FollowupID: 512767

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 14:23

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 14:23
KSV, Your inverter IS a switch mode power supply !

Country of origin has nothing to do with the quality of the product ! There is plenty of crap comming from other countries.

Many electrical products draw more current when first turned on then when they are running. The inverter may see this 'start-up' current as excessive and shut down. In otherwords it is doing what it was designed to do. It's a little like vehicle engines - there is no substitute for cubic capacity.
FollowupID: 512768

Follow Up By: KSV- Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 14:40

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 14:40
==>KSV, Your inverter IS a switch mode power supply !
Thanks, I know this :-) . Problem is some switchmode powersupplys (SMPS) relay on fact that incoming AC strictly sine, and thus if it is not they can do very funny things.

==>Country of origin has nothing to do with the quality of the product !
Sorry, mate, have not seen any usable drill bit or socket or spanner from China. All electrical stuff (i.e. drills) from them also mainly cr@p regardless of brand. Shoes useless also. Etc. Nowadays it is almost impossible to get computer or mobile phone made somewhere else and do not tell me that they became better in last years. Now I am scared to the death that I cannot buy spare parts for my car made not in China. And it is coming – heaps of oil/air filters now sourcing from them. I always check country of origin and never buy certain stuff from China regardless of price and brand.

==>There is plenty of crap comming from other countries.
However this is true.
FollowupID: 512770

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 16:39

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 16:39
I would be surprised if a heating element would only be 140w.
FollowupID: 512789

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 17:08

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 17:08
The things I do in the name of science!

Site Link

They do frequently come in around 140W but I suspect that when the element is cold it's resistance is lower and it will draw a high startup current causing your inverter to go into shutdown before the element has a chance to warm up and it's current requirement fall - exactly what the inverter is intended to do under overload.

150W is a bit on the low side for an inverter for anything more than battery charging, 300W is a better general purpose small inverter size. MSW is fine for the vast majority of applications. So either downgrade the hair thingie or upgrade the inverter?

FollowupID: 512797

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 17:21

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 17:21
I stand corrected!
Although, I only said that I would be surprised, which I am, especially as your link shows some are only 80w.
FollowupID: 512802

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 17:41

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 17:41
Shaker! How could you think the delicacy and fineness of female hair would require more than the merest touch of heat to straighten it to perfection? (That should be worth a few brownie points I reckon :)

FollowupID: 512807

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 21:07

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 21:07
KSV, You obviously have no idea about what machinery comes out of China. A large proportion of the worlds airliners have significant % manufactured in China and almost all the car companies have a large % of their vehicle parts made in China. If you have a problem with this then you had better get over it as that's just the way it is. Also, get used to the following term "BRIC', it stands for Brazil, Russia, India & China as that's where most of the worlds consumer and manufacturing economies are / will be located now or in the near future.

There is also a very big misunderstanding about the effects of modified sine wave and pure sine wave switchmode power supplies. Don't worry about MSW they will work with almost everything that you are likely to plug into them with no ill effects. It's just has a larger then normal ripple and will have absolutely no adverse effect on any simple heating device.
FollowupID: 512842

Follow Up By: KSV- Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 21:55

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 21:55
==>KSV, You obviously have no idea about what machinery comes out of China.
Actually and unfortunately I do.

==>A large proportion of the worlds airliners have significant % manufactured in ==>China and almost all the car companies have a large % of their vehicle parts ==>made in China.
Shame, but true. If it is came to the point when I can not source my spares anywhere except of china, then I will be only getting Toyota parts. Even I will know they from China, I would relay on Toyota reputation (sad, bit no choice)

==>If you have a problem with this
Yes, I do

==>then you had better get over it
No I will not

==>as that's just the way it is.
Unfortunately it is true.

==>Also, get used to the following term "BRIC', it stands for Brazil, Russia, India & ==>China as that's where most of the worlds consumer and manufacturing ==>economies are / will be located now or in the near future.
I get. Still not helps.

==>There is also a very big misunderstanding about the effects of modified sine ==>wave and pure sine wave switchmode power supplies. Don't worry about ==>MSW they will work with almost everything that you are likely to plug into ==>them with no ill effects. It's just has a larger then normal ripple and will have ==>absolutely no adverse effect on any simple heating device.
Key word here is “almost”. Yea, you right, almost. Except of made in China. Those seldom. And yes, absolutelly no effect on heating device or tungsten lights whatsoever.

FollowupID: 512860

Follow Up By: Andrew Main - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 08:58

Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 08:58
quote/ Key word here is “almost”. Yea, you right, almost. Except of made in China. Those seldom. And yes, absolutelly no effect on heating device or tungsten lights whatsoever. /quote

Presumably MSW inverters made in China are somehow a different design to those made in Japan and they won't work using MSW where-as those from Japan will??? I think not.

A huge proportion of companies manufacture in low cost countries using contract manufacturers to the companies' spec. If you buy a product from a well know brand, manufactured in China and it's no good then you have no-one to blame but the company for failing to ensure the manufacturer met it's spec.

I've seen plenty of product come from western manufacturing locations that failed because of internal company quality control. Pick your manufacturer not your country of origin.

FollowupID: 512919

Follow Up By: KSV- Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 09:16

Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 09:16
==> Pick your manufacturer not your country of origin.
Unfortunately I have opposite believing. One day I was trying to install SCO UNIX. I have kill whole day for nothing – it was coming to the same point and then stuck, so I have to start from very beginning. It was incredibly frustrating exercise. Finally I make an idea that it is CD ROM playing funny. So I have replaced it with *EXACTELLY* the same unit – same brand (Sony, BTW) and even the same model number. Difference was one made in Chine and another in Singapore. Guess what? Everything went flawlessly. Bad luck? Possibly. But somehow more bad lucks happen with stuff made in China, as least it is my observation. Regarding to MSW invertors made in China v somewhere else. If it is the same brand, then we usually only dealing with QA issues. But if it is Ku King Poo Production Limited (i.e. cheap no-brand sh1t), then usually they incredibly overstate power – either by using some theoretical peak power number or simply lying. Have you seen computer speakers of cigarette pack size rated at 100W? Talk to any audiophile about this.
FollowupID: 512920

Reply By: samsgoneagain - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 14:40

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 14:40
get a jaycar catalogue. they have a very simple explanation about sine wave and pure sine wave inverters. or it might even be on their web site.
AnswerID: 251702

Reply By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 15:01

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 15:01
You are better of investing in a up market brand inverter rated closer to 500w rather than a cheap King Fun Woo 150w for obvious reasons. In a day to day enviroment you want something reliable and dependable. Don't ask me what brand but something like the 500w model here..

Site Link

AnswerID: 251704

Follow Up By: disco1942 - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 23:41

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 23:41
No - everything else works - she will have just to do her hair some other way - cheaper.

FollowupID: 512879

Reply By: Ingtar - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 15:15

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 15:15
Also (completely aside from wave types) many of the cheaper brand inverters will specify a maximum current they can supply. Others will specify an RMS, and a peak. This is similar to specifications on speakers... they can supply x amount of power constantly, but can peak to y power for a (very) short time before failing.

Peak power ratings can be very deceiving.
AnswerID: 251710

Reply By: time waster - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 19:46

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 19:46
Make sure the power feed to the inverter is thick enough cable size for the distance from battery try connecting direct to battery.
AnswerID: 251769

Reply By: S&N - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 22:52

Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 22:52
I think everyone has overlooked the main issue here!!!

throw the hair thingy back in the bathroom (or bin) and buy her a beanie. its camping not search for the next supermodel! LOL

P.S. dont tell HER i said that though!
AnswerID: 251811