Submitted: Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 16:23
lok60
Hi all, i am planning a trip to
Birdsville, have registered as a member of exploroz today and look forward to what that brings. if anyone has travelled from
Brisbane to
Birdsville and have some points of interest worth checking out i would be interested. We will be travelling in our beloved 60 series with our Jayco Eagle in tow. Family of 5 with oldest at 13 and youngest 10 so anything to keep them occupied would be great and worth seeing, looking at going during September holidays. As said we are planning so all negative and positive feedback is welcome.
Reply By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 16:46
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 16:46
I was there last Sunday and Monday.
The tracks were as smooth as a baby's bottom, but race traffic and weather can change that.
Be aware that there is no diesel at
Quilpie after Sat 12.30 until Monday.
Research your journey and you'll have many stops of interest.
Enjoy
Follow Up By: lok60 - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 20:34
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 20:34
Thanks for
the tip on
Quilpie and i will most definitely enjoy
Reply By: T-Ribby - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 16:50
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 16:50
We did a return trip to
Birdsville from the Sunshine coast, earlier this month.. There are plenty of
places along the
Warrego highway to look at - do some Googling on the channel country. Some
places we especially liked -
Mitchell (hot
spa pool),
Quilpie (good CP),
Windorah ($6 per night at the NP
camping ground - they come around and collect it about 7:30 in the morning - good facilities there and excellent pub meals at the local). Make sure you fill your vehicle with fuel before leaving
Windorah because it's about 400kms to the next servo.
You will see Emus, Roos ,
Brolgas, Wedgetail eagles from about
Mitchell on.
At the
Birdsville CP, try to get there early'ish to get a good spot.
There are some trips reports iirc on
www.campertrailers.org
Have a good trip - it really is interesting country. If you encounter some strange smells along the way, don't blame the kids, it's an artesion/thermal area.
T.R.
Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 16:56
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 16:56
Correcting typo" "it's an artesian/thermal area"
p.s. keep an eye out for Goannas around
Betoota.
T.R.
Follow Up By: lok60 - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 20:37
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 20:37
thanks TR how long should i allow, we are getting a helping hand as i will send my car and camper up by QRAIL with the family as i only have limited time as i work project work.
Follow Up By: Member - eerfree(QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 21:39
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 21:39
T-Ribby
We will be in the Barcoo Shire next month and I am interested in
Windorah ($6.00 per night) NP
camping ground, is that out along
Cooper Creek? the closest NP that I can find is Welford and I could not find any facilities there.
eerfree
Follow Up By: Member - Peter R F (NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 21:46
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 21:46
Since I was there recently, it is the caravan
park in
Windorah that is $6 per night. Just pull up and then the next morning your fees will be collected.
Follow Up By: Member - eerfree(QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 22:48
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 22:48
Thanks Pete, on further prying I find that Welford has facilities but it is closed at the moment.
eerfree
Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 16:50
Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 16:50
As Peter R F says above it's the caravan
park in town, not
Cooper Creek. Saw some large Yellowbellies taken from
Cooper Creek when we were there - up to 4kg. Think they were catching them on yabbies.
On the way thru from the S/Coast we made
camp at
Chinchilla,
Charleville,
Windorah. So allow at least 4 days to get to
Birdsville from Brizzie. Have you got fly nets? if not you can get them from the Service station at
Birdsville (about $6 iirc). We struck flies from
Windorah on.
T.R.
Reply By: Max - Sydney - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 18:15
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 18:15
Mate
On the way there or back, you could divert to
Currawinya National Park perhaps. Its a bird haven and has an enclosed bilby area (not that you'll be able to see them).
The lakes are a few kms from the
camp ground, but I reckon the kids would enjoy the wide open spaces to run and make a mess of their clothes along the edges of the lakes, and there are bits of history and walks to take. The country out there is lovely and green now after lots of rain this year (make sure you check weather reports and road closures in case there is more rain).
If you have time, the trip down to Innaminka could be fun, provided you are happy with pretty rough roads past Cordially Downs (just plan to go real slow and careful). You have lots of history in the area and again lots of
water for kids to puddle around in along the Cooper. You can even rent a canoe at Innaminka Trading Post. The road east is smooth and easy, going past
the Dig tree.
Where ever you go - enjoy.
Max
Follow Up By: lok60 - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 20:39
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 20:39
Thanks Max te lake sounds like an interesting stop any fishing ?
Follow Up By: Max - Sydney - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 08:57
Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 08:57
lok60
I just checked the web site for
Currawinya NP - you can fish along the river (which ought to have plenty of
water in it) but not in the lakes.
Here's the NP web site for the
Park.
Site Link
Max
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 20:10
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 20:10
A couple of favourite stops closer to home for us.
We usually stop at
Chinchilla.
Park on the left after you cross the railway line.
Plenty of swings and things for the kids to burn off some energy.
If you have the time, stop at
Miles at the historical village. You need at least 2 hours, 4 is better.
The vortex at
Charleville.
Visit the
visitors centre at
Quilpie for some ideas.
Can go opal fossicking about 100k south of
Quilpie.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 20:48
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 20:48
And the steak at the
Windorah Pub has to be seen to be believed ! Incidently, the cabins there are the cheapest accom we came across. $60 a night with onsuite if you don't like the caravan
park.
There are some r@r areas on the dirt road to
Birdsville now. Quite different to the old days.
Nat Parks were closed last week. Pity.
If in "we need a good feed" mode, try the motel in
Mitchell, and tell the waitress or owner that I sent you, and recommended the chef, Sue. Don't bother with the other motel, we slept there because of a bus full of Kiwis.
Follow Up By: Geoff (Newcastle, NSW) - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 23:27
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 23:27
Footy,
I've got to ask,
"If in "we need a good feed" mode, try the motel in
Mitchell, and tell the waitress or owner that I sent you, and recommended the chef, Sue. Don't bother with the other motel, we slept there because of a bus full of Kiwis."
Exactly which motel in
Mitchell did you recommend? I guess I could do the rounds looking for a chef named Sue!!
Hey, mate, didn't you do BYO Kiwi?
I'm off to
Mitchell in the next couple of months for work.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 08:18
Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 08:18
Geoff, no names no packdrill :)) But there are only two in town. One has 4 1/2 stars (cause they have brick walls on the inside)...thats where Sue hangs out with MY waitress . Its actually right in the centre of town, highly recommended.
The other place is kinda like
camping....a bed but just.
Oh how my lux trip has changed me !
Yes I had a Kiwi with me. But
mine didn't trump the busload that booked there before we got in.
Reply By: Member - Reiner G (QLD) 4124 - Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 23:58
Tuesday, Jul 10, 2007 at 23:58
And under no circumstances miss the
Birdsville Museum. Just amazing what you find in there.
Have a good trip :-)
Reiner
Reply By: Member - Welshmun (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 00:08
Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 00:08
Septembers you say? You'll miss the races then. This year's race dates are 31st August/1st Sept.
I think we are going but will start out a week before to try get there before the rush. I'm advised that 2 or 3 days before the races the track is full of Tour buses.
6000 people in a one horse/pub town should be a hoot.
Whenever you go, I'm sure you will have a good time.
Follow Up By: Footloose - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 08:22
Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 08:22
If going to the races for the first time, be sure not to get in the way of the council dozer, cleaning up the cans the morning after :)
I've heard figures of 10 000 in some years.
It just changes the place completely.
Think
camping,
water,
toilets.
Think track conditions with all that traffic.
Then don't think, just go !