Submitted: Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 13:07
Tony
Heading down to
Falls Creek for a weeks skiing on friday. Does anyone know which servo in Mt Beauty sells "Alpine Mix" diesel.
Reply By: Kev M (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 13:22
Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 13:22
The one next to the bus company does, on the right hand side when heading into Mt Beauty from Wodonga.
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Tony - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 14:46
Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 14:46
Thanks Kev, I know where to look now.
Reply By: Member - Raymond S (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 16:11
Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 16:11
HI Tony but could you enlighten me on this "Alpine mix" you refer to.
Regards Ray.
Follow Up By: Tony - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 16:17
Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 16:17
Yes Ray. Diesel powered vehicles should use "Alpine Mix" Diesel when spending more than a day parked in the snow region. I will be at
Falls Creek for a week.
Normal town diesel will when subject to freezing conditions, seperate the wax in the fuel and block up injector pumps and filters,
Alpine diesel, sold mostly in the towns close to Ski fields, has an additive that prevents the wax seperation.
Follow Up By: Member - Kim M (VIC) - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 22:12
Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 22:12
Ray
Alpine mix is a blend of Diesal and heating oil. or at least it was some years ago. Things may have changed with improved engine technology.
Tony is correct in what he's saying.
There were some attempts by the petroleum companies in the early 1990's to alter a proven formula by adding 5% kerosene. This proved to be very costly, particularly for a couple of mining companies in the High Country.
Others may have more up todate information.
Kim
Follow Up By: disco1942 - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 01:58
Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 01:58
The Pioneer buses working out of the
Cooma depot in the 60s& 70s ran on power kerosene. Just used slightly different injectors.
Reply By: Member - barry F (NSW) - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 17:42
Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 17:42
Well there you go, I wonder how many people like me would have been caught out. Just shows, you are never to old to learn hey. Thanks for this bit of info, not heading to the snow just yet, but will in the future, so will tuck this away in the
grey matter somewhere.
Reply By: Andrew-rodeo - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 18:37
Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 18:37
You should find that all servos in alpine regions and the surrounds carry alpine mix diesel during the winter months. You can also look on the fuel companies web sites and they usually have listings of which servos carry alpine mix.
Cheers Andrew
Reply By: Member - Jon W (QLD) - Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 20:59
Wednesday, Jul 11, 2007 at 20:59
Tony,
From memory, most if not all sell Alpine Mix. The trick is to arrive with almost empty tanks so that the majority of your load is Alpine Mix.
That being said, I was advised via this
forum two years ago that unless you car would be parked at Falls overnight that it would not be necessary and that the High Country Mix available at Wodonga would suffice.
Have you thought about chains? They are compulsory above Mt Beauty and it is not unknown for cars to be fined and turned around if you cannot produce them.
Hope you have a great time. The picture is from the long term overnight
carpark at Falls.
Jon W
Follow Up By: Tony - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 07:43
Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 07:43
I carry a set of chains in the vehicle all winter, whether I'm in the snow fields or not. We have had two falls of snow at the farm this year, 10cm each time.
Follow Up By: Big Mike - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 10:17
Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 10:17
Hi Jon'
"This is not Central QLD."
Certainly felt like it a couple of weeks ago at
Mitchell, minus 6 degrees. Being Cane Toads, we were a bit bemused when one of the diesels wouldn't start, took us a while, too much heat normally.
Thanks for the info, It gets down below zero often on my farm near Armidale and the occasional light snow. Then we zip home to Brisvegas and daytime temps up in the mid 20's. Should we be using alpine or high country mix and if so, does it cause a problem with some left in the
tank back in
brisbane temps.
Ta
Follow Up By: Member - Jon W (QLD) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 17:43
Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 17:43
Mike,
Can you get either in Armidale? I am only going by advice we received. Alpine Mix was the go if the vehicle was going to be sitting idle in prolonged subzero temps. That was certainly the case at Falls except for one day when the temp got to about 2 degrees. Our Patrol was parked for seven nights without being started. It started second go on the morning of the day we left and didn't miss a beat. As we drove out of the
carpark we saw several vehicles with bonnets up and getting help or waiting for help.
In 1936, it is reported to have snowed near
Rockhampton.
Jon W
Reply By: Aandy(WA) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 03:33
Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 03:33
ALl fuel outlets in Alpine areas have Alpine mix. If you have a problem place warm bottles of
water, hot rocks, anything hot under your fuel
tank. Don't use a naked flame.
Follow Up By: Tony - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 07:38
Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 07:38
G'day Aandy, good idea with the warming of the fuel
tank. The main problem with fuel waxing is the fuel that already in the pump and filter/lines. So the use of the "Mix" in the
tank before you get to the snow line is the best way to go.
Another way, used with caution, is to put about 5 lts of unleaded in the
tank. It helps to break up the wax content.
Reply By: Mr Pointyhead - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 10:56
Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 10:56
Do not forget you can get Diesel additives that have antiwaxing agents in them. For example Redline makes one. Also the "Diesel Power" additive has antiwaxing agents.
By using an additive you can fill up anywhere, potentially getting the fuel at a lower price, then add the diesel additive.
As an aside, there was a unseasonal snow fall at Mt Buller a few years ago in Jan. A number of tradespeople working there got caught and and to get there vehicles repaired. Also, there was a couple camped on
the bluff that had to get towed out. So it pays to carry the Antiwaxing additive whenever you are in the high country, and keep an eye on the forecasts.
Follow Up By: Mick - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 23:13
Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 23:13
Why repaired? All I have had to do was wait for the day to warm up a bit lol. No repairing needed.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 13:29
Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 13:29
you see the odd vehicle being 'flat bedded' down from
falls creek every so often. Just need to get the diesel warmed up a little before she'll flow!
Leroy