Rays - Is it just me?
Submitted: Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 21:54
Member - jdwynn (SA)
Advert in paper today - $6 fill up of 9kg gas bottle till Sunday.
Got to local store at 4:50PM - bit of a drive. 2 bottles to fill, but no gas. "Supplier be here at 5PM mate". Waited till 5:30PM, still no gas. Had to leave to pickup someone. Pi**ed off alright.
Not the first Rays sale I been to where they are out of sale item early in sale period. Is it just my rotten luck or what?
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 22:13
Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 22:13
Its not just Rays. I get annoyed by "Bait" advertising. Super special on sale to gte you into the store. At least you'll still get your $6 fill. Rays are trying to divert attention away from the opening of Annaconda.
Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 22:27
Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 22:27
Sorry guys, thread number 46758 has answered my question, will teach me to check all threads before jumping in.
Chees
D
Reply By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 22:19
Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 22:19
What are the Anaconda stores llike? Our is so far away from us (an hours drive) that we have not been able to get up there as yet. Was wondering if it was worth the drive??????
D
BTW, for those who may wonder, we would not be going up there just for a bargain, it would only be for a look see:))
Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 23:15
Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 23:15
If it looks like a blatant case of bait advertising; ie extra good front page special either not there in in extremely short supply so they can say "we had some but they all sold out" (like on Monday morning by 9am), i contact the ACCC.
www.accc.gov.au
They will not act on a single complaint, but if they get a lot about the same company, they will act. I was once a 'witness' (call that victim of the bait) in the case against a retailer who got a big fine for misleading bait advertising.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 23:30
Thursday, Jul 12, 2007 at 23:30
He could have probably left his bottles there to be filled & pick them up later. A lot of
places won't fill while you wait anyway.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 08:11
Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 08:11
anyone remembner the repco thing few yrs back - $1200 radio or dvd player or something $199 or something like that, it was like a plague round the forums..
Someone mentioned they had 10 items in the whole of aussie...of course there were queues for hours before they opened waiting to get in...
Follow Up By: Brew34.5(SA) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 08:26
Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 08:26
We did
well out of Repco. Heaps of us got $100 vouchers lol
Reply By: dags666 - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 16:42
Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 16:42
if your smart get a docket that says that they will fill the bottle for 6 dollars take it to bunnings and get it 10 percent cheaper Dags
Follow Up By: Member - jdwynn (SA) - Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 17:26
Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 17:26
LOL - like it dags.
Reckon I might just take the newspaper ad to Bunnings and try that. Not driving all the way back to Rays. JD
Follow Up By: Member - jdwynn (SA) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 11:28
Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 11:28
dags
I got $6 less 10% at Bunnings with newspaper ad. So thanks for a great idea. JD