Camps around Bourke??

Submitted: Friday, Jul 13, 2007 at 22:44
ThreadID: 47684 Views:3243 Replies:9 FollowUps:6
We're heading out on a Corner Country trip in two weeks and I was wondering if anyone knew of a place to throw the swag out north of Bourke.

Somewhere free would be good as we're unsure what time we'll be getting in.

Any tips would be appreciated.

Col.

Reply By: Member - neville G (QLD) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 06:29

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 06:29
Hi Col,
I don,t know of the north but Fort Bourke is a few klms. south along the Darling river and I have camper there, very few people visit so you should be alone.
Cheers, Nev.
AnswerID: 252298

Reply By: Brew34.5(SA) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 07:52

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 07:52
We have camped just south too at the 9 mile weir. I have a pic in my member pics.
AnswerID: 252301

Reply By: fishaholic - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 07:56

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 07:56
How u going Col,

We came up through willcania and bourke last week from S.A ( to Brisbane ), had a great trip. We camped on the Darling South of Bourke, top spot and there was heaps of designated camping areas just south on the Darling. Not sure about North, but I thought it was nicer South.
Crawf
AnswerID: 252302

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 08:35

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 08:35
A bit depends on where you mean by north of Bourke. There are plenty of roads that can fall under that description.

If you are on the Charleville Rd then I can't think of much other than to keep your eyes open for a roadside rest area or a spot where you can get away from the road a bit.

Kidmans Camp CV Park is nice but it's not free.

If you were on one of the lesser roads say Wanaaring or Hungerford you could probably just pull over at the side and swag down for a few hours especially if you were stopping late.

AnswerID: 252306

Follow Up By: Col88 - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 09:17

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 09:17
G'day Duncs,

We'll be heading on to Wanaaring the next morning and on to Tibooburra, so we''ll probably just find a spot away from the road I guess, somewhere along the Wanaaring Road, don't want to waste alot of time back tracking the next morning.

Thanks for the replies everyone, we might come back down the Darling and it sounds like there are a few good spots south of Bourke.
FollowupID: 513395

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 13:34

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 13:34
Col,

As you head west from Bourke on the Wanaaring Rd you will see Pera Bore Station on your right. Just back from there on the opposite side of the road there is a car park that they use at Easter for their dawn Easter service. You should be able to get off the road there.

Alternatively once you get onto the dirt, west of Pera Bore the fences get further apart. Might give you a better opportunity to put some distance between yoru swag and the road.

Wish I was coming with you, love that part of the world.

AnswerID: 252333

Follow Up By: Col88 - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 23:00

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 23:00
Thanks mate,

After a long day I don't think we'll want to head much past Bourke, so the car park could be the go. We'll check that out.

Thanks for the tip!

Col
FollowupID: 513483

Reply By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 13:51

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 13:51
Hi Col.
Just arrived home from 2 weeks in the corner country..
Found a great bush camp 28k east of Bourke on a property called Rossmore Station.A great spot off the road & beside the Bogan river. Heaps of timber for a great camp fire.It costs $10 per car per night.
The property is owned by Bill & Denise Stalley(0427815385) & they gave us a key to explore Mt. Oxley which is approx 14k south of the camp site.It certainly is worth the trip up the mountain.
Have a great time in the corner country, thw whole area is very green
All the tracks in the Sturt National Park are now open & are worth exploring.
We also spent 2 enjoyable nights at Currawinya National Park & had a great counter lunch at the Hungerford pub.
AnswerID: 252336

Follow Up By: Col88 - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 23:03

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 23:03
Hi Vince,

Great ! Found someone who has just been through. How is the road out to Tibooburra? Graded recently? And what about out to the corner?

Rossmore sounds like a great place to stop on our way back.

Col.
FollowupID: 513484

Follow Up By: dougie 41 - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 18:01

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 18:01
Hi Vince,
are you sure Bogan River runs thru Rossmore ?I know some people on
adjoining station Bendemeer.According to Bourke Shire Property Map
Bogan River is east of there.Anyhow how would you be?
FollowupID: 513810

Follow Up By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 20:03

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 20:03
Hi Dougie.
The owner (BillStalley) said that the property was 42000acres & was on the Bogan River. Perhaps it was a backwater of the Bogan where the bush camp was?
Vince
FollowupID: 513848

Reply By: Member - Vince B (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 17:50

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 17:50
Hi Col.
Road was in good condition although quite dusty(as expected).There were patches of water on the road to the Corner however bypass tracks can be used. If you have time, try the tracks through the northern part of the national park as the scenery is quite fabulous.
Contact me on vincebarnes@netspace.net.au if you require any further info.
Regards.
Vince
AnswerID: 252565

Reply By: ingo57 - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:14

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 21:14
Gday Col,

Mays bend, on the banks of the Darling river North Bourke..........great spot!

AnswerID: 252621

Follow Up By: Member - Marty P (NSW) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 11:57

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 11:57
Col,
Couldn't agree with ingo57 more. Mays Bend is a great spot for an overnight stop.

Marty
FollowupID: 513742

Reply By: Col88 - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 20:47

Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 20:47
Thanks alot for all your replies, guys.

Have got some good suggestions now and can't wait to get away!

Col
AnswerID: 252792