Submitted: Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 11:50
Pete and Lez
Apparantly Furphy"s
camp ovens and jaffle irons are now also made in CHINA, but they are still selling them at Australian made prices.
Cheers Peter and Lez
Reply By: Mike Harding - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 12:17
Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 12:17
Sounds like a bit of a furphy to me :)
Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 13:03
Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 13:03
SSSShhhhh..... Don't tell Doug.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 13:28
Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 13:28
I'm watchin' you
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 13:39
Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 13:39
Kiwi Kia
Don't forget the bloody PRAWNS
Follow Up By: tvl - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 14:02
Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 14:02
doug,your website is one of the best i have ever seen,did u do all that????
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 16:15
Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 16:15
tvl
Nah my website is way behind the McDonalds or the Toyota Yaris etc but of course they are using some very good and very expensive software to make those sites, but for a private homepage the Frontpage 2003 will do,
Yes I did all myself, the off-sider here [Dusty] wouldn't help, but he has his own section,
Doug
Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 19:01
Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 19:01
Hey, you are right. I had forgotten the prawns.
Can't beat fresh ones though eh.
Reply By: Brew34.5(SA) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 16:05
Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 16:05
I'll see if we still have some made in oz ones mate.
Follow Up By: Pete and Lez - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 16:32
Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 16:32
Cheers Brew, would need to be lucky though, have been made in CHINA for 6 yrs.
But you never know.
Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 20:25
Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 20:25
Isn't a Furphy a
water cart ?
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 00:05
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 00:05
Have a look here Jim Site Link bit more to the company than its iconic
water carts.
Reply By: _gmd_pps - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 20:36
Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 20:36
Not what they ask is important ... what you pay for is ..
and if you think it's too much then don't buy it ..
A healthy calculation for a product is a factor of 10 between fob price
and retail price .. hard to achieve with Australian labour. It is not
so much about increasing the profits rather than getting back to a
sustainable profit margin. In many industries we are far away from that factor
and only volume compensates for lower margins but in a small market
like Australia and especially with a nieche product it is difficult to maintain a
good profit margin.
Only competition will keep prices down and there is little of that in todays
market with the big companies taking over ..
so stop complaining about prices, complain about quality ...
I'd rather pay double and get good quality if I have the option . In many
cases you can not even buy good quality .
have fun
gmd
Follow Up By: Pete and Lez - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 02:11
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 02:11
I don't mind paying good money, what I don't like is paying $85.00 for a Furphy oven made in CHINA, or paying $25.00 for a COI brand oven also made in CHINA, possibly at the same foundry. Like paying $250.00 for Nike sneakers made in China.
Follow Up By: _gmd_pps - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 02:24
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 02:24
yes I hear you and can understand ..
just don't pay it then .. your choice
have fun
gmd
Reply By: Member - eerfree(QLD) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 22:15
Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 22:15
Motto cast into the end panel of Furphy
Water Carts is:-
Good, Better,Best
Never let it rest
Until your Good is Better and your Better Best.
Lets hope they have remembered this when sourcing product from China.
eerfree
Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 22:37
Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 22:37
eerfree,
You can still take your rusted out furphy
water cart into there factory in sheperton from memory, and have it relined, using the cast lock ring and all.
Cheers Pesty
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 00:13
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 00:13
I had my heart set on getting a Furphy camp oven, was prepared to pay the higher price for the "Original" dinki di Aussie made one.
Went to the factory in Sheparton a few years ago and looked at the ones on display, something didn't seem quite right with them, the quality was just not what I had seen before.
I said to the girl behind the counter "these are still made here aren't they?" she looked a bit sheepish and said "well er no not anymore" "we have had them made in China for a number of years now"
I said thank you and went for a look at the museum with all the
water tank ends on display and kept my dollars in my pocket.
Why pay for a Chinese made Furphy at about $120- plus dollars when I could have bought the same Chinese crap without the Furphy name on it for about $30-.
Talk about telling Furphys.
Follow Up By: Pete and Lez - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 02:12
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 02:12
My thoughts exactly John.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 10:51
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 10:51
That enough to make you go out and buy a
Bedourie (or Hillbilly).
I think Bedouries are still made in Aus. Ours hasn't deteriorated in 20 years of use.
Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 14:20
Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 14:20
I did Phil,
Bedourie is still made in Aus and its a great product.
Follow Up By: Pete and Lez - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 18:24
Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 18:24
We have the Hillbilly, but is a little awkward when it comes to lifting off the fire, just the way they have set it up. Maybe look at doing some mods to it.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 18:29
Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 18:29
Gday Pete, Good to catch up at
Warraweena.
I haven't bothered with those lifting things like they sell with the
Bedourie these days.
We use a single hook to pull it out and a set of welding gloves to lift the lid or carry the oven.
Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 23:07
Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 23:07
Hey Phil, you trying to justify a lighter load in not taking a lifting handle? LOL They are easier with a longer handle away from the radiated heat:-)
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 23:20
Monday, Jul 16, 2007 at 23:20
You guessed it John, and instead of taking a camp oven, I reckon a roll of aluminium foil would do the job, and save fuel because theres less weight :-))) Actually the hook is 2 foot long, so I still have my Bob Hawke eyebrows :-)
I know what Pete means with the Hillbilly - the lifting handle is a bit of a fiddle.