gps speeds

Submitted: Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 19:50
ThreadID: 47715 Views:3048 Replies:12 FollowUps:12
Can we trust GPS recorded speeds to be accurate? I recall a post ythat said vehicle speedos's have a tolearnce factor of up to 10 % ( surely that can't be right?).I've now got a 2007 T/D paj. It's great, but the speedo reads 6k below the GPS read. The only chnage I made was to substitute A/T for H/T spec tyres, but the dimensions are the same.
Comments?
Nigel

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 20:08

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 20:08
As far as I recall, the car speedo can overstate the actual speed but not understate it. I'd be checking yours out with another GPS to be sure, to be sure :)))
AnswerID: 252406

Follow Up By: T-Ribby - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 20:15

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 20:15
My speedo overreads by 3kph at 100kph. Checked it against 2 GPS's which gave identical results.

T.Rib
FollowupID: 513456

Follow Up By: obee - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 22:08

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 22:08
mate had a car that understated the speed and he had it fixed by instrument people. The old speedos were/are a magnet spinning in an aluminium surround. The electronic ones I dont know but suspect they work on Hall Effect which I think ought to be more accurate. My gps always in sync with the hilux speedo no prob and I always get to destination in calculated time so I reckon accurate.

Owen
FollowupID: 513474

Reply By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 20:20

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 20:20
T-Ribby,

That would be pretty normal.
AnswerID: 252409

Reply By: Member - Doug T (W.A) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 20:30

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 20:30
In 2005 Jerry Si****s successfully challenged a $160 speeding fine, proving in court that the hand-held radar gun that was said to show he was travelling at 133 kmh in a rented Pulsar had never been properly calibrated, tested or maintained.

Last week his son Michael, 25, went one better; overturning a speeding conviction and fine by downloading the information from his car's GPS unit to show that he was travelling at or below the speed limit and not at 85 kmh in a 60 kmh zone as alleged by two police officers, who admitted in court they had incorrectly used a hand-held radar unit.

The experience has cost the family more than $27,000 in fees for lawyers and experts, but justice, they said, had been worth the money and created a legal precedent that their lawyers said could spark more regular challenges to technology that experts say is questionable and prone to inaccuracy.

Jerry Si****s was driving from Melbourne in May 2004 when he was clocked by police on the Hume Highway at Jugiong, 40 kilometres north of Gundagai, allegedly doing 133 kmh in a 110 kmh zone.

He challenged the fine in court, questioning how rigorously police recalibrated their radar guns for accuracy each year and presenting documents in court, which showed police certified the US-made Kustom Silver Eagle gun as accurate even though half of the possible 18 tests - which cover issues such as temperature, vibration stability, noise and phone interference, and humidity - were never done.

After three days in court, in which two experts in radar gun technology gave evidence, the police gave up. It cost Jerry Si****s $20,000 in legal fees.

Michael Si****s was charged a few weeks after his father - his first speeding fine - while driving his Subaru WRX home just before midnight along Marsden Road in Carlingford. He was stopped and charged by two patrol officers driving in the opposite direction.

The officers had clocked him with a hand-held radar allegedly doing 85 kmh in a 60 kmh zone, but conceded in court they had not taken the reading for the required length of time. Instead they relied on their own experience and visual estimate.

The evidence Michael Si****s presented that was downloaded from his GPS unit showed that between Eastwood and Carlingford the car once briefly touched 61 kmh but was mostly at 57 kmh. An expert in GPS systems provided corroborative evidence in court.

Despite this, the magistrate convicted him on the evidence of the visual estimate of the most senior officer and fined Mr Si****s $203. Last week the conviction and fine were overturned on appeal in the District Court after the police again backed down.

Jerry Si****s said he was concerned about the police's use of radar equipment. "The message is that police have an obligation to use this equipment properly. Motorists have the right to expect that they prove it is accurate."

Michael Si****s's lawyer, Dennis Miralis, went further. The first case in NSW where GPS has been admissible in evidence to contest the accuracy of police radar would not be the last, he said.

"There is an enormous amount of conservatism in the legal fraternity about acceptance of new technology. Magistrates seem to prefer to accept whatever police say in defence of their own equipment, but there are growing doubts."

AnswerID: 252411

Follow Up By: Gramps (NSW) - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 20:39

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 20:39
Doug,

LOL $27,000 to prove a point. OK if you can afford it. As I recall, they still have'nt had their points re-instated though. The RTA is well above the Courts or any pathetic legal system :))))
FollowupID: 513464

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 00:54

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 00:54
Funny how you can *** there last names out , but can show other people's E-mail address with out any problems?????
FollowupID: 513494

Reply By: fujimiester - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 21:48

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 21:48
Radar and laser devices are calibrated every year but GPS aren't so you have to prove that the GPS was calibrated in court. The police backed down on the speeding fine when they shouldn't have.
AnswerID: 252419

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 22:15

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 22:15
If you understand how a GPS works, then youd see that it isnt necessary that its recalibrated. If it has an inaccuracy, then it is relative between all positions. If it is saying that you are 20 meters from your actual position then all positions will be 20 meters (within its positional ability of course) from actual. Therefore the positions are still the same distance apart at a given timeline and the speed recorded is the same still. Inaccuracies will really only come from the fact that there is a slight time lag of a couple of seconds. As it recalculates its position from scratch each time an inaccurate position is as likely to be anywhere on earth as 1 mile away.
FollowupID: 513475

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 22:16

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 22:16
I was thinking about this while driving home from a week on the Northern Tablelands.

I don't think a GPS has to be, nor can be, calibrated.

It does not measure speed but position. It does this continuously and calculates speed based on the changes to position and the time taken for these changes to occur. It is not a measuring device but a calculator. Mine is guaranteed accurate to 6m but will measure to an accuracy of 3m. I have checked this with repeated visits to the same position in the back yard. My clothes line does not move and the GPS will tell me I am standing next to it only when I am within arms length. My arm is not 3m long. It does this instantly. So I reckon the speed it displays and records is accurate.

As for the speedo on the car. Well it relies on the rolling diameter of the tyres, and the accuracy of the machining, and amount of wear on the gears in the gear box transfer case and diff. Assuming all the others are perfect the diameter of my tyres varies as they wear. Tread depth when the tyres are new is 13mm lets say I replace tyres with 5mm tread depth that means a large change in diameter which means an inaccuracy in the speedo.

Oh and when I got a speeding infringement in the mail I checked it against my GPS. I was thinking about a challenge myself but the infringement notice said 106 in a 100 zone. So did my GPS, oh well you win some and you lose some.

FollowupID: 513476

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 07:42

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 07:42
If you are checking your GPS speed whilst travelling in a straight line, no problem but if you are doing it whilst pursuing a course with curves in it the GPS will draw a straight line between the sample points which will result in an incorrect speed calculation... how incorrect? Impossible to say, depends upon local factors (see the Nyquist Theorem).

I don't think I agree that GPS do not need calibration - suppose the internal oscillator or temperature sensor had become unstable (not failed, just unstable) this would result in incorrect results which followed the span of the instability - and the use may never know? Or there might have been corruption of the ROM causing constants used to calculate the speed to change - location may still be correct but speed would be wrong. Comments anyone?

FollowupID: 513506

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 14:34

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 14:34
I think that you will find that any such "instability" would cause such huge errors that they would be impossible to reconcile rationally. If the positions are incorrect the speed wouldnt be recorded as 5kph out or so, it would be all over the place. Having used GPS on a daily basis as a fisherman since they were first available, I cant say that I have ever come across such a fault. What I have seen though is every few months while steaming at sea and having the track recorded on computer, that my track will suddenly go to a point 1000's of miles away and back again in a few seconds. As it recalculates from scratch the next fix doesnt have the error.
However you are 100% correct that around sharp bends the speed will be inaccurate. This will be less and less so as they are taking fixes more and more often on newer models.
I dont think you will see a Multanova on a sharp corner though, and probably ditto for a radar/laser as they need to sample for a set period to be valid.
FollowupID: 513579

Follow Up By: Mike Harding - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 16:04

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 16:04
>I think that you will find that any such "instability"
>would cause such huge errors that they would be
>impossible to reconcile rationally.

Oscillator drift, especially, high precision oscillator drift is not usually large.

>If the positions are incorrect the speed wouldnt be
>recorded as 5kph out or so, it would be all over the
>place.

That depends, entirely, on how far out the position is and the rate of change of the error. And if the fault were corruption of a constant of interim result in memory the error might be anything from very large to very small. Perhaps the memory cell which holds the copy of the third speed digit on the display has become corrupted to permanently read 9?

Calibration is not the act of correcting a measuring device but the act of establishing it’s level of inaccuracy within an “area of uncertainty”. We calibrate instruments because they _might_ become inaccurate both for reasons we can demonstrate and because of the possibility of issues we may not be aware of.

As someone who has spent a good deal of time working on calibration of instrumentation for US Food and Drug Administration in relation to implantable devices (pacemakers etc) you have to make a solid, mathematical, 100% proven case if you are to say “this instrument does not need calibration” and _nowhere_ may it say “I think it’ll be OK” :)

Finally, keep in mind, once an instrument has gone out of specification no one has _any_ idea what it may do.

FollowupID: 513614

Follow Up By: fisho64 - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 17:52

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 17:52
"That depends, entirely, on how far out the position is and the rate of change of the error. And if the fault were corruption of a constant of interim result in memory the error might be anything from very large to very small. Perhaps the memory cell which holds the copy of the third speed digit on the display has become corrupted to permanently read 9?"

I cant say I have ever heard of that actually occuring, but not being aelectronics person only a practical user I have to believe you. But it concurs with what I said that it would be all over the place and the speeds wouldnt constantly read a few km out it would be jumping all over the place in its indicated position and hence the speed between those points would be different each time.
FollowupID: 513628

Reply By: obee - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 22:13

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 22:13
I met a bloke who makes a living as expert witness in radar cases. It can be done but it costs. You would think case law would have put an end to speeding fines by now. If they did it would be back to heaps of cops on bikes which I reckon is better anyway cos they could be stopping all those hoons that freqyent the roads these days. I got no beef with radars but then I drive defensively anyway and seldom get sprung speeding.

Owen
AnswerID: 252423

Reply By: fisho64 - Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 22:23

Saturday, Jul 14, 2007 at 22:23
Had a few speeding tickets over the years, but cant say any of them were undeserved. I havent ever been accused by a cop of speeding when I havent. And a few have let me off as well. I reckon that they do a pretty tough job and face some pretty bad sh+t. Sometimes Id argue the point but I wouldnt spend $27000 to defend it. Some cops are ar.eholes without a doubt but maybe some dont cope so well with the daily stream of crap put in front of them. It would be very tempting to stretch the facts when confronted with some smart alec P-plate kid who you know you will have to hose off a power pole sometime in the future.
AnswerID: 252427

Reply By: SCUBADOO - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 08:05

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 08:05
Well my Garmin GPSMap60C manual claims:

"GPS Accuracy = 0.05 meter/sec steady state".

A quick calculation = 0.18 km/h.

Good enough for me!

Neville
AnswerID: 252468

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 08:18

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 08:18
The Police may have dropped the case due to them not actualy having "the facts". They admitted that they 'estimated' some of their evidence. On the basis of the reports that we read in this thread I doubt that there actually was a case in the first place as court evidence must (or should) be based on 'facts' and not some guys estimation of speed. I don't actually see any precedent other then showing that the Police were careless in the use and operation of their equipment.
AnswerID: 252472

Reply By: DIO - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 10:15

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 10:15
You need to remember that with any allegaton it must be supported by evidence that can be substabtiated.

Police give evidence as to date, time, location, speed as indicated on their measuring/timing device or in some cases observations.

Accused attendeds court, listens to allegation(s), as does Magistrate, accused or their representative responds to allegations and in some cases may introduce evidence to rebutt Prosecution's claims. The rebuttal may be in the form of evidence to the contrary, that cannot be refuted by Police, (e.g. track readout from a GPS), evidence or doubt that Police may have not been operating within guidelines as specified by the equipment manufacturer or even thier own Operational Orders (yes there are such orders and they can be very specific. Failure of Police to comply may constitute a breach of their Code of Conudct etc).
If the Magistrate accepts such arguements then he is compelled to make judgement accordingly. That is, if there is any doubt as to the accuracy, truthfullness or credibility in what has been alleged - by Police, then the charge(s) should/must be dismissed.
Remember - for the proof of law, the evidence (by Prosecution) must be Beyond Reasonable Doubt. If you or your Counsel can introduce a Reasonable Doubt then you have won the day.
Best advise - DON'T SPEED.
AnswerID: 252485

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 14:22

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 14:22
You are right DIO. The best advice is don't speed. I guess the question is am I speeding.

If I am travelling along the road and my speedo says I am doing 100km/h is that what I am doing?

A work collegue was booked in Mildura for doing 62 in a 60 zone. He was speeding and paid the fine. Even with as little as a 5% error in his speedo he could have been doing 63 while believing he was doing 60.

DUncs
FollowupID: 513578

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 16:18

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 16:18
GPS speeds are very accurate and can be used to check your speedo and odometer for accuracy but do not depend on them in court as it is entirely up to the magistrate at the moment weather he believes your unit or not.
I use both of mine a navigator type and a true GPS type and I find that for speed and distance they are always the same. And I know that my speedo is in error because of larger tyres.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 252543

Reply By: fujimiester - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 19:11

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 19:11
Well we in Vic have to estimate the speed before we use the laser and when you have been doing this for over 18 years, you get pretty damn good. Only legislation states that the laser/radar must be fixed for a certain time but when I point the radar out the car when I am driving my speedo is pretty much spot on with the radar. I would have sent the 200 dollars on the speeding fine not $27,000 that's just stupid. If I get a ticket I just pay it as one person said earlier in the thread it's a s...t of a job!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Someone has to do it.......................

fm
P.S. Crap is not the word for it, that's understating.
AnswerID: 252577

Follow Up By: fujimiester - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 19:16

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 19:16
Kiwi kia

when we introduce our evidence in court we have to state that we estimated the speed of the vehicle to be..... The laser/radar confirms it. If you don't know, don't comment.
FollowupID: 513644

Reply By: Member - nigel P (NSW) - Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 22:04

Sunday, Jul 15, 2007 at 22:04
Tx all. I enjoyed the theoretical dissertations. I thought the advice to cross check witha another GPS good sense so I took my old Lowrance out and ran it against the newer Garmin. the results were that the Lowrance moved around a lot more (ie was more fluctuating or sensitive) but when I settled to a cruise so did the 2 GPS units, plus or minus 0.5. So the Mits Speedo is too slow by about 7 kilometres per hour. Allowing for the 2-3 kph that we all sneak over the limit, that's nearly 10 kph I could have lost on the last trip. As it was 4000 K'S, that's a lot of extra driving time (tried to calculate it but I'm either too tired or stupid, probably both).
AnswerID: 252641